Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(963 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Wopbopaloobop on 8/21/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Wopbopaloobop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My daughter and I started using this face wash about 2 months ago and we love it! My daughter who is prone to acne no longer has flare ups on her forehead and other then an occasional pimple her face is finally clear. We both have sensitive skin and this face wash gently washes our faces and does not dry out and it works great at removing all of my makeup including waterproof mascara. I've repurchased this three times now and I can't imagine my life without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ek1265 on 8/10/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by ek1265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is sensitive from using Retin-A to treat my acne. Face washes I've tried in the past usually burn my skin. This one is soo gentle! I love it, it doesn't irritate my skin at all. It foams up really well. It works quite well at removing my foundation and non-waterproof mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxollt on 6/16/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by xoxollt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Have been using this cleanser since the 8th grade. Absolutely love it. Removes all of my makeup (voluminous mascara, mac concealers, eyeshadow primer, the works!) I always have a bottle at the sink, in the shower, and at the boyfriend's house! I will never go without it!! I love that it is unscented, color-free, gentle, removes makeup, doesn't dry out my skin, doesn't leave anything behind, has a pump top.. Everything about it! Works perfectly with my Clarisonic. Side note... Manufacturers add fragrance to products to cover the scent of the ingredients. So if anyone feels this has a "scent" that's likely what it is :) Simply has a clean "soap" smell to me! Love this stuff!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cookies101 on 6/8/2013 1:45:00 AM more reviews by Cookies101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This product is great! It cleared my acne and eczema!! Both balanced my combo skin!! I've never seen my skin so flawless!!! Your skin will clear up in days but your skin will take like 2 weeks to balance out while using this product...skin looks great...all of purposes stuff is great! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apkota on 6/2/2013 8:24:00 PM more reviews by apkota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the big 12 Oz bottle at Wal Mart for less than $10. I use two pumps with baby washcloths to cleanse my skin. I stray periodically, but always return to this cleanser. You really can't go wrong with this, it lathers really nicely and removes all make up. I can get it on my eyes without any problems. With all that said, this does not dry my skin. I have tried many creamy cleansers because of my combo/ dry skin and can't do it. I have to have lather. My complexion has never been better. The scent is pleasant, just like Johnson's Head to Toe. I realize this is made by Johnson and Johnson. Many people would argue that the Baby Head to Toe is the same formulation, perhaps in some people's eyes? I happen to have tried the Head to Toe on my face and it tends to dry my face more than the Purpose. I look at my bottle of Purpose and always think to myself, "Why do I keep straying?" I will continue to use this cleanser as it fits all my needs...lathering, pleasant scent, no breakouts, complete make up removal, & best of all; never over drying. Gotta try this with a baby washcloth as well, it makes it a gentle exfoliator!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/5/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Purpose wash is one of the best inexpensive face washes that i have found on the market. Not only is it super gentle on my skin, it helps with psoriasis patches that i have my cheek. Most face washes aggravate my skin and make the psoriasis worse and more noticeable. With just a few washes i have noticed a change in my skin texture and the psoriasis is slowly calming down and fading away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elenaelena on 5/5/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by elenaelena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like this cleanser. I have bad acne, and this cleanser is NOT an acne treatment. But, it does a great job cleaning off dirt and makeup - the best makeup remover I've come across, including eye makeup. It also doesn't upset my sensitive skin at all because it is so gentle. Even though this stuff doesn't work wonders for me, I've used up around 10 bottles and probably won't be stopping soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Monseter on 4/28/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Monseter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

used this for a while and swore by it but after about a month or two, I started getting really deep cystic pimples. Not pretty. Not to mention that it didn't do absolutely anything to remove makeup and my face never felt clean!

It also dried out my face which in return made my face overproduce oil making me extra oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swatters on 4/8/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The bomb. I love this stuff. I am an avid eye makeup wearer and this takes off even the grubbiest waterproof gunk that I somehow manage to put all over myself on a daily basis. Does not sting my eyes one bit. Face washing time is not a time for flowery scents and all that crap. I don't care that it's unscented, i love it. Plus, I'm lazy so I don't want to use multiple products to remove, wash, etc. this cleanses skin AND removes makeup and that's all I have ever wanted! If this was sold in industrial 5-gallon buckets I would gladly purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IronPill on 4/6/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by IronPill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It looks like I'm also one of the few who do not like this. I bought it to try it out based on all the great reviews and how they say it doesn't overdry skin, but was apprehensive because of one top ingredient: sodium laureth sulphate. I don't think this ingredient is "bad" in general as some people do, but it seems to be bad for me - using a cleanser with this as a top ingredient without something else to "counteract" it, like glycerin, leaves my face feeling very tight. Which it turn always ends up with me having a grease pit of a face. And I could already tell with continual use, my face would become flaky and dry. And the fragrance was very strong, it lingered after I washed it off. I have sensitive skin but something like Olay's Total Effects Revitalizing Foaming Cleanser is gentler for me, my face still feels moisturized after.

And this is just like the baby wash. It's a rip off to buy this.

I have sensitive, acne prone skin. I will say I have dry or dry prone skin, even though my skin needs change with the seasons, because clearly these type of cleansers make my face super oily by drying it out.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products