Bulgari • Black • Fragrances

rated 4.1(176 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 greeneyes1978 on 3/31/2010 10:27:00 AM more reviews by greeneyes1978

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Yes I'm so happy.I just bought my firts bottle of Bulgar Black today after smelling it more then ten years ago when it just came out.Loved it then but hessitated to buy it(oh shame)
And found out later they don't sell it here in Holland up until today I found it at a drugstore cheaper than cheap the 40ml bottle..so I had to buy it and am wearing it right now.
It smells even better than I remembered and I love the tea note and the burnt rubber..the vanilla is just commint throug right now so I'll be smelling my wrist the rest of the evening...
Weird in this case is GOOD

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 3/13/2010 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing. I used to read the reviews for Black, and think, "Rubber and vanilla, and you think that smells good??" I figured you had to be a jaded perfumista to appreciate it. Well, I guess I've achieved "jaded" status now. Yes, it's rubber, yes, it's vanilla, and yes, it smells great.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deeHowe on 1/27/2010 12:16:00 AM more reviews by deeHowe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hot pavement and burning rubber are two of my favorite smells, so when I heard that the top note in Black was the latter, I had to have it. It's as good as I'd hoped.
From hot rubber to dry woods/earth and vanilla, it's one of the most interesting fragrances I find eminently wearable.
Also, my husband really likes it, and wears it at least as often as I do. Bonus!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 1/14/2010 6:50:00 PM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Love this fragrance but can only wear it in small doses. The rubber note in this,the first couple hours, reminds me of something I smell every time I'm in the dentist's office. Not sure about the source but all I can think of is "Dentist's office!" when I'm wearing this. Not being a fan of the dentist it's a bit bothersome to have that reminder on my person. Love the vanilla and amber(?). Very distinct and not run of the mill since after all there's a RUBBER note in this! As it dries down during the day the rubber note becomes less potent and a smokiness comes in, and no I don't mean like burnt rubber! lol! Reminds me of the smokiness in Caron's Tabac Blond which is an all time favorite of mine. Don't have a bottle of this yet but I will sometime this year. Really a great fragrance and I think it should be considered/labeled as a unisex fragrance. Also loooooooove the bottle it comes in! Very eye catching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brookebaird on 1/2/2010 4:54:00 AM more reviews by brookebaird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a big fan of weird, unusual fragrances. I thought I would love this after hearing of it's cult following. While I love the puck packaging, the rubber note is so strong on me, it's unwearable. It's like being enveloped by tires and not able to run from the scent.
I should mention that I have smelled it someone else and it's much more pleasant...on them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 11/10/2009 1:53:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Smells like a gingerbread man in S&M gear. I don't get the tire scent at all, except for when I smell it directly in the bottle. On my skin I smell a lot of deep vanilla and leather. Definitely unusual, and my kind of scent.
*EDIT: Although I love this fragrance, it takes on a watered-down quality after an hour, and disappears within two hours.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nathaliez on 11/7/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by nathaliez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Once you get past the weird top notes, the drydown is overall not unpleasant...but Black lacks feminity, warmth, and sensuality...good for the adventurous woman who wants to smell a bit masculine!! not for me!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveatfirstsniff on 10/19/2009 7:04:00 PM more reviews by loveatfirstsniff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After tirelessly looking for a modern, woody oriental that would celebrate fall, I took a chance and ordered Black based off of its exciting reviews. I'm not disappointed--but this is no woody oriental. At first whiff, the top-note of what can only be described as "tidy, tire store" quickly dried down to reveal an uncanny similarity to a long-time beloved Frederic Malle scent, "L'eau d'Hiver." A beautiful arrangement of clean, warm skin (cashmere?), and sweet, frozen water. The two scents are eerily similar. (With Black ringing in at one-third the price.) I love it! Highly recommend to l'eau lovers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ceridwyn on 9/27/2009 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Ceridwyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My new love! This is a great contradiction to all the super sweet perfumes. Bvlgari Black is all that is dark, mysterious, sexy and dangerous. Top notes are a powdery rubber [this is a good thing, don't worry] along with cedar. The heart note - on me - is a leather/citrus/vanilla magical mixture. On drydown there is amber and cedar. I wear this with my most provocative dress, highest heels and reddest nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rydenfan3 on 9/25/2009 3:25:00 PM more reviews by Rydenfan3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'm sooo disappointed in Bulgari Black. I'd read all these great reviews for it and they all mention tea, tar/rubber and vanilla. Mostly black tea. So I was hoping for a good smoky black tea fragrance. Unfortunately after sampling this all I get is powdery rubber tires. The rubber isn't overwhelming but there is a very synthetic aldehyde note in here that is *extremely* similar to Kenzo Amour. I can't wear Kenzo Amour either. I had ordered an inexpensive bottle of this but it's going back unopened. sad. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bulgari products

More Fragrances products