Neutrogena • Rapid Clear Acne Defense Face Lotion • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(149 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 pooknbury on 8/2/2010 2:05:00 AM more reviews by pooknbury

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

i have been using this stuff as my night moisturizer for a few weeks now. i was having a lot of cystic acne on my chin and constant small breakouts. since using this moisturizer, i haven't had one deep pimple and very rarely get breakouts. i still get small blackheads or whiteheads as this is not a miracle cream. it does sting a little occasionally when you first put it on. the consistency is kind of sticky until it absorbs. i used to use Olay Total Effects Anti-Aging Anti-Blemish Moisturizer but it has been discontinued. this is a good replacement but doesn't have any anti-aging ingredients. this moisturizer would work best for people in their teens or early 20's with combination or oily skin. it tends to dry my skin a bit and feels somewhat harsh, that's why i use it @ night and i use an spf moisturizer for day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletPearl on 4/14/2010 3:12:00 PM more reviews by VioletPearl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG lotion for sure!
(Here has a slightly different name: Visibly Clear Oil-Free Moisturiser)
Heals my skin, reduces redness in 1-2 hours (!!!), moisturizes, but keeps my skin matte and clear. I also like the cooling effect, i adore this stuff it is a lifesaver for me.
This week I realized that it is beeing discntinued here (hope only gets the new name and packiging), but I fastly got 2 more backups from it, just in case...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 calanthe on 3/15/2010 8:26:00 PM more reviews by calanthe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is for people with mild acne and clogged pores. I was on Accutane three years ago, so my skin is fairly clear. I have lately had some clogged pores on my forehead and nose with a few small red pimples and whiteheads. This lotion is helping clear it up so far, and has a great texture that blends beautifully. However, if your acne is moderate to severe, I don't feel that this would be a helpful product.
EDIT: Broke me out, so I have repurposed this lotion for my feet! It works great for the dry, ashy skin on my toes and heels.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GonnaBeARockStar on 2/5/2010 11:31:00 AM more reviews by GonnaBeARockStar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic lotion!! This is my HG from now on. I was breaking out due to stress, so I went out and bought some acne products, I ended up with Clean N Clear Persa Gel,an old stand by, and Neutrogena Rapid Clear Acne Defense Lotion. What got me is that it promisedd to work quickly. I must say, it did, but I dont think in 8 hrs as advertised. I've been using it for about a month and I haven't gotten any chin and lip area breakouts like I usually do! I also think it cleared up the stress pimples I had very quickly. The formula is light, absorbs quickly, smells fresh. I use it as a base for my foundation, works just fine! The only problem I would see is if someone with dry skin used this. It may not be moisturizing enough, but you could always put a light moisturizer on top. As for my skin I consider it normal to oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tulipsplash on 1/28/2010 10:36:00 AM more reviews by tulipsplash

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

LOVE THIS!!!
Great alternative to Paula's Choice BHA products which I found to be too harsh for my skin. I use this alternately with Neutrogena's Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment, depending on the needs of my skin that day. I find these products are effective, and more gentle than PC's offerings. However, I may go back to using one of PC's products on a once or twice per month basis. Thank you, Paula, for leading me to these fine Neutrogena products! YOU are the best!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rezarific on 10/11/2009 2:09:00 PM more reviews by Rezarific

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, this is my HG moisturizer--it's so hard to find a good oil-free moisturizer for my super-oily acne-prone skin! I only found this after using the Rapid Clear foaming cleanser for quite some time with great success, all the time looking for a good oil-free moisturizer and not realizing there was one in the Rapid Clear line. For me, this is as good as Proactiv, and that was way too expensive for me, so I'm sooo glad I found this. Works great, feels great, no oil, no acne, I'm in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JeansOnAPlane on 9/10/2009 8:59:00 PM more reviews by JeansOnAPlane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am on my 3rd tube of this, it's my HG acne control lotion! If I have any redness from messing with my face or just from breaking out, I can put this on and the redness is gone! This really helps, and with consistent use I really feel like I have better skin. I think I'm always going to have this in my beauty stash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 earth_dragon1427 on 8/3/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by earth_dragon1427

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use this for daily control of breakouts. I have sensitive skin that gets red really easily and this helps to calm my skin down. It doesn't seem to work on my cysts or blackheads but on regular whiteheads and for prevention of future breakouts works great. It doesn't make my skin dry/flaky at all and really evens out my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fancyxamy on 3/17/2009 11:02:00 AM more reviews by fancyxamy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

im finally throwing in the towel on this. ive resurrected it many times but at the end of the day, it just doesnt work for me. i love the idea of an acne treatment/moisturizer combo, but not this one.


my one positive is that this doesnt seem to break me out like many BHA products. unfortunately, i have been unable to use it long enough to determine whether it prevents acne because it dries me out too bad and leaves me shiny and flaky at the end of the day.


i have oily skin by nature, but it becomes easily dehydrated from product usage. this is a very, very light lotion that feels comfortable upon application and works well with sunscreen and foundation. yet slowly, as the hours go by, my face begins to feel tight and flakes begin to emerge. at 5:30 when i get home from work, my makeup looks like it is melting off my face.


if youre looking for simply an acne treatment, this may be a good choice. but for those hoping to also use this as a moisturizer, it probably wont be enough on its own.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bloodvsplastic on 3/12/2009 2:19:00 PM more reviews by bloodvsplastic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this all the time. It didn't do much for my acne at first, but when I used it long-term, I didn't feel like my skin was so oily. Which, in turn helped improve my acne because of that fact. Which is a big improvement because my skin is VERY oily. My make up practically slides off sometimes. The only thing I hate about this is the amount you get for the price. 1-something ounces for $6-7 is like not that great, but I usually always go back to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products