Kiehl's • Lip Balm #1 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(1070 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoulnextdoor on 1/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by ghoulnextdoor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all-time, hands-down favourite lip balm. Probably for everything it is not, rather than what it is: for example it is not mentholated or tingly; there is no noticeably flavour or smell (perhaps slightly vanillic...but it's really quite subtle); not chalky or waxy; and not tinted or otherwise embellished in anyway.
It's a nice, plain simple no bells or whistles lip balm. The texture maybe be similar to vaseline as other reviewers mention...but it does not go on greasy and sinks right in. If you've got severely chapped lips, I'd suggest a medicated product instead of this one, but for everyday moisturizing, this is a spot on choice. I think I picked up a pot or two of this for $5 a piece or so, which isn't too spendy, especially considering how long it's lasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hoijacque27 on 12/22/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by hoijacque27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

too expensive for its quality, it doesn't help chap lips and have to Re-Apply every 15 minutes to keep the balm on the lips

this is like mixing virgin olive oil and petroleum together, and that's it

better off buying "alba un-petroleum" lip balm instead, it is the best chap lip product i ever had, it stays on for hours, keeping lip ultra soft and moist, and is only 3-4 dollars depends on where you getting it, it only be sold in "healthy store"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spinacha on 12/4/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was originally attracted to this product, because it does not contain beeswax. I am sensitive to beeswax. Most lip treatments contain beeswax, so I usually use Vaseline lip therapy, or other petroleum based products.


The first time I tried Kiehl's lip balm, it seemed okay. Not great, but okay. The texture was similar to petroleum jelly, just maybe slightly thinner. It did a decent job hydrating when first applied, but it didn't last long.


The real disappointment came after this product was opened. As I explained earlier, when I first opened it and tried it, it seemed to do the job atleast temporarily. However, once the product was opened, the texture of the product seemed to change. For instance, someone else described in a review that the texture of this product was like cooking oil or melted butter. The lip balm became exactly like that after it was opened. The product seemed to thin-out over time, almost as though it had melted. It also developed a smell/odour that was not there before...similar to grease. Over time, the colour of the product changed too. Initially it was clear, but then it became a very light rusty-brown colour.


The product does not come with an expiration date on it. When the first lip balm I purchased had became rancid and the texture changed, I threw it out thinking that I had purchased one that was close to expiring, or that maybe it became that way because it got too hot, etc. Foolishly, I repurchased the balm. I thought to myself it doesn't have beeswax, which is a plus, and it's made by Kiehl's so it must be good.


Same thing happened with the second one I purchased. At first try it seemed okay. This time I was careful to store it in a cool place. Nevertheless, within a few days, the colour of the product started to change. It again took on a strange smell, and changed from a thick consistency (similar to petroleum jelly) to a runny consistency, like cooking oil.


Will definitely not be repurchasing this.


Forgot to mention, once the product has thinned out; the moment I squeezed the tube, not surprisingly, too much product would come out.

This is an expensive product, and definitely not worth investing in, in my opinion. You'll get better results using plain old Vaseline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 11/27/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good basic lip balm that I use before going to bed to keep my lips from drying out during the night. I don't necessarily recommend using it over lipstick as it may be too slick for that purpose, but for its intended purpose of being a low-maintenance, unflavored, simple lip balm, it's excellent.

Others have compared it to Vaseline, and it is similar in that it contains petrolatum; however, in my opinion, it's superior because it also contains a sunscreen, wheat germ oil and aloe leaf extract. I think the texture is nicer than Vaseline and it stays on a bit longer as well. I buy 15 ml tubes (0.5 oz) at Nordstrom for $5.50, which I don't think is that expensive considering how long a tube lasts me (a long time)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mikeswife on 11/7/2012 10:23:00 AM more reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't remember what I paid for this. I know it wasn't drugstore-level cheap, as far as a clear lip gloss goes. I have it in both the tube and the jar.

As far as the product itself goes, I love this. It's not tacky or sticky and applies a nice, clear shine to the lips.

The packaging isn't great, for either version. This is not really the kind of product that you want to carry around a lip brush for, and I'm not really a fan of having to stick my finger in the jar to put it on. The tube gets clogged around the cap with excess product. For both of these reasons, I don't use it a whole lot, which is a shame. They should take a cue from most lippie manufacturers these days and either make the tube with the slanted applicator top or include a wand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nomoreagingforme on 11/1/2012 10:33:00 PM more reviews by nomoreagingforme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite product on the market if vasaline and this is probably the closest thing to it except a little more expensive :)

This is great lipbalm when you are trying to achieve that wow factor and have your lips shine and really stand out. Definitely more flashy then burts beez wax but also moisturizes very very well.

Highly recommend :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 10/23/2012 10:58:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Honestly I love Kiehls products so dearly but this when I read the ingredients I was so disappointed because the main ingredient is vaseline. Why was I wasting my money when I can use a tub of vaseline for half the price??

They have some great stuff but honestly pass on this and get yourself something else. I never give negative reviews but I have to say this doesn't even stay on or moisturize like other balms I have do. I much prefer my vegan lip balm to this. My first not so lippie review but only because there are better products for your money that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mrsjennyk on 10/23/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by mrsjennyk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I found this lippy in a pot at Holt Renfrew and it works so much better than the one in the tube. Much easier to apply and seems to last longer, it doesn't seem as greasy on my lips.
Would defintely purchase in the pot again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 10/19/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have chronically chapped lips and I'm always searching for that perfect lip balm. I bought this product on the basis of one beauty editor's rave review. Personally, I don't see what she's talking about. This is very ordinary and kind of thin and greasy. One way to get some use out of this product is to use it almost as a lip primer under a heavier lip balm. Sort of like putting moisturizer over damp skin. I'm currently topping this with Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupjulia1 on 10/17/2012 9:17:00 PM more reviews by makeupjulia1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big fan of this product at all! It made my lips feel extremely oily and lacked in effectiveness. My lips stayed dry and didn't get hydrated as I was hoping for and I have experienced with many other lip balms.

It was very expensive for a lip balm. I bought from Kiehls at The Grove downtown and was sold because of the customer service rep ranting and raving but it was a pretty miserable product and left my lips feeling sticky/oily

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Lip Treatments products