LUSH • Angels on Bare Skin • Cleansers

rated 3.9(885 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Kaylas27 on 3/18/2014 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Kaylas27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After one year of not using this product, I finally decided to start using it again. I forgot how soft and clear my skin felt and looked after using this. People think I have makeup on my face because of how clear it makes my skin look. It smells wonderful and is the most gentle cleanser I have ever used. I paid $23.99 for a pretty large tub of it. I split it with my boyfriend who has very bad acne prone skin and made him use it. Just after one wash, there was a noticeable difference. His face was no longer red or irritated. The pimples seemed to have shrunk in size! He was beyond happy and couldn't stop thanking me. Best product ever.
The only thing is that it doesn't remove makeup. But that is not a problem as I use makeup remover before using this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Christac3698 on 3/10/2014 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Christac3698

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy my Purity and Ultrabland. It has been my cleansing routine for a while, and didn't think I needed to change much as my skin seemed to really love the routine.

I was shopping around LUSH and saw this cleanser and thought, why not? It can't hurt...

I'm so glad that I purchased this. I use it in the morning, and in the evening with my Clarisonic, and my skin has reaped the benefits. I have a lot of redness and acne scaring as well as dry skin and this has helped with the dryness as well as the redness. I would actually run out of the house now for a quick errand with no makeup on.

I recommend this to anyone with redness on their faces. I really think this is the reason why my face looks so much calmer. The smell is just an added extra for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Callmecorrina on 3/3/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by Callmecorrina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I am 18, with combination skin. For the most part, I have well behaved skin, oil is my main problem. Just this holiday my skin broke out like crazy, acne & clogged pores from all the food, lack of sleep, makeup and got dry patches thanks to Toronto's record breaking cold weather. I tried converting to drugstore products for fast results but my skin got even worse. Before my switch over, I was using Angels on Bare skin since 2011, and yet again I found myself reverting back to LUSH products, specifically this cleanser. This product is the #1 seller, a light exfoliant that is great for everyday use. It really calmed my skin down, getting rid of redness, clogged pores an acne so my skin is once again clear. The best part about it is it uses all natural ingredients & no animal testing so I think the price is worth it (about 13$) plus it lasts you many months since you only need a dime size. LUSH is known for the scent of their products, I didn't exactly enjoy the smell of this one but I got used to it over time. It's also very messy when you use it so make sure you wash your face in the shower or over the sink! I would recommend buying just 100 grams because my skin tends to get used to it so I have to switch it up (I usually switch to Lush's Herbalism, then go back to Angels on Bare skin when I finish it). In the summer, this product plus LUSH's tea tree toner are a great duet which completely mattified my skin all summer! I will always repurchase this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cydney7 on 2/22/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by Cydney7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The consultant hyped this product up quite a lot but it's currently making me have mini break outs. Too bad because I had high hopes for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gretalin on 2/22/2014 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Gretalin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product a lot! I've used it for about 3 month right now and I love it a lot. I often use it in the morning because I don't like to use cleansers that actually cleans into your pores in the morning. I like my morning cleansers nice and moistrize. This does not dries my skin out, it cleanses my face nicely and leaves my face nice and moisturize. I have combination to oily skin and I do notice a difference after I use this cleansers. So girls, get yourself a little angel in a pot because you won't regret it!! Also, use it after you remove your makeup! This only works the best when you have a "bare face"!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stream27 on 2/20/2014 1:34:00 AM more reviews by stream27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not really a fan.

When I test new cleansers, I usually see how well they remove makeup, as I figure if something can't even remove foundation or powder that sits on top of the skin, how well is it actually going to clean the skin?

It miserably failed my makeup test. After "washing" with this cleanser, my makeup had barely moved and just looked like I had sprayed it with oily water. I will say that it doesn't dry out the skin, as it leaves a kind of film (for want of a better word) which diminishes once you dry your face, but if you actually want to remove any dirt/oil/makeup, you'd have to use a different cleanser first, and then follow with this one, which kind of defeats the purpose of using a cleanser. It's also one of the messier Lush cleansers I've used. Sometimes you can mix them with water to make them more manageable, but the odd texture of this cleanser still left little bits of product falling off my face as I washed, which was kind of annoying.

