Hermes Eau des Merveilles

3.8

161 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/11/2008 11:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a favorite of mine. Not very strong, although I do get a faint warm fragrance all day once it has dried down. It won't enter the room before you do or overstay its welcome. I get a whiff of salt and some aromatic amber, some woodiness and powder, a little lemon or citron. I have found that I can improve the strength by using the body cream, although that is quite pricey. No flowers. It isn't pretty in a conventional way, but it is beautiful. I have had more people ask me what it was or say that I smelled fabulous, when I was wearing it, than anything else I have worn in recent years.

I have been trying to figure out for a while whether the Parfum would be stronger, but the same. Salespeople have told me that the elixir is a different formula altogether, which confirms why I don't really like it as much on a scent strip.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.



on 11/3/2008 7:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I tried this at Sephora today. I was looking for the Eau d'Orange Verte, but they didn't have it. This one, when I first tried it, had that old grandmother-ly smell on me (do you know what I mean? lol). Then, about 20 minutes later WOW. I think it's pretty seductive, very sexy - different!
Also it's pretty heady... a little goes a long way.


on 10/20/2008 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this fragrance.
Everyone asks me what I'm wearing; complete strangers even. Its expensive but so worth it. That goes for all Hermes products.


on 10/15/2008 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So classy. The packaging is gorgeous, and the bottle stands apart from the rest of the perfumes on my vanity as it gently tilts on its side.

The scent is beautiful. It's not overpowering and tends to last for several hours. It has a gentle powdery notes with a undertone of oriental spice.

I wear this scent almost daily, and I have barely made a dent in the 3.3 fl. oz. bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2008 5:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the scent on me when the SA in the local Dept store offer it to be sampled. The next day I go to the same store and tried again myself. I found it mysterious-not common. Somehow sweet yet powdery on me. Because of that snif,snif and snif all night long I made a mistake of purchasing it from the Strawberrynet. Gosh it's now no longer mysterious. It's manly. It's masculine on me. I knew it should be some unisex fragrance but not 'that'. I guess the net sold me something old coz when I went back to the Dept store I smell that snif-snif again. So I sold mine and got the new bottle.


on 8/23/2008 7:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This doesn't work for me at all. After a few minutes all I get is dry woody sharp smell which lasts and lasts for hours. No citrus at all.


on 7/30/2008 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm not very good at reviewing perfumes, as I am still "training" my nose- but- at first spray, Eau de Merveilles by Hermes has a very citrusy quality to it. Not long after this, it does change into a saltier quality, which I tend to like especially in the hot summer. The last notes I smell are more on the woody side. This is for sure a marine scent, I have heard others say it is not, I disagree. this smells like night time marine smell, if that makes any sense at all. Picture it almost as if you were out on the beach all day, now it's dusk ,the salt has dried to your skin, and in the distance someone has a fire going down the beach.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2008 10:49:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a bright, sunny summer scent. Eau des Merveilles is very citrussy on me - sparkling orange and lemon notes - and it also has a bath-salty quality and a hint of balsam. It's very clean-smelling, but also has depth with cedar and amber notes to round it out. I think it could be worn by a man, but it's certainly not aggressively masculine. It's distinctive and modern - not a pretty-pretty scent - and also outdoorsy. Very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2008 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I remember hating this when I first smelled it a couple of years ago. I completely forgot about it, but then I was given a small sample last summer and therefore tested it again. That's when I fell in love with the fragrance.
I agree with those who find it beachy, salty and orangy. To me Eau des Merveilles is all that, and falls into a category all its own - it's a citrusy-marine-oriental.
This fragrance is truly unique, and so is the beautiful bottle it comes in.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2008 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very different scent. It really makes me think of the sea.
I donīt know any perfume like this one.
IMO this is more masculine than feminine.
Interesting, but not my kind of fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews


Back to Top