Clinique • Advanced Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hmag7386 on 7/13/2009 12:44:00 PM more reviews by hmag7386

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

FYI: I rated this concealer based on use for covering dark undereye circles.

Pros:

1) Amazing coverage! VERY pigmented.
2) A little bit goes a LONG way. It's super thick and concentrated so you only need a tiny dab. Even for as much as I used, a tube of this lasts several months. The tube is also needlenose, so you only squeeze out what you need. Very sanitary and convenient.
3) It stays where you put it! Pat it in and let it set for about 15 seconds and you're done.

Cons:

1) This concealer is visible and noticeable when used BY ITSELF. It's very apparent you have makeup on, especially under eyes. This is probably because for very dark circles like I have, you even need a concealing "base coat" so to speak. So, before putting this on, I had put on a layer of Maybelline's True Illusion Concealer (which again, by itself wasn't enough coverage for what I need). The combination of these two worked well to get rid of that "made-up" look, but also helped emphasize fine lines, especially by the end of the day. Yikes.
2) This concealer is very drying. So I mixed it with an equivalent dab of Clinique's Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion on my finger and then applied it. Together the consistency and hydration is pretty darn close to what the ideal concealer should be. This may be a positive thing for some people who find most concealers to be too cakey- this one definitely is not. At least give this a try if you're fed up with cakey makeup.
3) However, as you may have guessed, wearing 3 products on under my eyes to make this product work is a clear sign that it's not doing the job solo. The biggest reason why I moved on to another product: this regime emphasized the fine lines under my eyes. It amplified things I didn't even know I had and by the end of the day, I looked older. This is the main reason why I hate both the dark circles under my eyes and wearing makeup to cover them up. My delicate eye area is suffering.

I've played around with several highly reviewed concealers since using this one and have finally settled on the perfect one: Everyday Minerals Intensive Fair. What a godsend. I never thought a POWDER would be my HG undereye concealer- but believe it. I've completely stopped using any other concealer or sampling other ones!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vhemminger on 7/11/2009 3:23:00 PM more reviews by vhemminger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A really good concealer and the closest I've found to my HG concealer. I use Matte Light on my NC 15 skin and it works very well. It covers just about anything and last a pretty long time. Plus the product lasts a long time...about 7 or 8 months for me. My only problem is that you have to work to blend this. I find it can be streaky and it takes some time to blend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JR81 on 6/23/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by JR81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my everyday concealer for years. I loved it for breakouts as well as covering redness and even under eye circles (but only with a touch of Clinique All About Eyes mixed in as it is too thick without it). A few months ago, I realized that I was suddenly breaking out everywhere I applied the concealer. Not really convinced that it was my favorite concealer, I grudgingly stopped using it for a week...and my face cleared up immediately. I still like the coverage this concealer gives, but I would not suggest it for acne prone skin (like mine). Also, it does not last very long in the humid summer months, and while it does a good job on under eyes, it is very thick and will settle into fine lines unless it's mixed with an eye cream. All in all, this may be good for some but just not me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenjoy on 4/28/2009 5:17:00 PM more reviews by goldenjoy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with reviewers that say the color selections sucks. I wish there were more choices! Having said that, I love this product for dark post acne marks I get after every blemish. I also love this for covering up a blemish. The creamy texture dries to a matte powdery finish, so I make sure that my skin is well exfoliated and moisturized beforehand. I use a fine tipped concealer brush and then place the concearler just on those areas, lightly pat with my finger to blend, then set with sheer powder. This way, it stays on all day and it covers great. I have both colors (light and medium) and mix and match according to my skin tone at the time (and also how dark the spot is etc).
I do not like this concealer for undereyes, way to dry looking, even with eye cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skindeep09 on 4/9/2009 11:21:00 PM more reviews by skindeep09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this product for almost 10 years now and still love it...Genetically I have very dark circles under my eyes which always used to make me look horrible, tired, etc. and then I found this product...It conceals them very well and you would never know I have my dark circles problem unless you catch me without this on which is practically never. It also blends and sets into my skin very well, but again most importantly works wonders and is amazing in hiding my dark circles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetheart519 on 4/9/2009 3:06:00 PM more reviews by sweetheart519