I would definitely not consider this a "cleanser" as the results it delivers are more akin to a skin conditioner or moisturizer because it really doesn't clean anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gchis on 2/16/2014 6:26:00 AM more reviews by gchis

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love how it leaves my skin glowing and soft, it reduces redness and evens out my skin tone 😛

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shanifanimua on 2/15/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by Shanifanimua

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this product. The best cleanser I have ever used. It really has helped my skin as mine is a combination and at times oily and at times dry. So it helps to maintain a balance and it has magically evened out my skin tone!!! - the smell isn't that great, I'm not a big fan of lavender infused products, however it is still a pleasant smell. For the price, and based on the organic company it is, I would rather pay the extra for that reason. Amazing product!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 khov92 on 2/9/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by khov92

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Makes my dry skin feel clean but not tight like a lot of other cleansers do. It doesn't do a great job of removing makeup, but i use bioderma before cleansing anyway so that's not a problem for me. Feels like I'm giving my skin some TLC when I use this combo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bublebulle on 2/2/2014 5:05:00 AM more reviews by bublebulle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Angels On Bare Skin is part of a skincare routine that has worked amazingly on me for several months now. What I'm sharing with you in this review is only my personal experience and of course, what works for me doesn't necessarily works for you - and the other way around - but I wanted to tell about it anyway. Sorry if it overlaps the review I did on Lush Ultrabland, but they both are part of what really works for me, so it couldn't be omitted IMO.

I have a dehydrated, acne-prone, combination skin - with very dry cheeks and a very oily T-zone - so it's pretty much a nightmare for me to keep it looking good especially when I'm in PMS. My southern-east Asian origins also gave me patches and uneven skin to deal with. Now you get a rough idea of what I'm looking for to counteract all these.

This is what has worked on me for months now...
=> Morning routine: I use Lush Angels On Bare Skin or Lush Let The Good Times Roll. They both gently exfoliate, leaving my skin clean but not tight with the bonus of a wonderful scent to begin a new day. I then pat dry my face before spraying my face with Sanoflore floral water followed by an eye cream and a moisturizer.
=> Night routine: I double cleanse. I begin by removing my makeup with a mineral oil-free cleansing oil (my favorites are DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and MAC Cleanse Off Oil), pat my skin dry and follow with the Lush Ultrabland which I gently massage over my face and neck for 2 to 3 minutes to break down what may be left of makeup and SPF. The face massage also helps relaxing and puts the stress of the day away. I then soak a clean washcloth with warm water, wring it out and put it on my face for like 30 seconds for further relaxation. It breaks the oils down so won't be leaving this greasy film that would eventually clog my pores. Again, I soak with warm water and wring the washcloth out for then gently remove the product. Pat my face dry once more. My skin feels really clean and calm at this stage, so I continue with one of Sanoflore floral waters suited for my skin type and finish with my eyes and face moisturizers.

I really love how Angels On Bare Skin feels on my face and here is how I use it. I begin with taking a big pea size amount of product WITH DRY HANDS (or it will spoil the product in 2 days!!). On the palm of my hand, I add a little bit of water, mix product and water together with my finger until it turns into a milky, manageable paste. Then I distribute this between my hands before putting it on my dry face. If I feel the paste is too dry during the application of the product, I add a very little amount of water at a time to keep it milky but not overly wet. I then rinse the product away and proceed to my usual face routine. My face looks clean and soothed - redness on my cheeks is toned down, unlike it used to be with foamy cleansers, and my skin doesn't feel tight. But I wanted to point it out : don't use it to remove makeup! It's not meant to be used this way and you would be pretty disappointed if you do. This is why I only use it in the morning or at night if I wasn't wearing any makeup or SPF.

With this whole routine, my skin feels amazing and looks the best I've ever seen on myself. I still break out from time to time, but it is minimal and quickly fades away with the help of Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot treatment. My skin is definitely more even, balanced (no super dry cheeks or over oily T-zone anymore) and people have been commenting on how good my skin looked although I wasn't wearing any makeup at all which is the first time in my life! I must say that it feels pretty amazing! ^^

Pros:
- The scent is wonderful. I love this earthy, relaxing perfume to begin the day with.
- The consistency of AOBS feels lovely on the skin IMO. It doesn't feel harsh but you really feel the cleanse.
- Leaves my skin clean but not tight. I now understand that a squeaky clean feeling after cleansing is no good.
- Made with all natural ingredients and no preservatives!! :-D
- Not very expensive in regards of the quality of the ingredients (10,45 euros for 100g)

Cons:
- Quite messy. Your sink will not thank you for how it looks afterwards.
- Short life span (due to all natural ingredients with no preservatives). You'll have to discard it only 3 months after it was made, so be careful to look at the sell-by date when you buy it. Also, don't waste your money; if you don't plan to use it on your body too, the 100g pot will be enough.
- Be careful not to put water into the pot or the product will spoil. Store it away from your shower to avoid any accident.

In short:
I love the idea of putting something natural on my face - apparently based on a medieval recipe, so fun! - which is also very effective and at a fair price. Since Lush is great at giving you samples, I encourage you to ask for ones of AOBS and Ultrabland to try out before splurging on the full-size pots - and see if this kind of routine works for you or not. I probably would have never bought Lush products on my own if my sister didn't gave me her samples to try and I honestly would have missed something HUGE for my skin. I hope you'll find your perfect routine too. xx

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products