Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1046 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 makeupjulia1 on 10/17/2012 9:31:00 PM more reviews by makeupjulia1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot beleive I have not reviewed this yet. HG HG HG! I love this stuff.
I have sensitive combo skin (NC30) that depending on the weather acts dry or can get too oily. I put my moisturizer on and then my foundaton or concealor depending on how much coverage I want or where I am going and then apply the mineral veil. After that I finish off with blush, eyeshadow etc. before no matter what I did my makeup would not last. it would slide off my face and disappear or be sitting on top of my skin waiting for me to make a mistake and it would smear on anything that would get close to my face. After I have started using mineral veil I can apply my makeup in the morning or for a party and it stays on all night. I do not have to look in the mirror once. I am a mom of 2 toddlers and I just do not have the time to sit and apply a million things to my face once a day forget checking ten times in a day and retouching.
I have taken one lippie off only for the packaging. Its jsut so messy. first the sticker in the container that is supposed keep the product in the bottom came off so half my product is in the top on the container and I have to pour some out onto the lid to use it.I also cannot use this stuff without getting some on my counter or sink. I wish BE would change to their new click and twist containers so I remove only as much I need. other than that I will not be without my mineral veil ever

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissmorleyx on 10/12/2012 4:49:00 AM more reviews by lissmorleyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Fabulous product, recommended to many. Visibly reduces pores. Bought this item repeatedly :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnappyLeeLee on 10/5/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by SnappyLeeLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a must have for any makeup back. It compliments any foundation and gives that airbrushed look. Only a tiny bit goes a long way and it seems to last all day. I got it in Illuminating for highlighting. I will definitely be buying this product time and time again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For many years, I didn't know what makeup to use, so I didn't use any. All the trouble of finding something that would be good for my skin, make my face look good, the right colors ... I had no idea of how to start, so I took exactly no action.


Then I was bridesmaid for my friend's wedding. Two of the other bridesmaids used their Bare Minerals kits on me. I liked what I saw, and I liked what I read ... the idea of loose mineral powder, instead of heavy caked-on foundation, was immensely appealing.


So I toddled off to the Bare Minerals store and got that 3-piece kit. 18 months later, it is still the only makeup I own. I guess this review is for the Mineral Veil component.


I religiously follow the steps the salesgirl showed me. No inclination or aptitude for experimentation, sadly; plus I cannot ever shake the fear that I'm doing things the 'wrong' way. So: first the foundation, then the 'Warmth All-Over Face Color', and lastly, the 'Mineral Veil.'


The powder feels light and airy on my skin. It seems to brighten my face, and make me look a little less 'made up.' I always finish up with Mineral Veil, and have never had problems with the underlying layers (i.e. foundation or blush) rubbing off. I dunno, I guess it makes the mineral layers feel smoother, less rough. I've never had any adverse reaction. I like, I'm a fan. Two amateur thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laur0607 on 9/27/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by Laur0607

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product to put overtop of any foundation. The trick is to use a tiny bit of it. If you want an airbrush finish than you should not see any product on your brush. It is not meant to be worn on its own. It is supposed to compliment your foundation. It is super light and gives a very natural finish. It is an essential product of anyones make up bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 90sbaby4eva23 on 9/13/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by 90sbaby4eva23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a DDD so the tinted mineral veil was recommended for me. I got this with a value bundle deal offered on the Bare Minerals infomerical. Anyway .... this powder is awful (just like B.M foundation) it's chalky & ashy even when using the slightest amount. No matter what foundation applied before it. After less than one hour it makes my skin shiny & greasy looking. How is that possible when my skin is DESERT SAND DRY? Although it sucks as a finishing powder its pretty decent for setting my under eye concealer. Doesn't look or feel cakey/dry but that reason alone wouldn't make me re purchase cause I prefer my Ben Nye banana powder for setting foundation & concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 9/13/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG of powders! I stopped buying the loose version because I use it up so fast. I can go through a pot of this in a month. So I'm now I'm using the compact version and like it just as much, if not better. I work for BE and this is so far the only product I can't live without.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NehaN on 8/7/2012 11:26:00 AM more reviews by NehaN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty decent product - gives a nice matte finish and somehow minimizes my pores. BUT I wouldn't buy it again because I found out that the magical "MINERAL VEIL" is basically cornstarch + some additives. So I looked up how to make it online (google "homemade translucent face powder" or "homemade mineral veil") and just made it myself! I mixed a tbsp. of cornstarch, a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder (unsweetened) and just a smidge of nutmeg. Same results for pennies, NO weird chemicals I can't pronouce, and it smells better too! If this helped you please click the thumbs up button so more people see it, thanks.

P.S. Do not double-dip your brush into the powder if you want to avoid breakouts. What I do is tap a little powder onto my hand, dip my brush into that and then use any excess on my arms or wherever.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 8/5/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good mineral veil, but pretty standard as far as mineral veils go. I have bought large sizes 20-30gms off ebay for a much better price, I would never pay full retail for this. It does what it's supposed to do, set makeup and help maintain a matte complexion. But, you can get basically the same mineral veil or something a bit different for better prices, there are many competing products out there. It's really up to individual preference on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SisterRay8 on 7/25/2012 8:42:00 AM more reviews by SisterRay8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I think this is such a wallflower product but so useful to have in my make-up kit. It is great for it's use as a setting powder and for me makes my pores vanish, but that is not essentially why I like it so much! OK, I am a fan also of BE eye shadows, glimpses, shimmers etc. and also use some other similar mineral eyeshadows called Pure & Simple which I tend to select in more natural tones. At times I've purchased something and on using it discover it has more shimmer in it than I'd like for during the day but not to panic! After apply my shadow and before mascara I can neutralise the shimmer and indeed the intensity of ANY colour (I prefer a natural look) by applying a sweeping of Mineral Veil across my lids. It also means I don't have to check for and creasing or be constantly checking my appearance because there's so much else to do in life. Mineral Veil helps me forget about my make-up and wear it with confidence.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products