Maybelline • Designer Chocolates Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 starlit2100 on 10/19/2009 12:09:00 AM more reviews by starlit2100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite everyday, neutral eyeshadows. My favorite color is the lid color. It's sheer but gives a really pretty shimmer that looks good all over the lid and up to the brow bone. It polishes up the eyes without looking obvious at all. I love it. It's the only eyeshadow I have hit pan on. The white color is a bit too frosty for my taste to use as a brow highlight but it's nice in the inner corners of the eyes. I also like the light purple color. It's shimmery and not glittery so I don't experience bad fallout like with Urban Decay shadows. (You'll end up with glitter all over your cheeks.) It's very wearable but it's sheer. If you want more color payoff, use a base like Urban Decay Primer Potion or Too Faced Shadow Insurance. The brown color is matte and fairly pigmented. I'm on my second one. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 italianbella54 on 9/29/2009 12:49:00 AM more reviews by italianbella54

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

ooo myyy gosh this is my go to everydayy i love it and its a great everyday look i love how its all labled and even has a little help guide on the back its so cheap but great quality not highly pigmented and 2 colors are matte i do belive but i loooveee thisss so muchhh i reccomend this to anyone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cms937 on 9/29/2009 12:42:00 AM more reviews by cms937

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS EYE SHADOW!!!
This is my go to for almost every look i do(even with other shadow palettes) i still end up using one of the colors form this Quad. The quad has the most awsome and amazing colors. Shadows aren't to powdery and is great for beginers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yuribe22 on 9/18/2009 5:30:00 AM more reviews by yuribe22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

CONS: ??????
PROS:
-if you are a starter, it's awesome because it tells you exactly where to put each color !
-great quality for the price
-colors are really pretty
-can be used for a natural look (don't use the darker brown) or a smokier look without being too overwhelming
-nicely pressed so shadow doesn't fly all over
highly recommended !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dulcetpurr on 9/1/2009 11:18:00 AM more reviews by dulcetpurr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

These are BOGO free at Walgreen's this week, so now's the time to buy if you're wanting to try them.


My quad looks quite a bit different than the pic up there, in fact I had to pull it out to check the shade name to make sure I was on the right one. It's got, from l to r, top to bottom, a light taupe for lid, a shimmery purple for crease, a cream for browbone, and a dark milk chocolate for outer V.


Maybelline shadows aren't very pigmented, and sometimes the color you see in the pan isn't very true to what shows up on your lids. I've found this to be the case with all Maybelline shadows, and I find it rather annoying. It's really the only reason I selected 'no' for the rebuy. However, today I made a very lovely sculpted neutral eye using all 4 colors of this palette, following the guide on the back. (I was pretty nervous, I'm used to only using 1 or 2 shadows at a time!) The light pigmentation made it kind of impossible for me to screw up. I'd suggest Maybelline shadows for anyone who's a little unsure of their eyeshadow technique and needs to practice. Maybe younger girls who are making their first forays into makeup would do well with these. But if you're looking for hyper-pigmentation and true color, you probably wouldn't like these. But hey, they're pretty cheap.


Please don't even consider using these without a primer, they'll melt away in minutes. I use UDPP and they stay all day, and I think a primer makes the color a bit more intense.

*EDIT:* Bumping this up to 4 lippies & changing to 'yes' for the rebuy, after using this for a while I've become quite fond of it. It's one of the few palettes that I can make a great eye with the included applicators. It's a really great neutral palette, one that you can take with you on vacation and you'll have everything you need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hbwf87 on 8/20/2009 8:54:00 AM more reviews by hbwf87

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this is my fav quad from maybelline, as well as "blushing babe" (old and d/c). I don't know, maybelline quads can be hit and miss, and their shimmery ones are TOO dry for me but this is perfect! I love it everyday when i can't be fussed with my mac shadows - it's neutral, natural, understated and flattering! i have a similar compact i put together out of mac, and i find that while this is not really the same beautiful texture as mac, it LOOKS similar! for neutrals, you can't go wrong with this palette.

granted, i have fair skin, so i don't worry too much about lower pigmentation!

i bought it on special, and while the lid has broken (annoying!) i would buy it again. great quad!

OH i ALWAYS use TFSI or paint pot with this - would not consider it on its own!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChickenTenders on 8/12/2009 1:58:00 PM more reviews by ChickenTenders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My go-to everyday, HG eyeshadow palette. I'm a huge believer in the natural look because a lot of color can look garish on my pale, cool-toned skin. Also, I love ANY makeup that has a foodie name, so of course I was attracted to this quad. Designer Chocolates has a beige color (lid), a shimmery rosy brown (crease), a neutral milk chocolate brown (outer-v) and a bone white color (brow). When used all together, it creates a stunning look. However, on most days I just use the beige and the chocolate brown all over the crease and outer-v to create a subtle, yet sexy chocolate brown eye. I WOULD USE A PRIMER for these shadows, it builds up their intensity and makes them blend like butter. They last all day long on me with Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I would repurchase over and over again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeltaChai on 7/27/2009 8:36:00 PM more reviews by DeltaChai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great for a natural look, if you're looking for drama with this quad, look elsewhere. It comes with four colors: a shimmery bone white (browbone), a muted beige (lid), a rosy, shimmery brown (crease) and a milk chocolate brown (outer-v). I wasn't sure about the rosy brown, but it ended up making my brown eyes pop a lot. The colors blend very well, especially with a primer underneath. This is an awesome everyday, no fuss, grab-and-go quad that I will continue to repurchase.
**EDIT** Added one more lipstick, this has become my HG! Not too warm, not too cool, just pretty and not fussy on my eyes :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loverofmineralmakeup on 7/4/2009 2:54:00 PM more reviews by loverofmineralmakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this quad when I decided to reintroduce wearing eyeshadow into my daily makeup routine after a decade of only wearing eyeliner, mascara and some kind of lip product and let's just say that I wasn't impressed. The colors were chalky, difficult to blend, looked quite awful on my caramel color skin and after trying a couple of different eye looks, I returned it to RiteAid within an hour after my initial purchase. This is definitely one drugstore product that did not live up to expectations.

Maybe my picker was off that day for I purchased another eyeshadow quad, that review will follow shortly, and I was 2 for 2 for choosing really awful eyeshadow quads in one day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nb1113 on 7/2/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by nb1113

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Great quad. The white can be used for brow bone, inner corner and as cheek highlight. The light brown very comparable to MAC great everyday color small shimmer, brown matte can be placed in crease for night look. Pinky color not that great can make eyes look red and make you look sick! but Overall, 3 great colors. Instructions on back on how to create the "ideal" look, kinda cute that they put it there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products