MAC • Cleanse Off Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(534 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 oberz3 on 1/28/2013 10:51:00 PM more reviews by oberz3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

HEY EVERYBODY! IF YOU LOVE THIS PRODUCT AS SO MANY OF US DO, STOP WASTING YOUR MONEY ON SOMETHING THAT IS EASILY MADE AT HOME! MAC Cleanse Off Oil is nothing spectacular - oil cleansing has been around for decades (probably longer) but no one has thought about it because we're bombarded with chemical-laden products that even our dermatologists tell us to use! Oil cleansing is easy and you'll be AMAZED at how good your skin looks - FOR LESS $$$! All you need is a non-comedogenic base oil like Sunflower, Safflower, or Almond oil and mix in 10-20 drops of essential oils like Tea Tree (for it's antibacterial properties) and Lavender (for it's skin calming properties + it smells heavenly!). Shake it up and put several (10-15) drops on your fingers (or a cotton cleansing pad) and rub it in! Do this for 2-3 minutes. To remove the oil, you can spash warm water on your face and then wipe off with a towel or use another cotton pad that's slightly damp, then dry off with a towel. Done! Now, take a good, hard look. All you'll see is CLEAN! But the best part is the way your skin will feel! So soft! Go light on the nighttime moisturizer because you may not need to use as much (or any) after using the oil. Your face will already feel moisturized. In the morning, all you'll need to do is splash a little warm water on your face and pat dry. If your skin in super dry, you may want to repeat this process in the morning until your skin is no longer dry. I've almost eliminated moisturizing altogether! Can't say this will work with 100% of the people 100% of the time, but give it a try! It's worked for MANY! I even started my daughter on this once she began the dreaded "acne years", and literally overnight her acne improved 90%! She said she didn't believe me when I told her what to do (because I'm NEVER right about ANYTHING), but when she saw her face in the morning and noticed how it felt, she was a believer! Good luck to all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 1/23/2013 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely adore this product. Nothing else I have ever tried comes close to how quickly Cleanse Off Oil can remove every single scrap of make up from my face. Honestly, it does EVERYTHING it promises to do.

I always wear long-wearing foundation (Double Wear) and powder (Ben Nye Neutral Set), plus heavy eye make up and long-wearing liquid liner (MAC Liquid Last). Cleanse Off Oil effortlessly removes all traces of make up from my face in record time. If you very lazy like me, it will soon become your best friend!

I use 2-3 pumps of the oil, massage it all over my face to break down my make up and then add lukewarm water to remove it all. It washes off cleanly with no greasy residue. My skin feels so beautifully clean and soft when I use it, but not that ‘stripped’ of moisture feeling that results when you use harsher cleansers. It's so brilliantly effective at tackling waterproof mascara!

Cleanse Off Oil contains several different oils including jojoba, rose hip, olive, and evening primrose and is completely free from mineral-oil, whilst also containing Vitamin E. So it’s very skin-beneficial and I have never experienced any breakouts or skin problems using this. It also has a very light citrus scent which I love!

The only thing that I hate about it is the price - £16 for only 150ml. A bottle lasts me a good 2 months so it's an expensive purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 1/15/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this!!!! I have weird combo/oily -combo dry skin prone to break outs and this didn't break me out or dry me out either. Takes off everything!!!!! Love that my lashes don't fall out either...lol. I'm addicted!!! I still use a cleanser afterwards but only because I'm afraid of breaking out. The packaging is great and the smell isn't bad either...the price is so so kinda pricey but soooo worth it! Would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ParfumLust on 1/15/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by ParfumLust

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I only purchased this to help get my mascara and eyeliner off. Instead, I found a really nice basic cleanser. It dissolves all my makeup, but I don't love it around my eyes. I have to rub the oil in for my mascara to dissolve and it clouds up my eyes if it seeps in. Still, if I don't use a separate eye makeup remover, this cleanser will get the job done. This doesn't break me out and it helps balance the oil production of my face. Sometimes I will wash my face a second time with another cleanser, but often I use this by itself as my evening cleanser. I've already repurchased and will continue to in the future. Cleanser is one of those things where it can be great for one person and awful on another, but this works for me so I wanted to add a positive review.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Spsihope on 1/8/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Spsihope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my 2nd bottle and will continue to purchase. Does an absolute job to taking off makeup, I like the feeling of all the grit and makeup coming off. Sometimes I use it just on the eyes, takes off mascara. W/o taking off your eyelashes! Yay! I am prone to breakouts and did not break me out at all, I usually follow up with a light cleanse with my regular cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spinacha on 1/2/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried several makeup cleansing oils (e.g. Shu Uemura, Boscia, DHC, etc.), and MAC's Cleanse Off Oil is by far the best one I've found so far. Unlike the other cleansing oils I've tried, MAC's Cleanse Off Oil does not irritate my sensitive eyes, does not leave any oily residue on the skin, and it has not caused me to break me out whatsoever (and I am very prone to acne breakouts). It is lightly scented with a somewhat citrusy smell. The scent is very light. It thoroughly removes all makeup, including waterproof mascara and liners, and it emulsifies and rinses off fairly easily.

