Neutrogena Make-up Remover Cleansing Towelettes

3.9

409 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Isostearyl Palmitate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hexylene Glycol, PEG 4 Laurate, PEG 6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Sucrose Cocoate, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Fragrance


on 6/9/2014 5:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

These makeup remover wipes are pretty amazing. I've tried many other brands and these are the ones that require the least amount of tugging and pulling, especially in the eye area.
It removed even my waterproof eyeliner and mascara.
The smell of them are heavenly; clean and refreshing.

However, I didn't give these 5 lippies as it left an oily residue on my skin and I usually have to wipe it off. And since I have oily/combo skin, the oiliness was a no-no for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/13/2014 4:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This, by far, has been the WORST make up removing product I've ever purchased... First of all, it doesn't remove my waterproof mascara AT ALL, as it claims on the package. It stings my eye area and leaves this really gross feeling wet film after I use it... And the smell was horrible.
I tried out this product because I had heard a lot of raving reviews and recommendations for it.
Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2014 9:59:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

These towelettes are heaven sent. They remove all of my makeup- eye and face- with no irritation or redness. I have very sensitive skin and eyes due to rosacea and have had no problems. Highly recommended.


on 2/4/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not great at removing waterproof mascara. Smell horrible and leave a residue. Went in the garbage. Do not buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2014 6:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So far so good. They smell good too! Takes off my "budgeproof" makeup with ease, it's pretty gentle. It does leave a residue, so I plan on only using these before I follow up with a cleanser, but in a pinch these will get you out of a bind... and your makeup.


on 1/21/2014 9:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I probably shouldn't be writing a review on this product, as I have only used them once and it was many many years ago. Therefore, I can't write a very thorough review about them. However, I do distinctly remember one thing I didn't like about them, and that was the fact that they made my skin feel really greasy and gross after using them. I have really oily skin as well, so it was not great. I can't comment on how well they removed my make-up, as I don't remember. But, I am not willing to repurchase them to find out, as my memory of the way they made my skin feel afterwards is enough to make me not want to buy them again. I am currently using the Biore make-up removing towelettes, and they are my favourite make-up wipes ever (so far).


on 1/19/2014 11:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off, thank you Neutrogena for making these wipes. These are the only wipes I ever use to remove my make-up. Now these things actually work! They remove just about every trace of make up, I even use them to remove my eye make-up and it seems to do just fine and I wear waterproof of everything, so that says a lot. They are soft and have never irritated my skin and they always stay moist even though I am not a fan of the packaging. I know they do have like the tiny bucket of these, but it's too pricey for me so i just stick to these re-fill packets. Anyway, I do love these wipes. Now I have tried some of the other Neutrogena wipes, I believe the pink grapefruit and the night calming one, but I like the originals better. I do want to try the deep clean oil-free ones, so if anybody has tried those, let me know please.

Overall very satisfied with this product and will continue to buy them.

Oh and I use this as my first step too my night routine, meaning I do use a cleanser, toner, and moisturizer. So I don't rely on it to fully cleanse my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Where was I before this product? Yes, this is a rave review. In fact, this is one of my HG products. I find that these wipes take off a majority of my makeup. When I'm taking my makeup off at night I use these wipes first. I find that these wipes take off a majority of my makeup. Then, I continue with cleansing, toning, and moisturizing. I'm not particular about the fragrance of this product (it doesn't bother me).

I have normal to dry skin. My skin hasn't broken out from these.
Definitely going to repurchase. :]

The only thing that I would change is the packaging. If you don't close the sticky enclosure secure enough, it'll dry out the wipes.

P.S.- I wouldn't use this makeup wipe alone to take off makeup. However, it's a great first step in my night time skin routine.


on 12/28/2013 12:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought the pack of 144 wipes from Costco, since everyone says that is a much better deal than buying individual packs from the drugstore. I never used makeup remover wipes on a regular basis; I carried the travel pack of Green Tea Makeup Remover Wipes from the Face Shop with me, but at home, I always removed my makeup using the Nature Republic Herb Dressing White Honey Cleansing Water and a cotton pad, which got off all my eye makeup (yes, including waterproof!) without leaving me oily.

I think these makeup wipes are okay. It took much longer to get my eye makeup off with the Neutrogena wipes. I almost had to scrub my eyes to get the mascara off, which is something I never have to do with my Nature Republic Cleansing Water. The wipes remove face makeup and eye makeup such as eyeshadow well, but as for waterproof mascara and even eyeliner, I don't think this cuts it.

For traveling, I think these wipes are great, since carrying around a bottle of traditional remover can be a hassle. However, for use at home, I would rather just use my cleansing water. It is so much more efficient than scrubbing off the mascara with a wipe. Perhaps non-waterproof formulas are easier to remove, but for me, I'm going to stick to my old method of removing my eye makeup.

Also, regarding the packaging, I don't like that it only seals with a sticker type of closure. I believe some packages come with a plastic, snap-close top, but mine does not. I'm afraid that irregular usage will cause the wipes to dry out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2013 11:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My original makeup remover is Mary Kay, however, it is a liquid makeup remover so whenever travel or compete (for dance) I usually bring wipes. I had purchased these wipes about a year ago in a travel size and decided to repurchase them when I saw them on sale at Costco earlier this month. For the last few days when I try to remove my eye makeup, my skin stings for a few seconds afterward. When I use this product, I use small gentle strokes so I don't believe how I use this product is the reason for the irritation. My face makeup, however, comes off very nicely. I don't know if I'll repurchase this product because of the fact that it stings, but it might just be my sensitive skin rather than the actual product.


Back to Top