Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1259 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 annadotwhite on 4/10/2013 3:00:00 PM more reviews by annadotwhite

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this and have repurchased many times. Does dry out a bit quick but is my favourite mascara - have tried many!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 4/2/2013 6:40:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot tell you how disappointed I am with this mascara. I usually use Jordana's Best Lash Extreme, but as I have to have this sent over to me (I am in the UK where it is not sold) I thought I would try another brand, just to see how it compares. Jordana blows this out of the water. The YSL mascara is expensive, dry, doesn't hold a curl, doesn't offer volume or length and flakes within an hour of putting it on (no good especially as a contact lens wearer). It is almost gone by the end of the day. So annoyed when this mascara costs almost Ģ20. Even using my HG primer (Shi lash base) doesn't help. I guess, with all things, YMMV - even with mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jamster86 on 3/28/2013 8:02:00 AM more reviews by jamster86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara when I had to return YSL shocking faux cils to the shop because of the horrendous smell and the fact that it irritated my contact lenses. I wasn't able to simply return so had to exchange, and i was told that this was a slightly toned down version of the shocking mascara but with a less firm base to the formula. This seems to be true, lashes feel softer and more separate than with shocking. However, they were still clumpy and the design of the brush makes it hard to create an even look, so my lashes always end up looking much thicker near the lids then either wispy or pointy at the ends where they have clumped.

The staying power is decent... but my goodness that SMELL is enough to drive anyone mad and it really lasts all day. It smells stronger than my perfume some days. So definitely give it a sniff before you buy!

Volumising effect wasn't bad, but no lengthening or curl whatsoever, so made my reasonably short lashes look a bit stumpy and clumpy.

Not the worst mascara, but for the price and to avoid the smell, i wouldn't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 linachu on 3/11/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by linachu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's alright. I find it clumps very easily and is a bit too "false" looking for my like. I have to be very careful applying this to get a nice clean and defined lashes, which is not what this mascara is for. However if you love thick, volumized and black lashes, this is for you. The packaging is luxurious and it smells fragrances. Also you need a good oil based make up remover to get this off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 3/10/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this product on and off for the last few years.
The only huge problem that I have with this is that it dries WAY TOO QUICKLY! I do not know if it is the mascara itself or if the actual wand has a bad design.
Love the mascara and the colours are great but my only problem is that it simply does not last, even for two and a half months!!!
Hmmmm. just wasn't for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 regnflickan on 3/4/2013 7:34:00 AM more reviews by regnflickan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara didnīt stay on my lashes and thatīs not okey for such a expensive mascara. On the good side it gave me thick lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blackdoll24 on 3/3/2013 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Blackdoll24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara! i dont have very longer lashes, but when i use this it makes them look amazing!. Only complaint i have is sometimes it runs, but perhaps i put on too much. Nevertheless, you will not be dissapointed if you purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 s02155 on 2/3/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by s02155

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is the best mascara I have ever used with one exception--it does smudge! But honestly, wearing it my lashes have never looked so good in 46 years. I toyed with the idea of buying it again and just coating it with waterproof clear mascara or something, but then I saw the waterproof version of this one, so it's on order. The reviews are accurate about the smudging. I've never in my adult life had any mascara smudge on me and this one does big time. But your lashes will never look better--Lol. It's so good it might be worth the risk which is why I give it a good rating anyway. Just check the mirror often throughout the day for smudges.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 haptic on 1/18/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by haptic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this mascara so much but it just didn't work for me. I got a sample of it from Sephora and I tried it out for two weeks and everyday at the end of the day I would have the same problem - I would end up with panda eyes because the mascara would smudge all over my lower eye area. For the price this is definitely not worth it for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 1/17/2013 5:44:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've bought this mascara 3 times in a row now and I must say that it is one of the best mascaras that I have ever used.
The brush is not massively huge like many others but surprisingly it coats each lash very well, separates, lengthens and volumises my lashes like no other. The fact that it doesn't smudge, clump and make my lashes stick together is key for me.. With this mascara I get all the volume that I need but my lashes still look neat and somewhat natural as apposed to the clumpy, sticky mess that most mascaras make. another plus with this mascara is that it's nicely buildable, it dries fast so you can apply coat after coat till you get the look that you desire.
Like how other reviewers have said already..The only downside to this mascara is that the tube dries dries out quite quickly, it becomes expensive to use continuously for this reason otherwise it would be 10/10.
Still my favorite at the moment and I have tried almost everything. I will continue to repurchase for these reasons.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products