Kinerase • Gentle Daily Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.4(83 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 awaylett on 12/12/2007 2:15:00 PM more reviews by awaylett

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

As I've hit my peri-menopausal phase about a year ago, my skin has changed dramatically. I used this cleanser for years and just loved it. It made my skin feel so soft after usage. I noticed about six months ago that my skin after cleansing felt tight - you don't want that feeling from a cleanser - it's stripping your skin of its moisture. I knew I had started additional products, so maybe that was the cause of the problem. I didn't want to give up this cleanser because it had done me such good for so long. I did, however, figure that it was the cleanser that was stripping my skin. So I had to say goodbye to my HG cleanser. I now use Patricia Wexler's Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser. Oh my gosh how this stuff makes your face feel. I gave this two-lippies because I loved it for so long. I had very normal skin when I adored this product. My skin now is combination.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLips on 10/21/2007 12:40:00 AM more reviews by MsLips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice cleanser that removes makeup pretty well. My face feels very clean after using it, but def need a moisturizer. For some reason it makes my eyes sting though and I'm not putting it on my eye lids or anything. I don't know what's in it that causes that. This is pretty nice though, but not the best ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rae15 on 10/18/2007 12:57:00 AM more reviews by rae15

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I have only been using this for a short time but so far I really like it. It doesn't leave my skin tight, it makes it very soft. And I swear I see an improvement in my pores!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyMarie on 10/5/2007 2:23:00 PM more reviews by HollyMarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

At first I really liked this and though it says "Gentle" I get such peelies and flakiness from this..I even tried to decrease the time massaging it in and it still just seems to drying..Expensive product but doesnt seem to do anything special..another disappointment from Kinerase :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shellbell090702 on 9/11/2007 1:33:00 PM more reviews by shellbell090702

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using Origins Checks and Balances for years and love, love, love it!! I decided from all the great reviews on Kinerase that I should try this cleanser. I loved it at first, and then about a month later, my skin started breaking out and not clearing up. I have very normal skin that doesn't break out so I found this weird. I went back to Checks and Balances two weeks ago and my skin is glowy and free of pimples. I have been using Kinerase as my make-up brush cleaner until it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acooltrev on 9/10/2007 4:35:00 PM more reviews by acooltrev

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hallelujah! I have sensitive, acne-prone, oily skin and it seems that literally everything makes me breakout - except this cleanser!! It does an excellent job of makeup/oil removal and leaves my skin very refreshed. The directions say to leave it on for 2 minutes, but i rub it in for only about 1 minute and it does the trick. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nechama22 on 8/27/2007 12:59:00 PM more reviews by nechama22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a week now and I am very impressed. I have been experiencing very bad breakouts over the past month or so and I wanted to try a cleanser that was less harsh than the Proactiv I was using. I am 32 years old, VERY pale with severely oily/(now)acne-prone skin.

I had gotten a sample of this cleanser a couple of years ago and I really liked it, so I decided to invest in a bottle. The first day or so that I used it I thought it might be too drying (I had a whitish cast to my face) - and it takes a lot to dry out my overly oily skin. The cleanser directions say to apply it to moist skin and rub for 2 minutes. I decided just rub it in for about 30 seconds or so, and I think that did the trick. After I started doing that, I noticed my skin wasn't as dry. Used in conjunction with other Kinerase products, my skin started looking a WHOLE LOT better. After one day of using JUST the cleanser (before I purchased other Kinerase products), my pimples were less inflamed and smaller.

I wouldn't say this is the mildest cleanser on the market. It does contain 2 major foaming agents - Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and I think Sodium Laureth Sulfate, but the cleanser foams very little. Other gentle cleansers like Cetaphil are probably milder, but Cetaphil breaks me out and I think I need some foam to break down all that oil in my skin.

This cleanser is $30 but it comes in a huge mama joe bottle and you only need a little bit - I use about 1-11/2 pumps. I rub it on my wet face and add more water if I need to to get the foaming action going. Like I said before, I only rub it in for about 30 seconds. .

I really do like this cleanser and if it keeps on working, I'll keep on buying.

UPDATE: I have been using this, along with other Kinerase products for two solid weeks. I have had VERY few pimples during this two week period (after two months of repeated breakouts and horrendous cystic acne all over my chin) and the ones I get are small and disappear quickly. I will never use any other regimen! Totally worth the money! My skin looks great - FINALLY!

MORE UPDATE: I stopped using this for a while when I broke out in cystic acne and my dermatologist suggested I use the MD Forte II twice a day (I was using the Kinerase in the AM and the MD Foret in the PM), but the MD Forte was starting to dry my face out. I decided to use the Kinerase again and it balanced everythign out. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarae on 8/17/2007 10:58:00 PM more reviews by sarae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Received a generous sample (1.4 oz I think) of this from Sephora in one of their awesome bag-of-samples deals. Didn't use it for a long time because it didn't look like anything special and I didn't know anything about it. I have slightly acne-prone skin, and so I'm sometimes reluctant to mess with my skincare routine.

But once I did try this, I was actually super impressed. I hadn't expected much, really, but for some reason, this is just a great basic cleanser. Very calming, very mild formula, no scent at all that I notice. If I do use it during a breakout, it takes the red out of the breakout and makes my skin feel smooth and soft and even, especially the next morning. As other reviewers have noted, it is along the same lines as Cetaphil, very comparable, but this lathers up a bit. I like it better (except for the slight drawback of the $30 price for full size product). I've made that sample size last FOREVER, as you really don't need much at all to wash with - a little goes a LONG way - but I finally am going to have to shell out for the full size, I think. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ohgracie on 8/6/2007 11:00:00 PM more reviews by ohgracie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a travel pack of Kinerase products from Ulta since in included trial sizes of their products. It included the Gentle Daily Cleanser, C6 Peptide Intensive Treatment, Cream, and Intensive Eye Cream. This is the first batch of products I've bought to combat by very dry skin. I've been using the cleanser for a little over a week and probably have enough for another week or 2. I do like the cleanser...it is very gentle and not drying. It's nothing special though. I would not re-buy because I'm sure there are better products at better prices!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 terryanne on 6/1/2007 11:06:00 PM more reviews by terryanne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I no longer use this but want to comment on it anyway. My facialist introduced this to me and I had been using it happily for about 1-2 years. During that time it had been pretty good, but my skin has changed over time.
I now found it is a bit irritating. If I wash my skin more than twice a day with this product, the most outer layer will get flaky and a bit stiff. I think the irritated outer layer holds in the oil and doesn't allow my skin to breathe. This will cause acne and blackheads for me. (keeping my skin soft is important, it means it can breathe!!!).
For me I think it is the sodium laurel sulfate, the main ingredient after purified water, which I can no longer tolerate. Now use The Body Shop Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser which I will review after a while.

Now, how to rate a product that has been pretty good over a year but now is not right for me? I gave it four stars because it had been very good for a while but not exceptional. It is probably the right cleanser for alot of people but just no longer right for me.

Packaging is a plastic bottle with pump, cap to cover pump (nice and sanitary). Cleanser is liquid, not gel.

Application is very easy, just pump and apply to wet face.

Me: 55 now, fair,SENSITIVE skin of european ancestery, still oily in T-zone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kinerase products

More Cleansers products