Redken • All Soft Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 4.0(680 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 rc630 on 12/25/2012 1:50:00 PM more reviews by rc630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Fantastic conditioner for my fine, damaged hair (highlights + almost daily straightening). I like the smell and it really does make my hair feel soft. I always have trouble finding the larger bottles of this in my Ulta store, so I end up paying even more for an already expensive product. On the upside, I don't have to use a lot of it, so it lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LeahThomas on 12/25/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by LeahThomas

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have almost thick,wavy, waist length hair and nothing conditions my hair like the Redken All Soft line. I have no idea how this product suffers such terrible reviews seeing as the only difference in the reformulation was a less "heavy" feel. The price is definitely steep but worth it. I also recommend the argan oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracyltrust on 12/4/2012 1:10:00 PM more reviews by tracyltrust

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to come to the defense of the newest formulation of Redken's All Soft Conditioner. I've read a bunch of reviews stating that they loved the old and hate the new. There are a few notable changes but a big one is that the new formula no longer contains silicones-which is better because it is actually hydrating and not just masking dryness/damage. If your hair feels "like straw" after using the new All Soft, you either have irreparably damaged hair or need to clarify to remove silicones that have built up on the hair shaft and are blocking out moisturizing ingredients in the conditioner (or both). It is also possible that you are accustomed to the feeling that silicone-laden conditioners give your hair and are missing that. Usually they give a very slippery silky feel that people mistake for the feel of healthy hair. While it's nice for a quick fix this coating is detrimental to your locks over time. You're blocking out hydrating ingredients in the future-the silicones are not water soluble and in order to completely remove them you must use a clarifying shampoo. I'm not completely anti-silicones, but if I want to add them to my hair I prefer to do it with products after my shower (usually for heat protection). I try to go easy on them since they block out moisture that my hair desperately requires and I also don't want to have to clarify too often. I have a feeling that people who miss the old formula are missing the silicone slip (which is not an indication of hair health).

The new All Soft conditioner does make my hair feel soft. It detangles beautifully and leaves my hair feeling moisturized; not slippery & coated. It also works great as a leave in because it no longer has the tendency to build up.
As far as the changes in ingredients I want to first point out that there are many moisturizing ingredients in the new formula. I am a hairstylist and I recommend Redken products in general because they work (not affiliated w/ the company). Just because you may not recognize or know how to pronounce an ingredient doesn't make it bad for your hair. Argan oil is a trendy one right now which is why they added that I'm sure. They replaced one oil for another. There are many moisturizing ingredients in addition to the argan oil. There is also some light protein in it which is just enough to maintain hair strength without causing brittleness (which excess protein will do). A few people pointed out the alcohol in the formula. Alcohol by itself will dry your hair out. Alcohol combined in the correct percentage with certain moisturizing ingredients actually helps your hair absorb more of the moisture. There is a reason it's in there-the chemists at Redken don't stand to gain anything by ruining your hair.
This conditioner reminds me a bit of Terax Crema now. The ingredients list has some similarities.
I hope this helps explain the new formula a little bit better-I really like it and I know those of you who avoid excess silicones will be excited to learn it is now cone-free. It's a good idea to clarify your hair prior to trying new conditioner. No conditioner will be able to do what it should on hair that has a layer of silicone coating it. If you didn't care for this try it again after you clarify. Some people are surprised to find that clarifying and following with a moisturizing conditioner will instantly restore their hair to a softer and healthier-feeling state. Lots of my clients want to add products to their hair in an effort to moisturize-oils, creams, leave-ins-when in reality they should remove everything first and then keep it simple with a good conditioner. This is a great one.

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 11/30/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I never used the old formula so I don't have a method of comparison, but I couldn't wait to finish the bottle I had, and only did so because it was expensive. First, though it is very subtle and disappears quickly, I absolutely hated the honey scent. I found it nauseating. But the bottom line is, it really did absolutely nothing, not even detangle. I don't understand the positive reviews but I guess everyone's hair is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hautepants on 11/24/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Hautepants

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this conditioner so much! It is definitely my HG. Makes my thick coarse hair so soft and shiny. And the best part is, it doesnt have a lot of yucky stuff in it to weigh hair down after awhile. I hate hate hate product build up..and this stuff doesnt have any. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Livie19 on 10/26/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by Livie19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

So I have tried SO many differnt conditioners in the past because my hair is very weird, its wavy yet straight yet frizzy at the same time it is medium fine hair, and I have ALOT of hair. So I tried this and absolutly fell in love with this, I dont understand why everyone saying all this bad stuff about this conditioner and it works brillinatly, it is so nice, makes my hair extra soft and manageable, smells great also, I have never tried the shampoo, I use the biolage scalp therapy shampoo and AG clarifying shampoo and LOVE biolage products, and Redken, redken and biolage are the brands I use the most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Neophiliac on 10/26/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner is even heavier than the companion shampoo. It makes your hair soft, but that's about all it does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 10/20/2012 6:50:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a light weight conditioner with a lovely honey scent. For the price I don't know if this works any better than your average drugstore variety conditioner. I really liked the shampoo though, so I might purchase this again if it came as a set.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rgkupo on 10/20/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by rgkupo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used Redkin All Soft for years and this summer they changed the formulation of the product. I have thick coarse light brown hair with a slight wave that is very hard to manage. All Soft was the only shampoo that made my hair amazingly soft, shiny and manageable. The new All Soft leaves my hair dull and brittle and you get greasy build up at the crown. I can only use the conditioner on my tips as it is so greasy and doesn't wash out. This stuff is awful. Now I will have to find something else. If anyone has any recommendations for a product similar to the old All Soft let me know! I used to use Redkin Smooth Down, all though I loved the results of the old All Soft more, perhaps I will try that again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mesloan on 10/13/2012 11:58:00 AM more reviews by mesloan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this bcuz of the good ratings. I have curly hair. This product felt as if I used nothing. Did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Conditioner products