Sebastian • Shaper Plus Hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.8(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 prettyr on 4/17/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by prettyr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the most versatile hairspray ever. I use it to prepare my hair for styling by spraying on my brush before straitening or curling. If I am going for a style with movement I will spray this all over and then brush through; it is a great humidity fighter. I can also use this to strongly hold an updo for the whole night; fights wind well too. My mom used this when I was younger and I always thought she was crazy. She would stalk the salon sales trying to get a deal. Now I follow in her footsteps. The price is steep but not so much that it has made me change brands. The biggest downfall for me is the smell, if you accidentally inhale it you will see what I mean; I learned this the hard way as a kids when my mom was spraying her hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ZOONZOON on 2/12/2009 12:54:00 PM more reviews by ZOONZOON

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have straight, fine, thin hair and I find this hairspray to work quite well in it. I can still run my fingers through my hair without a gross, stiff or sticky feeling (provided I don't spray too much). With my hair type it's best to use aerosol hairspray (sorry mother nature) and it's pretty hard to find aerosol hairspray bottles that are small enough to handle easily. This one isn't too bad but I would still prefer a smaller bottle. Volume wise, it holds my hair up for most of the day, but not all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkdallas on 12/14/2008 8:47:00 PM more reviews by mkdallas

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my HG hairspray for about 10 years now. I like to back comb the top of my hair a little to give it some volume and this spray is just awesome. It disperses in a superfine mist, doesn't weigh your hair down and the hold stays strong throughout the day. Basically, you don't have to touch your hair after applying it for hours. Occasionally the spray nozzle will become clogged with plastic-like dried spray residue, but I have found a no-fail way to unclog it...take tweezers and grab the residue and gently pull it away from the nozzle. This is much more effective for me than traditional methods like holding the top under hot water, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HappyPretty on 12/10/2008 12:47:00 AM more reviews by HappyPretty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think it really does the trick! Will definitely continue to use it. However i don't do my hair a lot. The great thing is that they have small packages.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jawbreaker on 12/4/2008 3:43:00 AM more reviews by jawbreaker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

One word: gross! I do not understand the hype or love for this product. It dulls out my hair that is normally shiny and is quite sticky. I have fine but thick straight, healthy hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 10/27/2008 2:30:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this for free with my Ulta rewards today.. It's on sale now for $5.99 though, so stock up if you need it. I didn't know it was being discontinued.... They are selling the 30% more free cans. Which, it's a huge can of hairspray and I don't even use hairspray that often. 13.8 oz. I think you all should go to Ulta asap. :) When I called... they said the new product to replace it is shaper fierce. I saw that there too, but it didn't stand out like this size can.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moda1277 on 10/27/2008 12:27:00 PM more reviews by moda1277

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

SAD NEWS:

Sebastion has discountiued Shaper Plus
It was a Marketing decision is what they told me...
If you dont believe me call Sebastian Customer Service
1-800-935-5273

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vflorestano on 9/29/2008 11:30:00 PM more reviews by vflorestano

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Only hairspray I've used for past 10 years or so. As others say, nozzle will clog over time but just rinse with hot water. I have long, layered hair and this is the only stuff that really holds and gives me big volume at the crown, even with so much hair! Smells nice and never flakes or feels sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gursk on 9/26/2008 3:06:00 AM more reviews by gursk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Great hold, no flakes. Nozzle clogs easily, but can be rinsed with hot water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarbrokespice on 8/16/2008 7:42:00 PM more reviews by sugarbrokespice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've decided that this is the only hair spray that I'm going to use from now on.

I used it exclusively for months and months, then, in an attempt to save money, I started buying cheaper brands such as Nexus and VO5. I'll never stray again!! There is no other hair spray that works as well on my hair as Shaper Plus (or Original Shaper or Shaper Zero G, for that matter).

My hair just doesn't look right if I don't finish with this stuff. The hold is amazing and lasts all day. It's never sticky or crunchy. It somehow manages to look natural yet hold my style perfectly. Definitely the best of the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products