Maybelline • Cover Stick • Concealers

rated 3.3(416 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 fresh1fierce1feminine on 7/6/2013 2:25:00 AM more reviews by fresh1fierce1feminine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I try so hard to like this concealer, but I cant! Theres a few thing I dislike about this concealer.

1. So flaky! No matter how oily your skin may be, if you try try and cover a blemish with this, it will make it look both cakey and flakey! Not good for under eyes!

2. Crayon-Wax like texture! It did not blend easily and i found it very hard to cover a bigger-blemishes! When I looked in natural lighting in a mirror all the spots I applied this to was hardly blended! No matter how thoroughly I blended!

My natural shade for concealer is very very pale and I thought I went a shade ABOVE my skin pigment, but this was STILL too pale, almost halo like around my blemishes, not good.

I will not buy this again;

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maybom on 6/17/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by maybom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I WANT to like this concealer but I just can't. The only things I liked about it were the price and the lipstick-like shape of the product which makes it easy to apply. Otherwise, it was too dry and cakey, not very blendable or buildable, and worse of all it DIDN'T COVER DIDDLY SQUAT! It just kinds of...smears itself..over my dark spots and under my eyes where it just cakes and emphasizes my fine lines. The packaging brags that it's the "#1 concealer in North America" but take that with a grain of salt. I found this concealer very ineffective.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 leighcfish on 6/13/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by leighcfish

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This is kind of a piece of junk. I'm not sure why I haven't thrown it out yet. It comes in a tube like a lipstick so it's really too fat at the tip to apply it the way I really want to. It's also very thick, settles in creases, and happens to not at all be the color of my skin or foundation. If you have a zit this is not effective in any way, shape, or form, and in fact it will make you look like one of those girls who tried to cover her zits but did a bad job. When I do have problem spots I usually just use more of my foundation on those areas and that works much better. Also if you tried this on your under eye it'd be a disaster because of the consistency. Fail.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StyleInCMajor on 5/27/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by StyleInCMajor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use the green shade of this product every day and LOVE it! I apply a primer, then streak this across the particularly red parts of my face (I have acne marks and redness all over). Then I blend with my finger and apply foundation and concealer. Really nuetralizes redness! Great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 5/20/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I use this concealer exclusively for two reasons: Ease of use (it's in lipstick form with a pointy tip, so it can be dotted under eyes without a mirror) and opacity (it really COVERS). The product also contains considerably more yellow pigment than most other drugstore brands, whose "light" shades tend to be peachy or pink. This works well for me; I've got decidedly warm-toned skin and deep undereye shadows to cover, on top of that.

However, I'm not crazy about the shade selection. First of all, the fair/light shades in this line are positively GHOSTLY. While I ordinarily use the 2nd or 3rd lightest shade in a foundation line (for example, CoverGirl Classic Ivory and L'Oreal True Match W3), I had to go all the way to "medium beige" in the Cover Stick line to find a shade that doesn't look like chalk. And even there, the shade is just a bit too light (but the next shade is too deep). I compensate for this by applying very lightly-- which luckily I can do, since the stick is so darn pigmented.

So, not a HG exactly, but the best I can reasonably get my hands on and it does the job. Be warned: Purchase one or two shades darker than you think you need. This line runs very, very light!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rolltide17 on 5/6/2013 3:01:00 AM more reviews by rolltide17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great for spot blemishes so one tube will last forever. The tube will start looking kind of nasty after a while though, but that shouldn't affect the product itself. It requires a lot of patting to blend and it's impossible to get your perfect shade. Overall, I would not use it unless I absolutely have to but it does do its job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erilin87 on 4/25/2013 1:53:00 PM more reviews by erilin87

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Very good concealer. I find that if you apply it straight to the area you want to conceal it tends to be hard to blend and look cakey. But if you apply it on the back of your hand first then apply it to your undereye or blemish it conceals it very well. I'm already on my second!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SakuraMasons on 4/20/2013 7:33:00 PM more reviews by SakuraMasons

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For a drug store product, this is good! But i didnt feel it was good for my skin. Plus, it didnt 'cover' my imperfections well! Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marshiemallow14 on 4/10/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by marshiemallow14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I found this product was very cakey, and made my skin oily. It made me breakout a lot after use. It's effective, but it was kind of gross feeling. Its easy to use, and the container makes it easy to store and take around but it did leave me feeling uncomfortable when it was on, and made breakouts even worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yoshiii on 3/20/2013 3:13:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the green coverstick, since green is best to hide redness. I would not recommend this product to those with dry skin, as the product is very, very cakey and does make dry skin look even more "cracked' (and in green -- eek!).


I think this product is for spot application for blemishes, and not so much larger areas to cover up. You do have to constantly pat it with skin to blend it in -- I do not recommend using a brush, as I tried with numerous types of brushes, and none could tone down the green color enough.

I probably won't buy again and will look out for another green-tone concealer, preferably in liquid form.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products