Zapzyt • 10% Benzoyl Peroxide Acne Treatment Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(163 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Susie31 on 7/10/2010 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Susie31

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

is at dollar general but i love it wayyyyyy more than any "name brand" like clearasil or oxy..just works! get a nice glow from it..feel extra clean and clears skin! I get it fo a dollar!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 buzzybumblebee on 7/2/2010 10:07:00 PM more reviews by buzzybumblebee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

First off the product didn't work very well on me. I bought it because I read good reviews on the product, but it took longer to get rid of my zit than my advantage clean and clear. It leaves a white residue when you put it on your face and it also bleached my pillow sheets! I will never purchase this ever again!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renyun on 6/29/2010 10:27:00 PM more reviews by renyun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After all the positive reviews on MUA for this product, I decided to give this a try. Zapzyt for me was not a super effective product as many people have raved about. It did little on my blemishes but it did not highly irritate my skin like other 10% BP products do. My biggest problem about Zapzyt is that whenever I apply this on oily areas of my skin, some areas develop small pimples. I think it has to do with Zapzyt's ingredient, laureth-4 which can clog pores.

Not good but not bad, an okay product. Will not be purchasing.

**EDIT: I have been reusing this product again and I find that like most benzoyl peroxide treatment you use, it's most effective when applying the BP on areas where you feel the area will grow a pimple. BP is a great preventive measure but when the head comes out, there is really nothing you can do to 'zap' it per say.

**EDIT: I have been trying to finish this product and reusing it again. I'm not sure if it's because I'm using this in the winter and my skin is drier or the fact that I haven't been using a lot of BP products in my skincare but my pimples reacting nicely to this product. I like it a lot. To get rid of large pimples, just slap on a lot of this product on targeted area every night and your pimples will be noticeably reduced.
**Would recommend for those with little to medium acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angeleyes08 on 5/26/2010 3:07:00 PM more reviews by angeleyes08

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

well i have to say that zapzyt has worked wonders for my face! I had been on a prescription treament for well over 10 years in which i still do love, but i just thought that there just had to be something out there that worked for me over the counter. And there was when i discovered zapzyt! Was very hesitant on trying it afterall everything i had tried before over the counter did not work at all. I kept going back to my prescription medicine.This by far is the best acne spot treatment out there!I myself have not had any problems with it drying my skin out , but if you do u should only use it as a spot treatment rather than all over your face. All in all great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlyHeartsYou on 5/15/2010 4:12:00 AM more reviews by AlyHeartsYou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

We've all been there, staring at the products on the shelves wondering "which one of these MIGHT actually help my acne?" I decided to take a chance after having such a dilemma late at night in my neighborhood Rite Aid. Nothing like a midnight zit crisis.


This stuff is fantastic. It's SO cheap and SO effective. I like it better than Clean & Clear, which is okay, but more expensive and not quiiiite as effective. I notice an immediate drying and shrinking effect on pimples, even the cystic kind. Over night the difference is even more dramatic. This is an aggressive treatment (10% BP is really quite high, more than twice the recommended 2.5%) but it really really works.


Keep in mind...this works partially by drying out the pimple. If your skin is already dry, this may be semi-devastating to the "eco system" of your skin's natural balance and you will need extra moisture in the places where you use this! It could also be potentially irritating because again, this is a very aggressive % of benzoyl peroxide.


However, if you're at your wit's end with acne and looking for a cheap equivalent to a nuke bomb, try Zapzyt!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 paperskies on 4/12/2010 2:25:00 AM more reviews by paperskies

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

If you have dry skin, BE CAREFUL! I used this on both my forehead and chin to clear up a breakout I was having. After only one use, both areas feel like sandpaper and are so dry that it actually hurts. My forehead also has small wrinkles, which I've never had before. To top it off, my chin developed a red rash. I'm really upset because my skin looks dreadful right now. My dermatologist has told me that everything should clear up within two weeks. My skin has been like this for almost a week now. I will never, ever touch this stuff again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aglitz915 on 4/1/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by aglitz915

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I probably wouldn't buy this again, it just didn't seem to do much for me. I don't break out that much so I'm not an expert on spot treatments but I've had better luck with others. This just dried out my already dry skin and didn't do much to reduce redness or swelling. My main complaint though was how gross it looked under/over makeup...I mean it says to apply a few times as needed but like so many BP products it leaves that peely look behind under or over the makeup. Not much you can do about that though...other than use something that's a clear treatment!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vwzen81 on 4/1/2010 9:39:00 AM more reviews by vwzen81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I truly believe this stuff is the reason I havenít had a pimple in months. I donít have acne but every month right before my period I would get a pimple; the kind that are deep and painful. These pimples would always appear on my chin, around my nose or on my upper lip. Well, I had bought Zapzyt to use as a spot treatment but then read on the back of the tube that you can also use it as a preventive measure. So, I started applying it every night on my chin and upper lip because those are my problem areas. I wouldnít apply it all over my face because it can be drying and thatís why I just apply it in the areas I get pimples. Iíve been applying this every night for about 3 months and I havenít gotten one pimple since I started, I canít believe how long itís been since Iíve had a zit. I apply it about 2 hours before Iím gonna go to bed because this stuff will bleach your pillowcase, so as long as I give it plenty of time to sink in and dry, I donít have to worry about it bleaching anything. This stuff is truly amazing and I canít be without it.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fashionguru14 on 3/16/2010 4:12:00 PM more reviews by fashionguru14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about 3 weeks. At first it helped my breakouts very quickly 1-2 days and gone. Now it seems to be 2-5 days before they budge. I felt like I was breaking out more though. And I know this isn't supposed to stop pimples from starting, bp doesn't really do that, just treat the pimple(s). But its not supposed to make them start either...heres what I mean...I read on a review of Zapzyt (not sure itf it was on MUA or not) and they said it contains Laureth 4 which is a major pore clogger. So I immediately ran to check my tube and it does indeed have laureth 4 in it. So I googled it and on every list of pore clogging ingredients Laureth 4 came up. Even on a top 6 list! Bad for skin! I notice when I apply this to a spot the spot will go away but in the area where it was a new pimple(s) form, because it's clogging my pores! Ew!
I'm looking for a new spot treatment now. I would probably purchase again just because it does work well and without regular use it probably wouldn't give me the pore clogging issue. So in a pinch, I would use this. If your acne prone this isn't the miracle worker it seems like it would be!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oofzishlilone on 3/3/2010 9:08:00 PM more reviews by oofzishlilone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i was using oxy 10% treatment thing but i decided to switch over to zapzyt because it had a higher rating on makeupalley and the oxy one stopped my pimples but still took a few days for my pimples to go away. i guess skin products really is an individual thing because zapzyt didn't work for me as much as i wanted it too.

Zapzyt made my pimples bigger. i didn't think that could be possible. usually i would put on spot treatment when i feel a pimple coming and the pimple would stop growing. But with zapzyt it made my pimple even bigger.. and more red and painful.

i keep trying and trying to see if my skin just has to get used to it to work.. but it didn't.

this product dried out my skin the next day.. even though i put a little.

it really takes trial and error with skincare products depending on the individual so just because it didn't work for me.. doesn't mean it won't be your HG

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Zapzyt products

More Treatments (Face) products