Hermes • Eau des Merveilles • Fragrances

rated 3.8(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mypsalms on 9/3/2008 5:31:00 AM more reviews by mypsalms

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the scent on me when the SA in the local Dept store offer it to be sampled. The next day I go to the same store and tried again myself. I found it mysterious-not common. Somehow sweet yet powdery on me. Because of that snif,snif and snif all night long I made a mistake of purchasing it from the Strawberrynet. Gosh it's now no longer mysterious. It's manly. It's masculine on me. I knew it should be some unisex fragrance but not 'that'. I guess the net sold me something old coz when I went back to the Dept store I smell that snif-snif again. So I sold mine and got the new bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 indysmom on 8/23/2008 7:53:00 AM more reviews by indysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This doesn't work for me at all. After a few minutes all I get is dry woody sharp smell which lasts and lasts for hours. No citrus at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beacheemom on 7/30/2008 7:12:00 PM more reviews by beacheemom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not very good at reviewing perfumes, as I am still "training" my nose- but- at first spray, Eau de Merveilles by Hermes has a very citrusy quality to it. Not long after this, it does change into a saltier quality, which I tend to like especially in the hot summer. The last notes I smell are more on the woody side. This is for sure a marine scent, I have heard others say it is not, I disagree. this smells like night time marine smell, if that makes any sense at all. Picture it almost as if you were out on the beach all day, now it's dusk ,the salt has dried to your skin, and in the distance someone has a fire going down the beach.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LipstickLil on 6/10/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by LipstickLil

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a bright, sunny summer scent. Eau des Merveilles is very citrussy on me - sparkling orange and lemon notes - and it also has a bath-salty quality and a hint of balsam. It's very clean-smelling, but also has depth with cedar and amber notes to round it out. I think it could be worn by a man, but it's certainly not aggressively masculine. It's distinctive and modern - not a pretty-pretty scent - and also outdoorsy. Very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Silaira on 5/3/2008 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Silaira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I remember hating this when I first smelled it a couple of years ago. I completely forgot about it, but then I was given a small sample last summer and therefore tested it again. That's when I fell in love with the fragrance.
I agree with those who find it beachy, salty and orangy. To me Eau des Merveilles is all that, and falls into a category all its own - it's a citrusy-marine-oriental.
This fragrance is truly unique, and so is the beautiful bottle it comes in.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LHANEMANN on 4/10/2008 7:50:00 PM more reviews by LHANEMANN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very different scent. It really makes me think of the sea.
I donīt know any perfume like this one.
IMO this is more masculine than feminine.
Interesting, but not my kind of fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xjsbellamias13 on 3/6/2008 7:54:00 PM more reviews by xjsbellamias13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favorite perfumes ever! As one of the other reviwers said, it is "Woody, peppery, spicy... almost dusty (but in a good way). Dark, mysterious, elegant, and somewhat aggressive (almost unisex)."Thats exactly how i would describe it. I do tend to wear this during the winter and fall more than the summer, but i could see it working for that as well. This perfume has that special something that I dont find that often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 1/25/2008 2:57:00 AM more reviews by fpih

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh, I so LOVED this perfume!!! This is a wonderful citrusy fragrance, nothing like Clinique Happy which is nauseating. It's absolutely exciting and simply unique. It makes me feel self confident, and sofisticated. To me it's best suited for office and daytime wear as it's not a very romantic perfume and exudes an aura of power rather than femininity. The only drawback is the lasting power, although very strong at the beginning, it fades in 2-3 hours. But now there is an EDP out there... maybe I'll go and check it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanSkies on 1/21/2008 9:35:00 PM more reviews by UrbanSkies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Woody, peppery, spicy... almost dusty (but in a good way). Dark, mysterious, elegant, and somewhat aggressive (almost unisex). I really only feel comfortable wearing it in the fall and winter, a few spritzes under layers of clothes. It's quite strong and heavy, although gorgeous. I don't like white florals or girly-girl scents, and this one is definitely not that. It's a perfect balance of feminine and masculine, like a fragrance version of preppy clothes -- classic, outdoorsy, powerful, patrician, and androgynous.

The juice is amazing, but I don't like the bottle. I wish it stood up straight; the tilting makes me a little nervous and it looks weird sitting next to all the other bottles -- kind of throws the aesthetics of the collection off balance and it tends to get knocked over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 acc929 on 1/14/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by acc929

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Thankfully, I didn't buy this product. Maybe it was just how it reacted with my skin, but the topnotes and middle notes smelled really awful on me. They were slightly more masculine, and were very pungent. It almost smelled like Petco? The base notes, however, were nice and creamy, quite vanillic, but you could hardly smell them! I'm glad I just got them to make me a sample at sephora instead of me paying for it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products