Tarte • Cheek Stain in Dollface • Blush

rated 3.8(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* avalencia29303 on 2/21/2008 12:28:00 PM more reviews by avalencia29303

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Dollface after hearing so much about it and I absolutely had to try it. I freaked out at first because when first applied to my cheeks, I thought that it had completely melted or was old. Turns out that's normal with this product as I left it at room temperature and it was still the same consistency. Upon first use, I hesitated on whether I liked it or not. After a week of using it, this is definitely my HG blush ever. I have oily skin and this still stays on and somehow manages to make my cheeks look dewy, not greasy. I thought the color was too light for me in the beginning but its perfect for layering and I can intensify the color by doing just that. 28 dollars does seem a little pricey for a blush but I've had this since last August and its now January and I have used this daily with at least 2-3 swipes on each cheek and I have barely used one-eighth of the product. The container itself is at least two inches in height and about a little more and one inch in diameter. I'm pretty sure this stuff will go bad before I ever even come close to running out so it's definitely worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flossfairy on 2/4/2008 1:13:00 PM more reviews by flossfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Dollface is my everyday, go-to blush. I have a light complexion (NW15-20) with strong pink undertones and it gives me a natural, just in from the cold pink cheeks. If you find TIpsy to be a little too orange for a natural look, Dollface might just be your answer.

My complaint about my stick of this blush is that it has a gooey film surrounding the sides of the stick. Pieces of this jelly coating break off occasionally and I have to pick them off my cheek. I'm wondering if I got an old stick or if it was left out in the cold during shipping. Scent is kind of a tangy strawberry smell. It reminds me of a fruit roll-up. Nothing special, but the scents of these cheek stains is always a fun part of makeup application. If I ever run out, I'd repurchace.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mullally10 on 1/5/2008 9:26:00 PM more reviews by mullally10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. I bought my first container of this more than a year ago after getting a sample at Sephora, and it's no where near gone. The color is GREAT and the application is SO easy: just dab it on each cheek once of twice lightly and rub until blended. It gives you the PERFECT flush, just like you've just been working out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 WinnieQBear on 12/22/2007 8:31:00 PM more reviews by WinnieQBear

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The color is ok. It is bit sticky. Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 12/5/2007 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I like Tarte cheek stains and I'm quite found of Tickled however I'm not sure about Dollface. I'm hoping I just have a bad one.


While the shade is a nice flushed pink and very natural looking since it's a stain... This particular cheek stain is really sticky on my face. I don't have this problem with Tickled but Dollface doesn't seem to settle in and my face feels as sticky and sugary like it smells. The scent is very nice in the packaging, a sweet candy scent that gives me a nostalgic feeling of fruit candy peels I had as a kid however I don't really like this on my cheeks. It's not a preteen sweet scent but one that reminds me of kids eating a lot of candy. It's almost as if I'm using some sort of jam/jelly as a blush. Thankfully I have 2 Tarte stains to know they don't all feel this way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harls321 on 11/14/2007 3:53:00 PM more reviews by harls321

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am a MMM (BE medium beige/UD Hallucination) and thought based on the reviews this wouldn't show but to my surprise it does. I just layer it and it gives such natural pink glow. Mind you I always use a light hand when it comes to blush because I want it to look natural, that is why I love this. I bought the mini off ebay but will definately purchase the full size when its done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tigeygirl on 11/7/2007 2:17:00 PM more reviews by tigeygirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First let me say I love the Tarte cheek stains. I've owned Tickled Peach for years. {That's how long lasting they are.} I own blushing bride also.They give a very natural flushed cheek with a nice little glow and stay put for hours. This color is so cute in the tube, but on my light to medium yellow based skin, it doesn't even show up. I wanted to love this pink, tried it on twice at Sephora and never purchased. Might work for someone very pale that wants a hint of pink on their cheeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 star2007 on 10/14/2007 3:58:00 AM more reviews by star2007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got a set on QVC for Tarte Mini Cheek Stains in Dollface, Flush, Tipsy, and Blushing Bride. I prefer pink-y blushes so I tried Dollface and Flush on either sides of my cheeks for comparison. Dollface is very gritty in texture compared to Flush, by sight and by touch.


It is a "sheer soft pink shimmer" color, as Sephora describes. It has a pleasant strawberries & cream scent. I applied it straight to my cheek because of it's small size. I rubbed it into the apple of my cheeks in a circular motion with a couple of swipes to my cheekbone, blended in with my fingers. It took a couple more swipes than the Flush color to really make a difference to my skin. (For reference, I am a Nude color in Becca Luminous and Light in Bare Escentuals foundation.) It gives a slight pink color to my cheeks.


It does look quite natural because my cheeks seem to have a slight color to them. My cheeks are kind of a dry area and the Dollface color does indeed leave a sort of shiny spot on the apples of my cheek (after all, it is described as "shimmer"). Both Dollface and Flush have about the same amount of stickiness to the touch so you might want to dust some loose powder or a complementary blush color on it.


The set was $25 for 4 different 0.17 oz/4.8 g cheek stains. Not exactly a deal but a great way to try out some colors I've wanted. Plus, the portable size is perfect for traveling or sticking in your bag. Many of these sets look like they are split up and sold on eBay if you want to try it out. I love the packaging as well, it is a cute twist-up packaging (the normal-sized ones are push-up).


ETA: I tried this today and it really disappeared quickly. Unlike, the color Flush, it sits on my skin and evaporates instead of actually 'staining' my cheek. I'm demoting this a 2 overall rating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelbelle01 on 9/18/2007 3:01:00 PM more reviews by kelbelle01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: I've been using this practically every day for the last few months and I still LOVE it! It has not made my sensitive skin break out at all. Note this review is not for the smaller sized one with shimmer in it (I hate shimmer in blush) that comes in a package with other colors.****
I think this color is definitely more subtle than tipsy or the berry colored one. However, it is exactly what I'm looking for. It gives a really lovely subtle dewy flush/glow without being obvious that one has dipped into the paint jar to look so healthy and youthful. I use it over bare skin (except moisturizer and sunblock) and so far it has not made me break out or irritated -unlike O Glow from Smashbox or the Benefit tint. I have been searching for a color and consistency exactly like this since I've made the switch from a powder MAC that was starting to become too drying and obvious. I'm giving this a 4 and not 5 because I prefer the application method of O Glow (squeezing out of a tube and dabbing on cheek) vs. this tube (vigorously rubbing over cheeks to produce color). I have light beige skin with yellow undertones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cjones1fan on 9/5/2007 12:08:00 AM more reviews by cjones1fan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Just can't do it. I had been coveting a cheekstain for awhile and was happy to receive one in a swap. However, the gel formula just cannot work correctly with my Bare Escentuals foundation! I don't have the best skin (prone to bad breakouts), and need my concealer to stay in place. When I tried to rub the stain in, it took off all the concealer from my breakouts and looked "smeared" all through the mineral makeup on my cheeks. If you have good skin and don't need an overabundance of foundation or concealer like me, I bet this would be awesome for a fresh-faced look. I'm going to do everything I can to get my skin to behave so I can use this, as the Dollface was an absolutely beautiful pink and I think the applicator and overall idea is ingenious.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Blush products