MAC • Prep + Prime Skin • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(696 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 8/29/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my holy grail primers! I use this personally and on clients (I'm an MUA) and I've had numerous brides email me after their wedding to see what products I used on them because they were amazed at how long their makeup lasted! 1 pump does the job for the entire face and it blends out wonderfully. This product smooths out the skin and sets a perfect base for foundation. I haven't had any clients come back to say they got a huge break out from this product and I personally haven't had any breakouts either. I really don't see the glitter issues that I read in other reviews on here - from what I can tell the slight shimmer in the product doesn't transfer onto the face. The product dries quite fast and is ready for foundation in no time. The packaging is amazing...pump products are always convenient, easy to travel with, and super sanitary when you're working on other people's faces.

This product is a bit pricey but for me its worth the price! I have repurchased and will continue to repurchase for both personal use and for my makeup kit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kikigurl7 on 8/18/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Kikigurl7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this product but it made my skin break out. I have not had a break out like that in years. Also, when using this product I noticed by the end of the day my skin was extremely oily. I'm so sad it didn't work but would rather use bare minerals or smash box primers. The packaging was the only good thing about this. Steer clear if you are prone to break outs. I will try it one more time in the winter when my skin is a little dryer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Eldeliciamua on 8/15/2013 11:10:00 AM more reviews by Eldeliciamua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

First of all it broke me out! Second of all it's got a ton of glitter in it and lastly its over priced. I'm sure it helps foundation to stay longer but so do a lot of other brands. Save your cash for something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 7/30/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy this primer. I have used a million primers from Smashbox, Benefit (That Gal, Porefessional), Too Faced, L'oreal, HardCandy, etc. I was at MAC buying more of my Prolong Wear Foundation when the SA who is also a friend of mine told me that I should be using this primer because there is an ingredient in the long lasting foundations that can make the texture of your skin more rough and raised up (I think she said it's the copper in the longer wearing foundations). I was immediately sold and decided to give it a shot. I typically like my primers to have more of a "Silicone" type feel just because it really smooths out your skin and it's the perfect base for applying foundation. This stuff definitely makes your skin feel sort of velvety but nothing in comparison to Smashbox or Porefessional. I am not sure if that actually deters the effectiveness of the primer itself but I guess that's just my personal preference. It definitely mattifies your skin but it leaves a bunch of sparkles which I guess is supposed to be an "illuminating" effect. It doesn't bother me much because it doesn't peek through my foundation. I let it sink into my skin for about 30-55 seconds and then I apply my foundation. This is a very light weight primer and it absorbs into the skin fairly quickly without leaving any weird residue behind like some primers. i feel that it definitely provides a smooth base but it's nothing extraordinary. It's better than using no primer at all. I have noticed that since I've used it the texture of my skin has improved, so perhaps the SA was right! This is a basic primer in my opinion but it definitely performs well and I like knowing it protects me from my long wearing foundation. I'm not sure if it's worth the high price tag , and I definitely feel as though I could spend the money on a primer that performs better but I will definitely use up my bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shamelessme on 7/28/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by shamelessme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, this is a fantastic primer.
I use it daily because it produces really fantastic results on me. I use this is combination predominantly with MAC studio fix fluid and it applies like a dream. The primer is weightless and applies so smoothly. I find that one pump covers my face and the top part of my neck sufficiently and because of this, the primer will last you for ages! I've had mine for 6 months now and I still haven't used all of it (granted I haven't used it every single day during those six months, but I have on the majority of them). It definitely lives up to the claim of calming and soothing the skin and evening out the complexion. The packaging is very convenient and the pump works well - absolutely nothing to complain about there. The only reason I've given it 4 instead of 5 stars is due to the shimmer. While it doesn't show up under my foundation, it gets all over my hands and is actually really hard to get rid of! This primer has never broken me out or increased my levels of oiliness. I would (and will) repurchase and recommend it to anybody interested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Madihudson on 7/27/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by Madihudson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hate this product! Don't be fooled just because its from MAC. First, this primer has weird glitter infused in the product. This is a liquid product that comes out of the bottle with a pump. The product comes out white and blends into the skin. But when you're blending, you'll start to notice your face is sparkling. Not a god sparkling. It literally looks like a toddler poured glitter on your face. If you try to cover the glitter up, you'll end up caking your makeup on because you'll realize you can't cover it. The lasting power of this primer is very bad. By the end of 5 hours, my makeup has already sweat or smeared off my face. I really don't like this product. A very big disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jordanm on 7/24/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by jordanm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first primer I've ever used as I have really oily skin and usually use a bit of mineral powder over my moisturiser before foundation and although I didn't notice a difference to my make up I just kept using it because that's what you're supposed to do! But lately my skin has been oiler than ever and I've broken out so badly. I've never really had bad spots before and I'm 25 so not impressed at all. I have a super oily t-zone and this made absolutely no difference to the longevity of my make up or oil control (it's gotten worse) so I've finally stopped using it and my skin is starting to clear up. I'm so disappointed as I'm obsessed with mac products. Won't be buying this again. Only strong point is the packaging and will last a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Princesa7 on 7/22/2013 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Princesa7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Worked ok til it broke me out!!!

Not a bad product but it made my oily skin worse!

I tried using it last fall and winter thinking maybe that would help since my skin is less oily then but no lol still broke out from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moonsta on 7/10/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by moonsta

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried most high end brands etc of primers. Too heavy for me! I have dry-ish skin but large pores. When I saw my fav MUA - Krista, she saw how dry my skin was and broken. She suggested this, gave me samples and away I went. When I got home I read the ingredients, always do. I like what I saw very much!!! Not a full moisturizer, but I love it! I use a serum under it. After I apply this, I have to wait a minute for it to dry down. Then I apply the MAC BB cream or another product as a tinted foundation for summer. I am 57 years old, lots of sun damage. A NW20 in their mineralize foundation. So a sort of yellow undertone?? I tan easily and a nice golden color. That is now being kept at a minimum!!!! So for me, this product really worked, not too heavy, allows ease of makeup application. I don't look to see how long my makeup lasts, I'm not a touch up girl.... I'll see how this works for me in winter. I live in the NE and have hot air heat. Therefore, I change products a bit. Oh, one last thing, THE CONTAINER IS THE BOMB! Just twist the cap to lock or open, then pump the perfect amount! Kudos to the packaging designer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Inuki on 7/10/2013 4:02:00 AM more reviews by Inuki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this primer as a base for my mineral makeup on several different occasions and was very dissatisfied with its performance. Every time I use this my face ends up looking very shiny on the areas that I apply it to, namely my t-zone and emphasizes every bump on my skin. I've also noticed that this primer leaves a very obvious whitecast in my face in flash photography. My skin actually looks much better when I don't use this primer under my mineral makeup, what a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products