Sebastian Shaper Plus Hairspray

3.8

161 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/8/2009 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My mom got me into this product and I absoultely LOVE IT. When I do run out of it and am forced to use something else for the time being, it sucks. I have not found any other hairspray that I have loved like this one. It has a great even spray, (smells kidof like beer) has great hold and lasts for most of the day. I curl my hair with a curling iron alot, so I use this product before i curl my hair. I give each section of hair that I'm curling a good spray. Once I am done curling my entire head I give it all one more good spray. After a few minutes I go back and "finger" my hair to help loosen the curl. Once it is how I want it to look I give it one last finishing spray. As my mother says, I am a hairspray junkie, but I can't help it, I love this product! I will definatly keep buying it and recommend it for others.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

HG hairspray!!! This is a working spray, can be used as a finishing spray but if you want a super firm hold, use the mega hold or something stronger. Shaper Plus rinses out with just water, does not build up, is totally brushable, great for working and styling both curly and straight styles. I use it when flat ironing, and before using a curling iron for updo's. It holds all day, won't be sticky, wont dull or flake. It dries quickly. Has a distinct scent that is neither unpleasant nor especially pleasant, but does not linger. The nozzle does clog on occasion, but can be freed up with a rinse under hot water or using tweezers or a pin to pull of the gunk. I have used this (and many many others) for years and ALWAYS go back to Shaper Plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2009 8:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

UGH! This was recommended to me by my stylist. I have no idea why. I like a really firm hold finishing spray. This smells awful and really really weighs my hair down. By the end of the day it looks as if I didn't wash my hair that day. I have lots and lots of fine straight hair. I flat iron and finish with spray. I cannot imagine what the draw to this product is. It makes my hair look dirty and flat by the end of the day. Would not recommend or repurchase.


on 4/17/2009 11:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the most versatile hairspray ever. I use it to prepare my hair for styling by spraying on my brush before straitening or curling. If I am going for a style with movement I will spray this all over and then brush through; it is a great humidity fighter. I can also use this to strongly hold an updo for the whole night; fights wind well too. My mom used this when I was younger and I always thought she was crazy. She would stalk the salon sales trying to get a deal. Now I follow in her footsteps. The price is steep but not so much that it has made me change brands. The biggest downfall for me is the smell, if you accidentally inhale it you will see what I mean; I learned this the hard way as a kids when my mom was spraying her hair.


on 2/12/2009 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have straight, fine, thin hair and I find this hairspray to work quite well in it. I can still run my fingers through my hair without a gross, stiff or sticky feeling (provided I don't spray too much). With my hair type it's best to use aerosol hairspray (sorry mother nature) and it's pretty hard to find aerosol hairspray bottles that are small enough to handle easily. This one isn't too bad but I would still prefer a smaller bottle. Volume wise, it holds my hair up for most of the day, but not all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2008 8:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my HG hairspray for about 10 years now. I like to back comb the top of my hair a little to give it some volume and this spray is just awesome. It disperses in a superfine mist, doesn't weigh your hair down and the hold stays strong throughout the day. Basically, you don't have to touch your hair after applying it for hours. Occasionally the spray nozzle will become clogged with plastic-like dried spray residue, but I have found a no-fail way to unclog it...take tweezers and grab the residue and gently pull it away from the nozzle. This is much more effective for me than traditional methods like holding the top under hot water, etc.


on 12/10/2008 12:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think it really does the trick! Will definitely continue to use it. However i don't do my hair a lot. The great thing is that they have small packages.


on 12/4/2008 3:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

One word: gross! I do not understand the hype or love for this product. It dulls out my hair that is normally shiny and is quite sticky. I have fine but thick straight, healthy hair.


on 10/27/2008 2:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this for free with my Ulta rewards today.. It's on sale now for $5.99 though, so stock up if you need it. I didn't know it was being discontinued.... They are selling the 30% more free cans. Which, it's a huge can of hairspray and I don't even use hairspray that often. 13.8 oz. I think you all should go to Ulta asap. :) When I called... they said the new product to replace it is shaper fierce. I saw that there too, but it didn't stand out like this size can.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2008 12:27:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

SAD NEWS:

Sebastion has discountiued Shaper Plus
It was a Marketing decision is what they told me...
If you dont believe me call Sebastian Customer Service
1-800-935-5273




Top Rated Sebastian Products

image

Drench

35 reviews
image

Potion 9

437 reviews
Back to Top