Clean & Clear • Deep Cleaning Astringent (orange) • Toners

rated 3.6(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* YuzuBunny on 8/24/2008 10:28:00 PM more reviews by YuzuBunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an Acne Treatment Astringent with Salicylic Acid 2% (BHA).


I usually have combo sensitive skin, but lately it has been much oilier and I have clogged pores on my forehead. I needed a cheap but effective BHA product to help with that. This toner definitely has helped with both the oiliness and the clogged pores, and in under a week.


It is pretty simple in its ingredients, and it is the correct pH to exfoliate effectively. Although it does have 41% alcohol. It also has surprisingly not irritated me, but I don't think I'm actually sensitive to alcohols, and I believe its because of the way I use it, which will be addressed further.


It is a pink watery liquid in a flip-top cap bottle. The instructions state "moisten a cotton ball and cover the entire affected area with a thin layer" I know that it looks like a toner, and the name is "Deep Cleaning Astringent" but there are definitely some things that should be noted.


1. It is not a facial cleanser. It states on the bottle that you should clean your face before using this. I know it says "Deep Cleaning" but that does not apply to your entire face.


2. It is not a toner. As stated on the bottle, you only apply to the affected areas, and you only apply a thin layer.


Don't be all saturating your face with this stuff and then complaining about how it dries you out. Especially if you normally have dry, non-acne, alcohol-sensitive skin. You need a different product.


I only use this on my oily/clogged parts of my face once a day and it works great in that manner. I would never use it on my drier, unaffected areas. No need!


It is a very cute pink colour and it smells like a overly-boozy cosmopolitan. If you are sensitive to fragrance or to alcohol-smell, you will not like this. I do not mind it and the scent dissapates quickly. I don't mind that its in the plastic bottle, but I do mind the annoying flip cap. Mine won't open/shut very well, and it doesn't distribute the product out of the bottle very well either.


Overall, its a good, cheap, and effective drugstore option for someone with oilier, clogged or acne skin. It has worked for me in a pinch.


Ingredients from Bottle:
Active Ingredient - Salicylic Acid 2%
Other - Alcohol (41%), benzophenone-4, denatonium benzoate, dimethicone propyl PG-betaine, fragrance, isoceteth-20, water, red 4.
8oz/240mL at $3.99

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hmag7386 on 8/22/2008 3:27:00 PM more reviews by hmag7386

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had used the Sensitive Skin formula (the blue one) of this product growing up. I had hardly any acne, but used it to get rid of what little bit I did have. Back then, it did the job. However, my skin started changing in my early 20s (I'm 23 now), and more acne has showed up, especially in the last year or so. I upgraded to this product, the orange bottle, in hopes that a stronger formula was all I needed. I even paired it with Clean & Clear's Dual Action Moisturizer, but in the end, it hardly made a difference. It also contains harsh ingredients that are ultimately unnecessary (like most astringents), including fragrance and neon coloring. It's also very drying, so you will need a moisturizer afterward. After playing around with other acne-fighting products and toners, I finally found my HG product that knocks them all out- acne.org's benzoyl peroxide gel. That's it! No special cleansers, toners, moisturizers needed. That gel has returned my skin to all of it's high school/acne-free glory. This astringent and all other products I've tried have been tossed, never to come back. :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheFashionSpaz on 8/13/2008 9:44:00 PM more reviews by TheFashionSpaz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I went to the store looking for something to dry out my acne, and I bought this thinking it was a liquid cleanser or something. When I first rubbed it on my skin after washing my face it burned like hell!! But I kept using it. I thought that might mean it was working. I used this in the morning and before I went to bed. Three days later my skin was flaking off a little, but yeah my acne problem definetley improved! Hard-core acne treatments like this always make me flake, so once my skin gets used to it it'll be a big help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lissiest on 8/8/2008 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Lissiest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i really like this product. i went to walgreens one day looking for a toner and found this. i use it with some blue cleanser (that i think is from clean & clear too). it didn't really CLEAR UP my acne but it helped control it and keep it from flaring up. i am on my last drop and plan on getting some more. i would suggest only using this toner at night because it kind of stings and leaves an almost shiny look on your face. overall, i like this toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Velvettemine on 7/26/2008 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Velvettemine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! works wonderfully with my skin.It stings bad but I like the feeling.and i like the scent too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fashionista21 on 7/22/2008 4:06:00 PM more reviews by fashionista21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love this toner! It makes your skin tingle, and it really cleans away everything. After I wash my face I use this, and it still picks up traces of my foundation deep in the pores! It's amazing how deep it cleans. I use it midday to remove my oil and it works fabulously. I recommend this. But if you have sensitive skin, be warned. I have acne prone, oily skin, and nothing irritates it. It may sting a bit too much if you're sensitive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CadJay on 4/10/2008 11:06:00 AM more reviews by CadJay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i have repurchased this product a few times and will keep buying it unless i find anything else. i have combination skin with an oily forehead and very mild acne, and i find it works well in reducing the overall oiliness of my face. i think it could dry your face though if your skin type is not oily or combination or acne-prone. i dont use it on my nostrils as i find it dries them and makes them peel. it would sting if you have an open sore.
it definitely helped containing breakouts, but not illiminate them completely. i also use this product on my chest and my back when i see potential bumps forming.
i like the packaging because it allows to use the product up to the absolutely last drop. and it lasts forever

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jengren on 4/7/2008 9:25:00 AM more reviews by jengren

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product works wonders on me. After trying to find more name-brand or more expensive toners on me, they often break me out. This one as simple as it is works.....but it will dry your face out a little if you use too often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 raeofsunshine on 3/30/2008 7:50:00 PM more reviews by raeofsunshine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this stuff has really helped w/my oily teenage skin . Caution the first few times you use it it may sting slightly . After a few days it dosent anymore . Its really good for forehead or hairline acne !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Meeshmakeup on 3/12/2008 3:12:00 AM more reviews by Meeshmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a new toner and anything with salicylic acid usually works for me so I decided to purchase it. BAD IDEA. At first, it worked well, but I started noticing that I would get red bumps on my cheeks and my skin felt drier than usual. I should've bought the sensitive version instead of this one. Anyways, no prob, I gave it to my sibling and there were no bad reactions for him so I guess it depends and varies on the individual.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clean & Clear products

More Toners products