Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(952 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ibeforee on 3/31/2013 1:11:00 AM more reviews by ibeforee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite cleanser. I don't know why I always fish around for new cleansers, I always end up coming back to this. its cheap, no-fuss and does the job better than any others. I use it day and night with a little cleansing sponge and my face feels squeaky clean and most importantly it doesn't feel dry or sensitive after. If this is ever discontinued I will sue, I love it so!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stumbellina on 3/17/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by stumbellina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

HG face wash. Recommended by a dermatologist when I was 13 and has been my go-to ever since.

It's also my absolute favorite to use, for the same reasons (gentle, fragrance-free, etc) for homemade makeup brush cleaner.

BUT,I will say, as a little tip for others with very sensitive and acne prone skin, that what makes my skin by far the happiest: water. Just water. I only use this, or any cleanser, once in awhile, when I really have a particularly thick layer of face-paint to take off. Just a little bit does the trick, and I mostly use it for my eyemakeup.

If your skin breaks out easily (and its not hormonally related)-- try cutting down on product use across the board. No masks, pore strips, treatments, toners, moisturizers, primers, etc.. Try to use as few chemicals as possible, only use natural/organic products, and most of all just let your skin breathe. Just as an experiment... For me, it has been the best thing I have ever done for my super-duper chemically sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KLovesMac on 3/17/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by KLovesMac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wonderful cleanser. I alternate using the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser with this one. The Purpose cleanser is ideal for giving the face a deep clean without stripping it and causing any tightness. This is soap-free, which I prefer. This cleanser is soft and gentle yet highly effective - two thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DLYNN on 2/5/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by DLYNN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am probably the exception to the overall positive impression of this product but my experience came about the hard way, unfortunately. After sticking with this product for nearly 8 years thanks to a dermatologist's recommendation, I can no longer recommend Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash. To its credit, it lathers well, doesn't overly dry the skin (if you rinse really well), a tiny bit goes a long way (takes forever to work through a single bottle) and it does not have a strong perfume. Still it is not considered a true soap --- which is important to note because genuine soap kills germs. The problem, for me, turned out to be the packaging. Unlike the shampoo bottles that have a pump dispenser, the one the manufacturer uses on this product is ineffective at keeping air and water out of the product. Between the packaging and the gentle-as-water formula, the product is difficult to keep pure. I kept a bottle off to the side on a rack inside my shower and because I never really noticed any water buildup in the product it took a long time to connect the dots between Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash and my particularly problematic skin at the time. (Sufficient "issues" to keep my dermatologist busy, which if I were cynical might have been the point!) Specifically, I was constantly frustrated by the fact that my skin was not only breaking out for hormonal reasons but doing so just about any time of month, especially behind my ears (I began to suffer from painful boils --- as soon as one healed another popped up!). It wasn't until I the manufacturer began printing a warning on the label suggesting that the contents may become contaminated under certain circumstances that I realized I was slathering unwanted "live cultures" on my face (not exactly probiotics!). Switching to alternative products --- literally any other face wash but for this --- helped me clear up my skin. That was five years ago and I haven't touched a Purpose product since.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 2/4/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had been using this cleanser for a couple years until I found something better. I have sensitive, acne-prone skin and I was trying to use something that would not irritate it. Well, this was supposed to be a gentle cleanser with the same pH level as water. If you take a look at the ingredients, it is hard to believe that this is a gentle cleanser. This product is chock full of things people with sensitive skin do not need on your face(sodium laureth sulfate, quaternium-15). At the time I was using this, I did not know that. Now that I know this, I only use this cleanser to wash my makeup brushes. My skin used to feel a bit tight when I would use this cleanser. In addition, I noticed no real difference in my skin during the time I was using this cleanser. Since then, I have changed over to L'Occitane Olive Tree Organic Radiance Cleanser and my skin feels much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 2/4/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Years ago, when I first started seeing a dermatologist, I was recommended this cleanser to use. It has never irritated my skin. It is one of the best cleansers that you can use if you have combination/oiy skin. It is works pretty well at keeping my skin oil-free for long periods of time. And, it is a pretty okay makeup remover as well.

This cleanser is totally compatible for use with Retin-A (which I plan to use forever). Also, it can be used after getting peels done too. And, you can readily pick it up at any of your local Wal-Mart, Walgreens, CVS, etc, stores.

The only thing that I would change about this product is that it has added fragrance to it. Even though it is a very gentle cleanser, I don't feel that fragrance is needed when it comes to a product that you use or put on your face.

Since my initial use of this product, I have tried other cleansers on my face. But, this cleanser is one that I do like to come back to time and time again. As, it really performs well for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yelloats on 2/3/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by yelloats

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this stuff is seriously as gentle as water. i fell on my face and had lik totally ripped up my skin. was so nervous to have to clean it and this only stung as much as the water did. amazing, truly for sensitive skin. my face still feels clean and i cud go w/o moisturizer after, very non-drying. great stuff! recommend for ppl with problemed skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keepitreal on 2/3/2013 3:53:00 PM more reviews by keepitreal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This did not irritate my hypersensitive skin or break me out, but it dried my combination skin out majorly (flakies and all). Discontinued facial use and now use it to clean my makeup brushes...gets the job done in that respect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 1/18/2013 6:40:00 PM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was previously using the cetaphil gentle cleansing wash, but it broke me out soooo badly (castor oil! Why?!) so I decided to switch to this. My skin is super sensitive AND acne prone, which I think is the worst combination ever. It loves benzyl peroxcide, but only on active blemishes, otherwise my excema gets aggravated. This says it is 'as gentle as water', which I doubt. It removes my makeup scarily well for something that doesn't leave my face feeling dead, dry, or tight, and I think this is helping clear up my blemishes. It's super gentle, so I think that as long as it doesn't break me out I'll continue to repurchase. I do think that if your skin is on the drier side, this would leave it feeling tight. But for me, it works nicely. Also, it doesn't make my skin red when I use it like most cleansers do. This is definitely a nice cleanser....fingers crossed I won't need to update about this breaking me out.
UPDATE 4/6/13: I am now on my third bottle of this cleanser, and I just love it. It's so gentle, but it removes all of my makeup in one go. It's just so great for my skin...it was exactly what I needed. My skin is now seriously improving. I had pretty bad acne when I began using this, but now, with the help of a prescription, my skin is so much better. I cannot reccommend this enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Burbanosky on 1/17/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Burbanosky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

One of my friends told me about this cleanser and it did not disappoint. I keep one by my sink and one in the shower. Very gentle, not a strong Odor and I love that it doesn't burn my eyes. There is no reason to try any other for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products