Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(958 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elenaelena on 5/5/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by elenaelena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like this cleanser. I have bad acne, and this cleanser is NOT an acne treatment. But, it does a great job cleaning off dirt and makeup - the best makeup remover I've come across, including eye makeup. It also doesn't upset my sensitive skin at all because it is so gentle. Even though this stuff doesn't work wonders for me, I've used up around 10 bottles and probably won't be stopping soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Monseter on 4/28/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Monseter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

used this for a while and swore by it but after about a month or two, I started getting really deep cystic pimples. Not pretty. Not to mention that it didn't do absolutely anything to remove makeup and my face never felt clean!

It also dried out my face which in return made my face overproduce oil making me extra oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swatters on 4/8/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The bomb. I love this stuff. I am an avid eye makeup wearer and this takes off even the grubbiest waterproof gunk that I somehow manage to put all over myself on a daily basis. Does not sting my eyes one bit. Face washing time is not a time for flowery scents and all that crap. I don't care that it's unscented, i love it. Plus, I'm lazy so I don't want to use multiple products to remove, wash, etc. this cleanses skin AND removes makeup and that's all I have ever wanted! If this was sold in industrial 5-gallon buckets I would gladly purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IronPill on 4/6/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by IronPill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It looks like I'm also one of the few who do not like this. I bought it to try it out based on all the great reviews and how they say it doesn't overdry skin, but was apprehensive because of one top ingredient: sodium laureth sulphate. I don't think this ingredient is "bad" in general as some people do, but it seems to be bad for me - using a cleanser with this as a top ingredient without something else to "counteract" it, like glycerin, leaves my face feeling very tight. Which it turn always ends up with me having a grease pit of a face. And I could already tell with continual use, my face would become flaky and dry. And the fragrance was very strong, it lingered after I washed it off. I have sensitive skin but something like Olay's Total Effects Revitalizing Foaming Cleanser is gentler for me, my face still feels moisturized after.

And this is just like the baby wash. It's a rip off to buy this.

I have sensitive, acne prone skin. I will say I have dry or dry prone skin, even though my skin needs change with the seasons, because clearly these type of cleansers make my face super oily by drying it out.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erinetcetera on 4/2/2013 2:05:00 PM more reviews by erinetcetera

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I use this every day. Very gentle, doesn't dry out my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebum on 4/2/2013 2:07:00 AM more reviews by blondebum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I prefer this cleanser over cetaphil, simple, or neutrogena naturals. It truly is a basic cleanser that does what it claims. After washing i notice that all of my makeup is removed and my skin is ready for the second part of my routine: acne medicine and moisturizers. Because i am currently using a retinol at night i need a very gentle and simple face wash that does not strip my skin and keeps my ph levels normal. I highly encourage anyone with dry or acne prone skin to try this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taromo on 3/31/2013 3:11:00 AM more reviews by taromo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser!!! I had been using the Neutrogena bar soap for probably over 10 years and thought it was the best face soap out there. A few wks ago I bought a Clarisonic Mia and went to the store to get a liquid cleanser to use it with. I specifically went to get the Neutrogena liquid cleanser but the store didn't have any on the shelf so I spotted this cleanser and decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did because I love it!! I no longer use Neutrogena and don't plan on using any cleanser but this for now on. It's super gentle (unlike Neutrogena which is a little drying), cleans well and the price is fantastic. I highly recommend it especially to someone with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ibeforee on 3/31/2013 1:11:00 AM more reviews by ibeforee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite cleanser. I don't know why I always fish around for new cleansers, I always end up coming back to this. its cheap, no-fuss and does the job better than any others. I use it day and night with a little cleansing sponge and my face feels squeaky clean and most importantly it doesn't feel dry or sensitive after. If this is ever discontinued I will sue, I love it so!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stumbellina on 3/17/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by stumbellina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

HG face wash. Recommended by a dermatologist when I was 13 and has been my go-to ever since.

It's also my absolute favorite to use, for the same reasons (gentle, fragrance-free, etc) for homemade makeup brush cleaner.

BUT,I will say, as a little tip for others with very sensitive and acne prone skin, that what makes my skin by far the happiest: water. Just water. I only use this, or any cleanser, once in awhile, when I really have a particularly thick layer of face-paint to take off. Just a little bit does the trick, and I mostly use it for my eyemakeup.

If your skin breaks out easily (and its not hormonally related)-- try cutting down on product use across the board. No masks, pore strips, treatments, toners, moisturizers, primers, etc.. Try to use as few chemicals as possible, only use natural/organic products, and most of all just let your skin breathe. Just as an experiment... For me, it has been the best thing I have ever done for my super-duper chemically sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KLovesMac on 3/17/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by KLovesMac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wonderful cleanser. I alternate using the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser with this one. The Purpose cleanser is ideal for giving the face a deep clean without stripping it and causing any tightness. This is soap-free, which I prefer. This cleanser is soft and gentle yet highly effective - two thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products