Hermes Eau des Merveilles

3.8

160 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/3/2008 7:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I tried this at Sephora today. I was looking for the Eau d'Orange Verte, but they didn't have it. This one, when I first tried it, had that old grandmother-ly smell on me (do you know what I mean? lol). Then, about 20 minutes later WOW. I think it's pretty seductive, very sexy - different!
Also it's pretty heady... a little goes a long way.



on 10/20/2008 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this fragrance.
Everyone asks me what I'm wearing; complete strangers even. Its expensive but so worth it. That goes for all Hermes products.


on 10/15/2008 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So classy. The packaging is gorgeous, and the bottle stands apart from the rest of the perfumes on my vanity as it gently tilts on its side.

The scent is beautiful. It's not overpowering and tends to last for several hours. It has a gentle powdery notes with a undertone of oriental spice.

I wear this scent almost daily, and I have barely made a dent in the 3.3 fl. oz. bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2008 5:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the scent on me when the SA in the local Dept store offer it to be sampled. The next day I go to the same store and tried again myself. I found it mysterious-not common. Somehow sweet yet powdery on me. Because of that snif,snif and snif all night long I made a mistake of purchasing it from the Strawberrynet. Gosh it's now no longer mysterious. It's manly. It's masculine on me. I knew it should be some unisex fragrance but not 'that'. I guess the net sold me something old coz when I went back to the Dept store I smell that snif-snif again. So I sold mine and got the new bottle.


on 8/23/2008 7:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This doesn't work for me at all. After a few minutes all I get is dry woody sharp smell which lasts and lasts for hours. No citrus at all.


on 7/30/2008 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm not very good at reviewing perfumes, as I am still "training" my nose- but- at first spray, Eau de Merveilles by Hermes has a very citrusy quality to it. Not long after this, it does change into a saltier quality, which I tend to like especially in the hot summer. The last notes I smell are more on the woody side. This is for sure a marine scent, I have heard others say it is not, I disagree. this smells like night time marine smell, if that makes any sense at all. Picture it almost as if you were out on the beach all day, now it's dusk ,the salt has dried to your skin, and in the distance someone has a fire going down the beach.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2008 10:49:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a bright, sunny summer scent. Eau des Merveilles is very citrussy on me - sparkling orange and lemon notes - and it also has a bath-salty quality and a hint of balsam. It's very clean-smelling, but also has depth with cedar and amber notes to round it out. I think it could be worn by a man, but it's certainly not aggressively masculine. It's distinctive and modern - not a pretty-pretty scent - and also outdoorsy. Very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2008 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I remember hating this when I first smelled it a couple of years ago. I completely forgot about it, but then I was given a small sample last summer and therefore tested it again. That's when I fell in love with the fragrance.
I agree with those who find it beachy, salty and orangy. To me Eau des Merveilles is all that, and falls into a category all its own - it's a citrusy-marine-oriental.
This fragrance is truly unique, and so is the beautiful bottle it comes in.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2008 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very different scent. It really makes me think of the sea.
I donīt know any perfume like this one.
IMO this is more masculine than feminine.
Interesting, but not my kind of fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favorite perfumes ever! As one of the other reviwers said, it is "Woody, peppery, spicy... almost dusty (but in a good way). Dark, mysterious, elegant, and somewhat aggressive (almost unisex)."Thats exactly how i would describe it. I do tend to wear this during the winter and fall more than the summer, but i could see it working for that as well. This perfume has that special something that I dont find that often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top