Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 8/5/2014 6:10:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

If your skin is normal this is fine. Terrible for oily or acne skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annaa7 on 8/5/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

No, no, no stay away from this foundation if you

1) actually want to cover something
2) have oily skin
3) have common sense

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 akPhilly on 8/4/2014 6:22:00 PM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I know some people rave about this foundation, but I didn't like it at all. I think that for one, it just wasn't right for my skin type. I have rather dry skin, so full coverage matte foundations don't tend to work out that great for me, & just didn't glide on very nicely. But I couldn't even sheer it out or mix it with moisturizer, because it was really orangey. I got the palest shade they had, the Porcelain Ivory, & it was still way too dark as well as orangey toned. I'm pale, but not THAT pale, so I was surprised. It definitely appears alot lighter than it actually is when you're looking at it through the glass jar. Personally, I like the Dream Mousse liquid one that comes in the pump bottle much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AlexandraK123 on 8/4/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by AlexandraK123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i purchased this product as i liked the colors the foundation came in. i used a normal foundation brush to apply the mousse it did feel very matte on my face but i disliked the texture and the way my skin looked with the foundation it was very thick and didn't last very long on my skin. at the end of the day as a girl from Liverpool i obviously want to be glam all day and not have my makeup become patchy and look like i have a skin disease within twenty minutes of wearing the product. i gave the packaging a one because i dont like the thought of a pot of makeup i put the brush on my face then back in the pot although i keep my face clean you dont know what germs are around. i gave the price a one even tho this product wasnt overally expensive it retails for around 7.96 and i think thats too expensive for such a bad product xoxox

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupobsessed06 on 8/4/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by makeupobsessed06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation works well for my skin even though I have quite dry skin. The only problem I have with it is that I don't really like the feel of putting it on my face with a beauty blender, but that's just me. The finish it leaves on my face is really nice and I would recommend this product to people with oily skin as you don't need a matte-ifying powder to set it, just a regular one would do. Overall I am quite pleased with this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KatieMakeupLady on 7/31/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by KatieMakeupLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this foundation since it came out years ago and it is still one of my favorites! It has a nice fluffy texture and a very matte finish. I like to use this product on my T-zone and under my eyes to cover dark circles as it can be fairly full-coverage when built up. I don't typically use this all over my face as the formula can be drying on the parts of my face that are not typically oily, like my cheeks. I love using this in combination with Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse. I am not a huge fan of the packaging because you have to keep putting your fingers in it but there isn't really another way to package it to maintain the whipped texture so I have just accepted that fact. Also, the lid is slightly tapered so it is difficult to stack in your makeup drawer since it isn't flat on the top of the lid (I have it in several shades in my makeup stash!) Overall, I like the coverage and shade range, the matte texture is great for oily or combination skin types, and it is fairy inexpensive at the drug store, which is always a plus when you're looking for something to wear every day (they used to make a blush and bronzer version which was also equally great but I haven't seen them in a long while, boooo).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kattay on 7/30/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by kattay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh. This stuff is the worst I've ever used. First, the packaging isn't that great but whatever. The product itself is just awful. It felt so greasy and heavy on my skin and looked completely orange. If you have fair skin (15 in MUFE) pass on this. Unless you want to look like an Oompa Loompa.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rainbowliquor on 7/29/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Rainbowliquor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a great foundation! I have been using this for a week now and could not be happier. I was previously using Maybelline Superstay 24h foundation before this, and I loved how matte it was and the staying power; but was unhappy it was oxidizing and I wanted something that looked less heavy. I found it! This is a soft whipped mousey powder foundation that is shockingly completely matte! I have used Lancome's Magique Matte (also a loreal brand) in the past and hated how heavy and wet it was when it went on. This is the complete opposite. Great coverage, stays matte about 4 hours before needing a touch up and feather light on the skin. The color does not oxidize and there are. 12 color choices. Great shades for yellow, pink, and peach undertones. So satisfied with this foundation and only $10 at CVS! I chose shade medium 2 pure beige, very pink and perfect for my skin. I found for the amount of coverage I need to hide my rosace that it applies best with a flat powder brush. I'm using the put minerals brush at the moment. Will repurchase forever. Hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JALT on 7/28/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by JALT

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use foundation to simply even out my skin tone and cover up minor imperfections and most people think I don't wear any makeup at all. I find liquid foundation to be extremely messy and hard to work with, so I always use a cream-to-powder foundation. I apply Dream Matte Mousse (shade: Light 2) with a sponge for light coverage and I never feel like I have too much makeup on. It goes on heavier and smoother when newly purchased/opened and then I find myself having to apply more product to the sponge once the pot is about half empty.

The only drawback is that I find that I discard the last third of the product every time because it no longer performs/covers in the same way, but I re-purchase the brand over and over again. This is my favourite! It's smooth, easy to apply, and lasts all day on my normal skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BelleWoods on 7/28/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by BelleWoods

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm here to warn you NOT to buy this foundation! I purchased it years ago, and admittedly it was stupid of someone with reasonably dry skin to purchase this foundation, but that wasn't the main problem I had! Firstly, the packaging is basically inviting bacteria and contamination, as well as oxidisation. It's difficult to get out the amount you want too. Minus the novelty of poking it and it being a mousse, there is absolutely nothing I liked about this foundation. Firstly, the colour range was appalling, with most of the choices having an orange undertone. Next, this product simply refuses to blend, and therefore it's difficult to get the amount of coverage you want, plus you're likely to end up looking either patchy or cakey. This foundation is horribly drying... It doesn't absorb oil, it simply dries out your skin- I know people with incredibly oily skin who still reported the same issue. I also had a lot more breakouts with this product. I detest this product with a passion, big waste of money, I wouldn't even accept this product for free.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products