It will cloud your eyes if you get it in your eyes, but it's not at all irritating.

The packaging is fairly standard (comes in a clear bottle with a pump). I do find that the bottle is well made (some other cleansing oils will leak if the bottle gets turned over, but not MAC's Cleanse Off Oil).

The price is a bit steep, but fairly comparable with other cleansing oils on the market.

MAC does sell the Cleanse Off Oil in travel size bottles, so if you're unsure whether to invest the $$, try the travel size first.

Will definitely repurchase - has become a staple item for me.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ellety on 1/1/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Ellety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE IT!

I have never have spent $28 for any makeup remover before, but I knew I would love this! Every MAC SA I've spoke to about this uses it themselves religiously and whole-heartily recc. ( So do I)

I use eye MU removers and feel like I lose lots of lashes. But the cleasnse off oil is sooooo gentle refreshing and kinda fun to use. I feel like I'm performing a magic trick when it feels like regular oil at first, then when you get it wet it turns into a milky lather! lol I actually look forward to using this! I love how my skin looks afterward. It smells like natural oils. Plus I don't have to follow up with more cleansing.


I know this is going to become a beauty routine staple for me! This is a true winner!! :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 saltysaltt on 12/19/2012 7:05:00 AM more reviews by saltysaltt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have repurchased this multiple times because of how easily it removes all my makeup. It removes waterproof mascara effortlessly as well as water-resistant foundation and concealer. You have to use it the right way in order for it to work. You apply and rub the oil in on dry skin and then start introducing a little bit of water and work that in and then completely rinse. It is much better than other oil cleansers. I tried a different oil cleanser after using this just because I wanted to save on money but it did not compare to the MAC version whatsoever. I love that it turns into a milky cleanser and doesn't leave an oily residue on your face. I still wash with another cleanser afterwards. I haven't tried to see how my skin would react if I didn't wash again but I'm just too paranoid because I have very acne prone skin. I will say though with the double cleansing, I haven't seen any breakouts caused by this. Before I cleansed again, I do notice that my skin felt very soft after using the oil cleanser but again I'm paranoid. If your skin isn't as sensitive and acne prone, I definitely think you can get away with using just this cleanser. Overall, I really love it, I love that you don't need to use extra things with it like cotton pads which I don't enjoy buying. It makes my skincare routine quick and simple because I can use one product to remove both face and eye make up. It's great. Highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jinglingjambo on 12/5/2012 6:31:00 AM more reviews by jinglingjambo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

MAC Cleanse Off Oil is now my HG make-up remover, it's a fab product.
Completely removes all make-up so you can get a thorough cleanse.

What I like about MAC Cleanse Off Oil in comparison to Dermalogica PreCleanse is that this oil is more wet. Dermalogica PreCleanse is a very dry, dry, dry oil and the more I used it, the more I hated rubbing this dry oil into my dry face.

In terms of quality, Mac oil is great at what it does. I only need to use one pump to remove all my make-up.
To ensure a thorough cleanse, I massage the oil onto dry skin, then wet my hands and keep rubbing until my eye make up is thoroughly broken down then rinse off. My skin is looking clearer and feels less congested.

Also, for a MAC product, I think the price is really reasonable so I would continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babyjhudson on 12/4/2012 7:04:00 AM more reviews by babyjhudson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've got combination skin and tried OCM, which did not work at all (3 months period) and it left my skin very dirty.
MAC oil is different, it removes all traces of make up without any problem. I use waterproof foundations and camouflage make up so it's important to take it off completely. MAC clean off oil is my first step in my evening routine and afterwards I use Clarisonic and Purity cleanser.
On contact with water it turns milky and washes off without any problems and does not leave greasy residue. Very similar to DHC cleansing oil but it does not leave skin tight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Cleansers products