Neutrogena • Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 carolinapeach on 1/28/2009 1:36:00 PM more reviews by carolinapeach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my HG cleanser. For two years I consistently used this product, completely forsaking all others. It foams nicely, it gives my face a light, gentle scrubbing, and it truly evens my skin tone. Don't expect an even skin tone after a week, but you will definitely notice a difference after a month. This face wash in conjunction with the moisturizer kept me from getting the dreaded mask of pregnancy during both of my pregnancies even though I was outside a lot in Hell...I mean, Atlanta. The only downside is it burns if it gets in my eyes, but really, what doesn't? I guess the other big downside would be that I think my face has built up a resistance because I notice it is not clearing up any new dark spots as quickly as in the past. For now I have switched to DDF Brightening Cleanser which I also highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annaharris_227 on 1/13/2009 2:23:00 PM more reviews by annaharris_227

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a cleanser for dry skin, mainly because just about every gel cleanser I use nowadays dries my combination skin out. I love the little scrubbers in this, and the way it keeps the natural moisture in my face, yet still rinses clean. I hate cleansers that leave a slimy film behind, even when I have dry patches. It also removes makeup well! I would not hesitate to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bburgess on 12/23/2008 12:04:00 PM more reviews by bburgess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product because my derm suggested it. It definitely evens out the skin tone. I have a sensitive face, so whatever product in it tingled my face a little, but I can deal.

Has cleared up the random breakouts I get nicely. The product makes a light foam...but I like it! Smells nice too.

Do note that it has little microbeads that exfoliate. They feel nice, but NOT to the eyes. I realize most cleansers will irritate your eyes when you get some in them, but JEEZ! I mean this one really hurts! Its the worst I have ever felt by far. So, if you are careful enough to avoid the eye problem this should not be a problem for you. Just because of that I took off one lippie bc I really is terribly painful to get some in your eyes...which seems to happen quite often to me. However, it works well enough to keep on using it regardless of the pain!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zahrockstar on 11/3/2008 10:20:00 AM more reviews by zahrockstar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I loooooove this cleanser! It's such a light foam and it feels gentle against my skin. The exfoliating beads are pretty small, but it gets everything done! At the end of my wash, my face definitely feels smooth and filled with moisture. After a few uses, you can also tell that my skin has definitely cleared up and has brightened into a much even tone. I do have combination skin, and every so often I do break out. But when I feel like a pimple might be coming along, I wash my face with this and I can honestly say that I can already feel the swelling going down. And because of the evening-out complex, I only wear foundation/powder whenever I really need it (ie: nights out, parties). Leaving my face bare, I can't believe how many compliments I get on my skin alone. it's probably one of the best washes I use!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xtinemax on 10/4/2008 2:23:00 AM more reviews by xtinemax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm not sure if this is helping even out my skin.. but I have very stressed skin. But it does make my skin look very fresh and nice right after I wash it. If only it stayed like that.. This cleanser doesn't foam too well but I've been using superfoamy shiseido. It has teeny little exfoliating particles which makes it feel like I'm really cleaning my face. My face always feels super clean after I use this, and it gets rid of all my makeup! Though I have to be careful around the eyes because of thise itty bitty exfoliators that can bypass even the most tightly shut eyelids into the soft squishy sensitive eye. Ouch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 christine6424 on 9/25/2008 1:31:00 PM more reviews by christine6424

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this cleanser for 3 weeks. I have dry skin and this cleanser really makes it feel even drier when I am done. It also does not foam and it does not remove foundation completely. There are others out there that work better. I had great hopes for this product. Bummer

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nicenicebaby on 7/18/2008 8:32:00 PM more reviews by nicenicebaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very disappointing Neutrogena cleanser! I can't believe it, usually I love all their cleansers and skincare stuff but this one doesn't cut it. It has a nice creamy texture that's SLIGHTLY grainy and it foams up SO. BEAUTIFULLY...

PROs:
- nice smell
- nice texture

CONs:
- rinses TOOOO clean! my face actually squeaks and there's absoluetly NO MOISTURE left! and, i'm naturally SUPER DUPER oily! that's saying something.
- used it for 2 weeks, didn't make my skin even or fade marks


but if you're someone who likes the Shiseido Benefiance cleanser, get this, it's @ a fraction of the price, does the exact same thing, and smells nicer and lighter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeUp4Fun on 7/11/2008 6:51:00 PM more reviews by MakeUp4Fun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Doesn't exfoliate and doesn't remove makeup thoroughly. Exfoliation and removing makeup are 2 things I look for in a cleanser, and this cleanser does neither, so I will not be repurchasing. It might be OK to use in the morning just to remove oil on my face.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tiki21 on 7/2/2008 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Tiki21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'd buy it again if there were few other drugstore options and I was travelling and needed something bad. I *loved* the Body Wash (now discontinued), and this stuff isn't dissimilar to it. Foams up nicely, rinses cleanly, even gives me the feeling that it's "brightened" my skin. (I bought the moisturizer after I got rid of the facial wash, just because I liked the effect so much.)

However, the microbeads are so tiny that it's hard to avoid getting them where they shouldn't go on your face (eyes, nose, ears); I found that part frustrating. I guess I should stick with something like a wipe or pad for facial exfoliation.

I suppose my biggest issue with this product is that it went rancid after a few months of sitting on my shelf. It didn't stink, but it turned a brownish color. The other Visibly Even products didn't do that, just the facial wash. I tossed it.

But it's not bad stuff; I would buy it again in a pinch. But I'd power-rinse my face to get all the beads off, and throw the bottle out before it could go rancid again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* armaclin041584 on 6/30/2008 10:15:00 PM more reviews by armaclin041584

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love, love, love this facial cleanser. I started getting acne around the age of 13, and now I am 24 and this is the first face wash that I have come across that has properly cleaned my face and cleared up my blemishes. I have combo/sensitive skin. There is nothing that I hate about this product. I love the scent. I love how the product foams but also has very tiny beads in it so that I can gently exfoliate my skin everyday without any irritation. It even cleans off my make-up! The only issue that I have is the packaging. When it is almost empty, it's hard to get the rest of the product out. Overall this facial wash is a keeper.
~Ash

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products