Zapzyt 10% Benzoyl Peroxide Acne Treatment Gel

3.8

166 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Benzoyl Peroxide (10%) (acne treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Laureth 4, Carbomer 940, EDTA, Diisopropanolamine, Water USP (Purified)


on 10/14/2010 10:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

GREAT acne treatment - dries zits up in no time at all & at nearly half the price of the 'name-brand'. Like others have mentioned, it is more of a cream than gel. Make sure after you have applied it and it has dried, put a layer of moisturizer over top; light moisturizer if you have oily skin or heavier layer if you have more normal/combination skin. Doing this extra step will keep your face from drying out like crazy, (It is 10% BP after all). This stuff really does work wonders if you do it diligently.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/10/2010 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Well, I agree with the reviewer before me; it's not really a gel. It's a white paste that feels like an exfoliator once it touches your skin. I don't see any improvement by using Zapzyt. I still get pimples, whiteheads and blackheads. The existing pimples didn't dry up either, but my skin was. I have oily skin but after using Zapzyt for a couple of days, my skin gets so dry that foundation would look horrible. I tried using very little amount of product and only apply it every other day. Same result; didn't do anything to my pimples, my skin gets super dry, and I develop redness around my chin. I will not continue to use this and will not repurchase.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nope. Didn't do it for me. First, it did zero for any pimples in any stage on my face, whether big or small. Second, IT'S NOT A GEL. It's a paste or a cream.

This stuff sucked.


on 7/10/2010 12:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

is at dollar general but i love it wayyyyyy more than any "name brand" like clearasil or oxy..just works! get a nice glow from it..feel extra clean and clears skin! I get it fo a dollar!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

First off the product didn't work very well on me. I bought it because I read good reviews on the product, but it took longer to get rid of my zit than my advantage clean and clear. It leaves a white residue when you put it on your face and it also bleached my pillow sheets! I will never purchase this ever again!!!!!!


on 6/29/2010 10:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After all the positive reviews on MUA for this product, I decided to give this a try. Zapzyt for me was not a super effective product as many people have raved about. It did little on my blemishes but it did not highly irritate my skin like other 10% BP products do. My biggest problem about Zapzyt is that whenever I apply this on oily areas of my skin, some areas develop small pimples. I think it has to do with Zapzyt's ingredient, laureth-4 which can clog pores.

Not good but not bad, an okay product. Will not be purchasing.

**EDIT: I have been reusing this product again and I find that like most benzoyl peroxide treatment you use, it's most effective when applying the BP on areas where you feel the area will grow a pimple. BP is a great preventive measure but when the head comes out, there is really nothing you can do to 'zap' it per say.

**EDIT: I have been trying to finish this product and reusing it again. I'm not sure if it's because I'm using this in the winter and my skin is drier or the fact that I haven't been using a lot of BP products in my skincare but my pimples reacting nicely to this product. I like it a lot. To get rid of large pimples, just slap on a lot of this product on targeted area every night and your pimples will be noticeably reduced.
**Would recommend for those with little to medium acne.


on 5/26/2010 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

well i have to say that zapzyt has worked wonders for my face! I had been on a prescription treament for well over 10 years in which i still do love, but i just thought that there just had to be something out there that worked for me over the counter. And there was when i discovered zapzyt! Was very hesitant on trying it afterall everything i had tried before over the counter did not work at all. I kept going back to my prescription medicine.This by far is the best acne spot treatment out there!I myself have not had any problems with it drying my skin out , but if you do u should only use it as a spot treatment rather than all over your face. All in all great product!


on 5/15/2010 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

We've all been there, staring at the products on the shelves wondering "which one of these MIGHT actually help my acne?" I decided to take a chance after having such a dilemma late at night in my neighborhood Rite Aid. Nothing like a midnight zit crisis.


This stuff is fantastic. It's SO cheap and SO effective. I like it better than Clean & Clear, which is okay, but more expensive and not quiiiite as effective. I notice an immediate drying and shrinking effect on pimples, even the cystic kind. Over night the difference is even more dramatic. This is an aggressive treatment (10% BP is really quite high, more than twice the recommended 2.5%) but it really really works.


Keep in mind...this works partially by drying out the pimple. If your skin is already dry, this may be semi-devastating to the "eco system" of your skin's natural balance and you will need extra moisture in the places where you use this! It could also be potentially irritating because again, this is a very aggressive % of benzoyl peroxide.


However, if you're at your wit's end with acne and looking for a cheap equivalent to a nuke bomb, try Zapzyt!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2010 2:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have dry skin, BE CAREFUL! I used this on both my forehead and chin to clear up a breakout I was having. After only one use, both areas feel like sandpaper and are so dry that it actually hurts. My forehead also has small wrinkles, which I've never had before. To top it off, my chin developed a red rash. I'm really upset because my skin looks dreadful right now. My dermatologist has told me that everything should clear up within two weeks. My skin has been like this for almost a week now. I will never, ever touch this stuff again.


on 4/1/2010 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I probably wouldn't buy this again, it just didn't seem to do much for me. I don't break out that much so I'm not an expert on spot treatments but I've had better luck with others. This just dried out my already dry skin and didn't do much to reduce redness or swelling. My main complaint though was how gross it looked under/over makeup...I mean it says to apply a few times as needed but like so many BP products it leaves that peely look behind under or over the makeup. Not much you can do about that though...other than use something that's a clear treatment!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top