Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1072 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 10/28/2013 11:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product as it gives my makeup a soft focus effect. The downside is it doesn't keep my makeup staying matte for very long and also I think the packaging is terrible.



on 9/23/2013 4:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE setting my makeup with this product, even when I'm not using the bare minerals foundation. This product is so finely milled and sheer, that it sets without looking too powdery. Personally I think it reduces the appearance of my pores and blends my makeup into a soft finish. I also use a setting spray after this, but that's because my makeup needs to last 11+ hours, and I hate doing touch ups.

I don't have much experience with any setting powders from other brands, but I don't really feel the need to look elsewhere. This is one of bare mineral's products where they really know their stuff.


on 9/9/2013 3:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

You're either going to like mineral products or not. If they make you itch, that's because you're allergic to one of the ingredients used in it and therefore it's not for you. Fortunately, I have no problems any which way and I really like using the whole range as the minerals contain skincare benefits. This, along with the foundation, gives the skin a (non-glittery) sheen that you could only achieve with foundation, cover up and a highlighter. If you've got dry skin, just use the primer ( incl in the starter pack) and it won't cake. For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)


on 8/22/2013 11:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I dislike Bare Minerals with a vengeance. I bought the starter set and ended up not being able to use it at all because the bismuth oxychloride in the foundation and blush made my skin itch SO MUCH. Its the kinda itching that makes you wanna rip your entire face off. It was so bad I used the set like 3 times then I had to stop. The mineral veil thankfully does not have that evil ingredient so I've been using it but I have to say that, like the rest of the bare minerals products, this is a big dud.

It is a loose powder which costs a bomb but functions like how I would expect a mid to low-range powder to perform. I use it over my bb cream and before i put it on, my skin looks smooth and silky but once I put this on (with an ELF kabuki) my skin looks cakey, no matter how little I put on. The powder seems to really emphasize the little bumps and imperfections in my skin.

The only thing I like about this powder is that it gives a nice tan tint to my skin. This is really helpful when I try some samples or new creams that are too light for my skin. But other than that this loose powder is really not worth the price. I'm using it because I have it and its such a waste to throw it away but I can't wait to move on to something better! Avoid bare minerals like the plague!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2013 8:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Have repurchased this 3 times now. When applied over BM matte, it does improve the look of the foundation and extend wear without shine. I haven't tried it with any other type of foundation though. The reason I love this whole range is the short ingredients list, and many of them are less harmful than current alternatives on the market. I love that this is talc and fragrance free. Because my skin is v. oily, I sprinkle a tiny amount into the lid, mop it up with a velour puff, blend on back of my hand then press the puff to my skin. I'm NC20, and can get away with quite a thick coating of this lovely stuff. It gives a matte finish, but isn't as long lasting as Clarins loose powder, and it would be lovely if the packaging were improved to handle a powder puff/dispense less powder.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: GIves a very slight glow/sheen to the skin.


CONS If trying to use this to cover, I don't find it opaque enough. It's just too see-through to get much coverage.


APPLICATION TIPS; It's important to to the tap/swirl combination thing to apply. Look for applying Bare Escentuals on youtube.com if you need to.


on 8/4/2013 2:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't like heavy coverage, but am always drawn to powder because my skin is so oily. I use a CC cream every day and top it with a light dusting on this.

It's a dream! It stays put, doesn't cake up towards the end of the day or if I sweat and doesn't give you that weird cast you get from most powders.

Would definitely recommend.

PS I have very tan/olive skin and use the original product that super light (almost white) and it still looks great on my skin.


on 6/30/2013 11:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Have never understood popularity of this brand. Had to give a few items a go just to see what all the fuss is about. The "mineral veil" is a sparkling powder which, rather than making your skin look "dewy" and blemish free, makes it look like you have put gaudy sparkling powder on you face for some unknown reason. Maybe OK for old people. Most certainly not for men and for younger women who think they might use it as glitter highlighter for clubs, get another one. Like all bareminerals the pigment is very heavy. If you have to use it, brush virtually everything off the brush before applying


on 6/29/2013 1:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Very good product! Does what it has to do, even better than my fix+ spray from Mac. Make up stays in place!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2013 2:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really am not a fan of bare minerals loose powders this one makes my face look and feel weird a d is just not attractive on me whatsoever. Will jot be repurchasing


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
image

Beauty

84 reviews
Back to Top