Shu Uemura • UV Under Base DF • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 pretty6464 on 1/31/2008 4:51:00 PM more reviews by pretty6464

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Perhaps my bottle has been sitting in the store for a long time. This base is suppose to be colorless but it looks pink on me. It's going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kismis on 1/27/2008 11:44:00 AM more reviews by kismis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I ended up buying again cos' there weren't any products in the market I wanted to try after my 1st can ended. It isn't wonderful but it does an OK job in helping my makeup stay on my oily skin at least.
This isn't a mattifying primer though so if I chance upon something that delivers that and evens out my skintone, I'd switch. I've just been too comfy with this one to bother changing.

It's very expensive here in Singapore though - S$75. Much cheaper in Hk and Japan!


My Old Review: This isn't horrible but it is just an OK product. It helps my makeup stay on (although not fantastic oil-control, would blot mid-day) and has some SPF in it which is its key redeeming factor, considering the price of this. Otherwise, it did nothing much for me, as far as I expect my primers to. Didn't even out my skintone at all (I'm surprised some here say it did!), didn't minimize the look of my pores (bleah!) and not that much oil control .
It's an OK product but I would hunt for something else that helps my makeup stay on better and is at least mattifying or pore-minimizing. I am looking for these qualities in my SPF primer!

Granted, the mousse foam out of an aerosol can is a novel cute packaging idea .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wanyilee on 1/24/2008 11:08:00 PM more reviews by wanyilee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

all I can say is, if you use Shu Uemura's skin care line, this will be your HG, otherwise, don't even bother... it doesn't work that well with other skin care products. I used this in conjunction with their B-G reinforcing line and it's really good, even my bf complimented on my good my skin was!

This comes in beige and pink (Asia only) and I used the beige one... it really evened out my skin tone immediately, and covers my redness well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hautelyodd on 1/6/2008 4:58:00 AM more reviews by hautelyodd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. It really does correct my skin and smoothes it out. I smells very pleasant and it feels fresh and light. I use it under my Water In foundation and voila, my skin looks better than ever! Expensive, but definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bff on 10/10/2007 8:10:00 PM more reviews by bff

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i'm so sad this didn't work for me. i tried it 3 days in a row and got new white pimples/clogged pores every night. i love the feel, didn't see much change in the look of my skin though (besides the pimples).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 barbiegirl62 on 8/11/2007 1:58:00 PM more reviews by barbiegirl62

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff applies as a beige foam, and blends in easily. It's very light and pleasant to use! My pores look smaller and my skin is smoother; however, it doesn't really seem to keep the foundation from coming off during the day. I do like the SPF in this, though. It's a little bit on the pricey side, but probably worth it if you have oily skin, because it's supposed to control shine and oil during the day. Overall, expensive, but easy to use and worth it if you have discolorations or oils on your skin.
EDIT: I was getting really oily recently and stopped using this and the Shu Uemura foundation...and my skin turned back to normal. Will not repurchase, I like the Bobbi Brown base a lot more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mascaralove on 7/29/2007 2:55:00 AM more reviews by mascaralove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

sales person said it would help with oil but it didn't. the search continues. had a funny smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mango700 on 7/28/2007 6:26:00 AM more reviews by mango700

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Shu Uemura UV under base is the best thing I have ever used on my face. It is rather hard to find where I live, so I buy it online http://www.shuuemura-usa.com


I tried so many of the other products including the popular MAC prep & prime. Everything either made me break out big time OR made my face extremely shiny, eventhough it was supposed to control the oil.


Shu Uemura's underbase is a "foam" so already it's different. It's kind of a beige/pinkish color that blends in with your skin. If you are very light/fair, you may not like it. You shake it well and hold the cannister upside down and the foam is dispensed. It's possible that those who say it's runny or have problems with it may not be using it correctly. After you spread it evenly all over your face it dries right away and covers imperfections and minimizes pores. My best friend that has clear skin, will use it by itself without any makeup and her skin looks radiant.


When you apply your makeup over the base, it lays on your skin so well and looks flawless. It never breaks me out and controls my oily T zone pretty well. Shu Uemura products contain deep sea water, which is the purest water on the planet and so if you have trouble skin - this is the product for you. I get tons of compliments when I use it, because it makes my makeup look so GOOD! I don't have great skin - I am acne prone - so to get a compliment like that - really makes my day. The product is a bit pricey, but the cannister goes a long way -even if you use it every day. I've had mine for a year and I still have some left.


I highly recommend it and if it doesn't work for you, simply return it. Shu Uemura will take it back, no problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TRKK on 6/6/2007 4:58:00 PM more reviews by TRKK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff really puzzled me. I had high hopes based on the reviews here. But when I used this stuff, it really didn't seem to have any positive effect on my makeup/foundation other than it kinda kept my liquid foundation from caking when I perspired. Other than that, I was as shiny/greasy as ever. Used once and haven't touched the stuff since.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcmxcii on 6/2/2007 2:52:00 AM more reviews by mcmxcii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Light in texture, easy to apply. It made the "potholes" in my face significantly smaller, and my makeup stayed on all day, even for those extra long days.

I originally bought this because the sales assistant said that it would help prevent my face from getting too greasy over the course of the day. It does do that, although I find the other benefits mentioned above more obvious.

It got a 4 for packaging, because the aerosol bottle might take a little getting used to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Primer/ Corrector products