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for a while. I like it overall, but I have a couple of issues. One is that it doesn't seem to last more than a few hours for me, I'm not sure why. Two is that it seems to look cakey/flakey on blemishes, which is not so attractive. But otherwise I really like it, it seems to cover really well and blend into my foundation. I just wish it lasted longer and didn't cake so much sometimes. Even when I use a teeny tiny bit, it still can cake up. But the other plus is I feel like this one tube will last me an eternity! You have to use so very little of it to cover. So that's always nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 darcy123 on 4/1/2009 2:01:00 PM more reviews by darcy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Still hunting for a great concealer, I decided to try this as I generally have good luck with Clinique products. This is a nice concealer: it covers well, dries to a powdery matte finish and comes in a simple, hygenic squeeze tube. But, like a lot of Clinique foundations, the colour selection for this product is weak. There are only two colours: Matte Light, which is really light and Matte Medium, which is really dark. I bought Matte Light and it looks almost white when it comes out of the tube. I have a lot of redness on my face that I'm trying to conceal and this is too light to do the job (and I'm not that dark; I wear Light in Almost Powder M/U). I tried a sample of Matte Medium in the store and it was way too dark. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nelson on 3/7/2009 9:55:00 AM more reviews by nelson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm mad at myself. For over 10 years i have searched all over the place for a concealer that would cover my dark undereye circles and actually stay in place all day. Many sales reps have tried to encourage me to use products like those concealer pans saying that they are really heavy duty but they just slide off or into creases in a few hours so they are totally useless! Also i cannot be bothered doing the whole concealer/ powder/ layer, etc thing in the morning. The closest i ever came to finding that product until now was a concealer that The Body Shop used to stock years ago until they got rid of that makeup line and replaced it with a cooler, sexier version that was completely terrible. Trust me, i was pretty darned upset about it as i've been embarressed about my under eye circles from a very young age. Finally I found this product on e-bay and bought it after reading great reviews here, but wouldn't you know, it is not even stocked in Australia anymore after i just discovered it, how disappointing! Sooo, the number one reason i love it, it really does stay in place. It is also thick and heavily pigmented which is just as important. If you are thinking of buying a concealer to cover acne or light imperfections there are probably hundreds of better more moisturising concealers out there so you probably wouldn't give it 5 stars. As for me, i think it's just about perfect. If i cannot buy it again off e-bay i will cry. Seriously.

UPDATE: oh no! A lovely MUA'er sent me this very concealer in the green package (not the clear one) as she wasn't happy with it and i think i know why! It is the same shade but they have changed the formula! They have added a powdery finish to it which looks horrible, crepey and dry under my eyes highlighting the lines under my eyes which i didn't even know i had! So i have no choice but to move on, AGAIN, boo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* weeks919 on 2/24/2009 11:12:00 PM more reviews by weeks919

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was absolute heaven for dark acne scars. Its thick and coverage is amazing, but it cakes easily and is probably too heavy for most people. But if you have age spots, acne scars, or anything else tht needs to be covered up, this is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolabangs on 1/8/2009 1:10:00 AM more reviews by lolabangs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have FINALLY found my HG concealor! Matte Light is perfect for me (NW20). I have fair skin with lots of hyperpigmentation and I have to wear sunscreen year-round, so my concealor has to mix well with it. I loved Mac Select concealor but it turned an awful orange whether I used sunscreen or not. But Clinique's is perfect. I never got the hang of foundation so my concealor has to do all the work, and this works so well in covering acne and any red marks -- actually it covers everything, blends in seamlessly, and never turns orange or melts away (my sunscreen is oily). I also love the packaging and I'm sure it will last a long time.. and it's only $14.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Concealers products