MAC • Prep + Prime Skin • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(685 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Min90 on 6/23/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by Min90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use the Prep & Prime 'Moisture Infusion'. It does what it's supposed to do, it doesn't break me out and it doesn't leave me skin feeling greasy or oily. In fact it's a very light-weight formula. It doesn't completely stop my skin from getting oily, however my foundation does appear nicer than if applied over moisturiser or on the skin itself.

A little goes a very long way - I've been using it for almost 12 months, about 3/4 times a week, and it's just under half full! So I guess you do get your monies worth (I spent about $50 for a bottle). I'm not sure if it is worth repurchasing however as I can easily get a cheap brand primer for a quarter of the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HoneyCosmetics on 5/20/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by HoneyCosmetics

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I thought because this was mac it would really change the look of my foundation but i can't say i was particularly impressed. Firstly the primer feels like any one you could really pick up at a drugstore (like GOSH velvet touch) and i can't say it changed the look of my makeup in any way, i have oily skin and i cant say this helped in any way even under matte foundation. Considering so many people i know rave about this product i wasnt impressed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 5/19/2013 9:41:00 AM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before, I have tried a Rimmel primer, the face shop and shu uemura mousse primer. The first ones did not for my skin, the shu uemura one was average. I have problems with huge pores in my combo to oily skin, so I decided to try the Mac primer. The glow is really good, it is not shimmery, but it gives me a good glow. It did a good job in minimizing my pores and the stay power of my make up was also great.
I paid 350 rmb in China, which is expensive enough, but I don't regret. I like and recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mands783 on 5/18/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Mands783

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Did what it was meant to do but didn't wow me... I've used similar products for a fraction of the cost that left me much more impressed. It's hard to tell how much is left and there are way too many sparkles in it... I like to highlight but not my whole face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 4/28/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Didn't like this primer at all. It didn't do much for me at all. My face felt alright and pretty smooth for about 5 minutes after applying then almost IMMEDIATELY got dry and red. My skin is normal and I guess this is made for those with very oily skin.

I don't recommend unless you have oily skin. This really irritated me and didn't feel good at ALL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bellabaluba on 4/27/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by bellabaluba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I started by using this primer only when I put on more make-up and need a longer stay (such as for parties and going out). It gives a soft silky feel and it makes my Bare Minerals mineral foundation stay on better (not necessarily longer). Unfortunately, it does not make my make-up stay all night long. I have started using it during the day as well, since it works well with Bare Minerals, and I am quite satisfied with the result. I do find it unsatisfactory for evening wear, where I need something that will keep my make-up stay all night.

I have a combination skin with an oily t-zone, and it neither improves nor makes it better. I have not tried other primers yet, so I cannot compare it with other products. But I think the nest buy will be something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyMarie on 4/24/2013 9:11:00 AM more reviews by BeautyMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Can I just off by saying that this is my single most favorite makeup item I've EVER purchased? My boyfriend paid for a makeup spree on MAC for my birthday two years ago and was my first experience wearing makeup on a regular basis. While I was there people kept recommending the prep + prime and I really did not get it. Why would I need primer for my makeup? I thought that was just another lame excuse for brands to sell you yet another product. I bought a lot of things and got my makeup done by the MUA there. I went then to shop around the mall some more and noticed that my makeup was still intact. Not once did make makeup changed and my skin felt divine. I went back and got it. After I ran out I tried other high end brand primers and drugstore ones and was so let down. Nothing will ever compare to this little pot of gold. Definitely worth the money you invest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bklyncowgirl on 4/18/2013 9:35:00 PM more reviews by bklyncowgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say I'm surprised that as many ppl like this as much as they do. This product does not make a bit of difference in my makeup application whether I use liquid and/or powder. Maybe it's bc I have fallen so hard for Hourglass and Smashbox, both of which are oh-my so A-mazing I cannot believe the texture. In comparison this is just so eh that I don't even bother and have mostly been going without any primer. Right now trying to use up the bottle so I can B2mac. So many far superior primers out there than this and for not much more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beautlfy on 4/11/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Beautlfy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Yesterday I just bought my second bottle of this stuff. At about $30 dollars, for me to repurchase it being so expensive, that says a lot.

I never used to use primers under my foundation, because I felt like they didn't work for me. I tried Smashbox, an array of drugstore brands, hard candy, revlon, rimmel, ect. But i was never thoroughly impressed or saw much of a difference in the lasting power of my foundation or the way it glides on, so i discontinued use of those primers.

About a year ago I was at a MAC counter, and the MUA working there told me I should try the Prep & Prime skin base, and told me "It makes a world of a difference."
So i started using it, and i must agree, it does. Upon first application the texture of my skin was so soft, like VELVET. And i noticed after a long night of dinner, a movie, and cuddling with my boyfriend - my makeup did NOT rub off on his shirt, like it usually does. it really does prolong the lasting power of my foundation, and it doesn't break me out either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beezybee on 3/27/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by beezybee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this primer!This makes my skin smooth and soothes the redness on my face.It does have a little shimmer to it,but it's not really noticeble after I've put my mac studio fix fluid foundation on.

The only thing that I don't like is how expensive this product is.
It's $54 NZD,but otherwise a good product.I just wish it wasn't so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products