Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

4.1

975 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate(surfactant), Sodium Laureth Sulfate(detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine(gentle surfactant), PEG 150 Distearate(thickening agent), Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate(mild surfactant), Fragrance, Quaternium 15(formaldehyde-releasing preservative), Tetrasodium EDTA(chelating agent).


on 11/26/2013 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sadly, this has happened to me a few times...
Using Purpose: OMG! My skin looks great! I should start washing with another cleanser to help combat aging/large pores/redness/something in a cuter package!
Using anything else: (skin massacre)
Using Purpose again: OMG! My skin looks great!
Repeat, ad nauseum.

For whatever reason, when I use this cleanser my extremely acne prone (cystic) and sensitive skin behaves. This cleanser does not make my skin perfect my any means but it is definitely the best I've found for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/1/2013 10:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan. For a gentle cleanser I would prefer cetaphil or cerave. I didn't find this too effective but I gave it a three because a lot of people I know do really like it


on 10/28/2013 11:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fantastic facial wash. I haven't had a breakout since I started using this about a month ago. It foams nicely, takes off every trace of makeup, and is pretty cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2013 9:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent face wash, I found it at my dermatologist's office in a sample. It's really a lot better for me in the summer when I get all greasy during the day, but it's not too drying now that it's winter (at least, not yet). Looking at the ingredients I do like how I recognize everything I see, and that there aren't many...only rant about it is that Clean & Clear's Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash is identical and costs less.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2013 1:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have bounced around several cleansers but return to this one or clean & clear sensitive (same ingredients) all the time. I buy whichever one is on sale.

Basic no frills light foaming cleanser removes make up without stripping skin. Packaging is fine. I keep the large pump bottle in the shower and decant some into a foaming pump and keep it by the sink, so a little does go a long way.


on 10/2/2013 6:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

The cleanser that I've used for years was discontinued. I picked out a new cleanser, and since I have breakouts once in a while - I decided to try one with drying ingredients for acne.

OMG...The skin on my face went crazy - it was a dry, flaky, burning, red mess. I normally don't have really sensitive skin...but this time I made my skin really mad.

I remembered that my Mum used to use Purpose for her sensitive skin for many years, so I picked this up. It is so gentle and easy on the skin - no dyes, scents etc. I love that it has a pump too. My skin settled down within a few days of using this. Even though my skin is oily, this is doing a good job at removing the oil without being as drying as my old cleanser.

I will repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2013 12:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this product for the last 10 years. It was recommended to me by my dermatologist at the time, due to a heavy duty acne medication regimen I was starting. I've been using it ever since. Its great at removing makeup and for regular washing. Your skin feels soft and clean and never dried out. Highly recommended!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2013 11:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great product! Very gentle and thorough cleanser. Does not dry out the skin and will remove most makeup. Comes in a pump, which is very convenient. Have used when I needed gentle cleansing for at least 10 years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2013 10:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this on my long quest for a cleanser that would not irritate my super-sensitive, rosacea skin. From the outside, it looked like it had a good shot. But after using it just once, my skin was dry and irritated, with lovely redness and bumps. I eventually discovered CeraVe foaming cleanser, and that's become my HG...no irritation whatsoever with that one.


on 9/12/2013 8:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my go to cleanser. It works great. Effective, leaves your skin clean. Its just an overall great cleanser that works great for sensitive skin. When I'm wearing a lot of makeup it does do a good job to clean it. I usually use a pre-cleansing oil just to make sure I get it completely off, but it goes a good job on its own. It does have a scent, but its so mild you can barely smell it. Never drys out my skin and really is as gentle as water.


Back to Top