Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 RenRan on 5/20/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by RenRan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For a lip finish that is neither too matte or too glossy, and with a color that is just rich enough for my olive skin tone, Clinique's Black Honey is a winner. I've used this product for several years and despite its price (approx. $13) it's a must have in my makeup stash.

When it's packaged as an Almost Lipstick you will see why - it's very translucent when worn. I doubt it's possible for the color to ever look too heavy handed when applied. Don't be afraid by how dark the color looks in the tube, which appears to be a deep purple-black color. The application is super sheer and glides on smoothly and gives a dewy, just bitten look to the lips. Curious about how the color may look? If you've seen Liv Tyler in LOTR, this is the color she wears. I usually describe it as a wine shade. I have been lucky enough to have it mistaken as my natural lip color (haha, I wish).

One tube lasts me at least 3 months of highly repetitive use. Which brings me to the cons; the product is not the longest lasting, especially after eating or drinking. The formulation doesn't cause my lips to peel, crack or dry (yay!) but I wish that there was a touch more moisture to it. However, it's an excellent color to use alone, blended with other colors and can be intensified by wearing it with a rich raisin or wine colored lip liner.

Last but not least, the packaging is beautiful. The tube is sleek, slender and silver-toned. There are now other "honeys" added to the Almost Lipstick line, which I am very tempted to try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 5/14/2013 9:42:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can be skeptical with cult products, but... I like it! It's pretty 'buildable' and one application can give you a berry stained effect, and you can also layer it for a dramatic deep look without coming across as too gothic. It's moisturizing with average staying power. I will repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ProductJunkieneedsherfix on 5/4/2013 10:46:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkieneedsherfix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A classic, looks good on any skin tone and is very moisturizing. A nice amount of color as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 4/29/2013 4:43:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to really like this lip gloss/sheer lipstick as the colour is very flattering to my light olive skin, but I find it a real pain to have to constantly reapply it as it is so sheer. I have now moved onto better, cheaper glosses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 4/28/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my last trip to Sephora I managed to actually have some money left in my wallet after my purchase (miracle of miracles, once-in-a-lifetime events). I had been wanting to get this old classic for a long time, but my meager budget always forces me to prioritize. Anyway, I decided to get this. And I am glad I did. On me, this is a lovely berry color, not too blue, just right. I can apply it sheer or layer it for deeper color. It's shiny enough, but it's not porn-film type glossy, as someone so accurately and hilariously put it a few comments below.


I have a fast-dwindling tube of Guerlain's Kiss Kiss Lip Lift (primer) from my 'gratis' cache. I adore that stuff, but because it's so absurdly expensive ($32, if you please), I save it for "special occasions." One of those occasions is when I pair it with Black Honey. The combination of the two gives me plump, soft lips, and tones the color down a bit. My lips but definitely better.


In short, this is a great prod. No, it doesn't last long, but it's not supposed to (and what's with people wanting their MU to stay on forever? Old MU looks so tacky and yucky). IT fades to a nice berry stain, and reapplying it is a breeze. I love this stuff.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Selly03 on 4/28/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Selly03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love Clinique's Almost Lipstick range.
'Almost Lipstick' feels just like lip balm, is moisturising and has a slight sheen but isn't too glossy.The colour does not go on as thick as lipstick either. Overall is has a very natural look and the colour suits almost everyone. I have olive skin and very dark black eyebrows so I find it difficult to find a lip colours that suit me. I have a few other colours of the Almost Lipstick and love them for everyday use.

Packaging: very nice, absolutely no complaints.

Price: Its a bit pricey but I really like the product so I think its worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Rumrumrum on 4/21/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Rumrumrum

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

After reading that Liv Tyler wore this as Arwen in LOTR I put my boner away and ordered this on Sephora. Almost lipstick sounded like the perfect product. Moisturizing, smooth, can't-mess-up sheer, and relatively affordable. Alas, it was neither moisturizing or smooth. It dragged on my lips and I needed a lip balm over. The color, I'm sure, looks great on most people but I have problematic coloring and it didn't suit me. I'm kind of olive, kind of yellow, slightly warm :( I think I made that up.

Will be returning.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatGen on 4/19/2013 11:57:00 PM more reviews by KatGen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

As much as I love playing with different lipstick shades...from natural berries to bright corals and reds, seldom have I found one that looks and feels right everyday. I'm usually stuck with a shade that is fun for a night out, but too bright for the next day. Black honey is perfection for me, and as far as I can tell, it is sure to compliment all skin tones. Sounds corny, but i feel prettiier with every application! It is totally worth a try. I love the feeling and color of this 'almost lipstick.'

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wallflowerrr89 on 3/30/2013 3:52:00 AM more reviews by wallflowerrr89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Oh my goodness, this is my favorite lipstick ever! I was searching for a natural looking lipstick for every day wear when I stumbled upon this. At first I was unsure due to the deep brown color of the stick, but it ended up being beautiful on! It is a red/berry color that is perfect for wearing day or night. Glides on smooth and doesn't get sticky. Leaves my lips feeling soft and moisturized. I have somewhat pale skin, but I can imagine this shade looking good with just about any skin tone. Definitely a must-have for your beauty bag!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magdalena on 3/21/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by Magdalena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Applies as a sheer dark berry on me, and when I blot it to get a more even result, it almost disappears. Not my cup of tea, but a fun GWP nonetheless -- I had always wanted to see what the hype was about.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products