MAC • Fluidline Eye-Liner Gel in Blacktrack • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(2132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hyouga on 1/4/2014 8:02:00 PM more reviews by hyouga

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'll start off saying that it's actually really good eyeliner, but not good for me. I was really enthusiastic about buying it, because I have so much trouble with finding the right eyeliner. I went to the MAC store one day, bought the eyeliner, bought the brush, that whole thing. They were about $40 together and I absolutely cannot afford to buy makeup that expensive, but thankfully I was being treated that day.
I have dark skin, so I had to keep applying layers and layers while still making sure that I wasn't using too much since it was quite a small amount. When I would try to do something different with my eyeliner, it would smudge to hell and look way too soft. The MAC brush for it is great and I love it, but I won't have much use for it now.
I'm not going to say to not buy this, but be aware that it may not work as well as you want it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eeam on 12/29/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by eeam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The color didn't come out that black.
It was not precise at all.
What a waste of $17.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbarnard0429 on 12/29/2013 2:36:00 AM more reviews by mbarnard0429

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great liner! I use this with a little bit of urban decay's primer and it stays put for 12+ hours. Definite repurchase for me. I have found it goes on best with myMAC #209 brush :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 creamdeviolet on 12/28/2013 12:57:00 AM more reviews by creamdeviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This thing smudges in 10 minutes, I'm a make up artist and this thing doesn't work for half of my clients :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/25/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I really held off getting this item because of the price. I felt it difficult to justify such a price for a gel eyeliner. However, I have tried several different drugstore eyeliners and none compare. WnW's gel liner is great but dries out super fast. (and it's not the packaging, as I had assumed) Blacktrack is not only smooth but according to reviews, lasts forever. So far, it has not dried out a bit. (compared to WnW which started drying out immediately, even though i depotted it and put it in better packaging) It also stays better than anything else I've tried. (including Bobbi Brown's coveted liner) I will definitely be using this as a staple. Even though it's pricy, it seems to last a lot longer than drugstore liners so I think it's worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miloshy on 12/16/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

it's a good eyeliner...nice colour, lasts on my eyes all day, till I remove it (with a wet wipe)...good price coz u get a lot of product even though it looks so small (the jar is so cute <3)...I will definitely buy also the brown and purple ones...also, it doesn't have PAO, its shelf life is more than 3 years (unlike most Dior, Chanel etc eyeliners that have a PAO of 6 months which means u gotta buy it twice a year unless u want to get an infection). LOVE IT <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kirito on 12/15/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by kirito

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this eyeliner up from The Cosmetic Company Outlet for $11.25, and this was my first MAC purchase. I've always felt like MAC products were overrated, so I only got this because it was at a discounted price and because eyeliner is the one makeup product I cannot live without.

Overall, this was a pretty good gel liner. I think my expectations for it were quite high because EVERYONE raves about this product. It is very pigmented and smooth, and it doesn't smudge unlike some other gel/cream liners I've tried. The very first gel liner I tried was the L'Oreal Infallible Gel Liner in Blackest Black, and I feel like that was very comparable to the MAC Fluidline, but a few dollars cheaper. Now that I think about it, I suppose getting the MAC fluidline isn't a ridiculous investment, since the L'Oreal liner was about $10. You're only paying a few dollars more, so I don't feel as guilty about buying this product.

This is a great gel liner, and I would repurchase it at the regular retail price. I guess my expectations were just too high, and it wasn't like I was blown away at the quality of it, because I've seen comparable results with a slightly cheaper drugstore gel eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mpankov on 12/7/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by mpankov

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is the best eyliner i have ever try. It is smudge proof without plastic look and easy to put on lids. It is not waterproof but tears (if apperas due to cold weather or dust) will not make shades on lids. Also I am a contact lens wearer and can say that I don't even feel that I wear something on my eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nocturnem on 12/1/2013 1:55:00 AM more reviews by nocturnem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this gel liner, but it does have its cons.
It lasts on for hours and hours without fading, it's easy and fairly smooth to apply, and doesn't tend to clump so it's great for doing cat eyeliner. Did I mention it lasts, to the point that I'd say it's almost water proof?! Just amazing.
It does, however, transfer and leave a grey-ish mark on the top of my eyelid that the part of the lid I apply liner on (close to the lashes) touches when I open my eyes, and that is pretty annoying. It doesn't seem to affect how the liner itself looks, though. I do use an eyeshadow primer (UD Primer Potion) before the liner but it doesn't help with the transfer problem.
The liner also dries out and hardens in the pot in 2 years or so, which means one will end up throwing out a lot of product as you need very little for application. Then again, believe this is common for most gel liners!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendigrl on 11/30/2013 1:59:00 AM more reviews by wendigrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had mine a little over a year and it stinks now! I didn't think it would 'go bad' so soon. Didn't use it often because it dries to a lighter black on me and I really like intense dark jet black liner for my top lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products