AG Hair Cosmetics Recoil Curl Activator

4.2

93 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/aqua/eau, Polyquaternium-55, Hydroxypropyl Starch, Cetylalcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Corn Starch Modified, Cetrimonium Chloride, Salvia Officinalis (sage) Leaf Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Melissaofficinalis Leaf Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Prunus Serotina (Wild Cherry) Bark Extract, Cymbopogonschoenanthus Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Sodium PCA, Polyquaternium-10, Magnesium Sulfate, Silk Amino Acids, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzedkeratin, Panthenol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Tetrasodiumedta, Parfum/ Fragrance, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.


on 10/27/2009 11:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Bumble & Bumble Styling Creme and BB Gel, which are good, but I needed something with more hold. A/G Recoil definitely had more hold, but it was also a little stiff and greasy (not too much). And the smell, which reminds me of bathroom fragrance is really, really strong. for $15 at the salon, I would definitely buy it again, but it's not replacing my BB products.



on 10/12/2009 4:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this stuff! My hair is coarse, with 3a curls that lately have looked more like a frizz collection. AG Recoil mixed with some leave-in conditioner worked wonders on my very long, very thick hair! I got more compliments in the last two days than I have in months! And I say last two days because I had such pretty "next day hair" (all you curly-headed ladies will understand that holy grail of hair aspirations) that I couldn't bear to wash it. Two days of great hair with minimal effort - yay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2009 1:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like this stuff. Friend gave it to me and I used it up. Been looking for a decent curl cream to replace my HG Bumble and Bumble Curl Conscious, which has been difficult to find and cough up the big bucks for.

The others I have tried either haven't been effective and/or have been too much like glue.

The AG Recoil is is much tackier and stickier than the BB so I do not necessarily like that. The BB you can run your fingers through and is a pleasure to apply to the hair. However, the AG definitely HOLDS a curl and isn't tooo tacky especially with wet hair. Figured out to spiral my hair in pieces and pin it back while air drying and this honestly will last for many days without washing (using a shower cap). Still holds the curl and didn't flake or make my hair greasy or gross. I ran out of my "tester" and think I will buy more even though I tend to product jump excessively.

For comparison, I have curly/wavy fine to medium hair that is very dry where I live. The climate is also very dry making curls difficult to coax and stay.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Re:coil! Not exactly wallet-friendly, but after hearing about this on naturallycurly.com, I couldn't resist. It sounded like the product for me (3a curls). I paired it with Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper and got great results. Frizz-less, beautiful, romantic curls. I love it! I will repurchase. I rated the packaging quality 4 instead of 5 because it's non-recycleable, but that won't stop me from buying it again...

It's not heavy, and it's silicone-free! Wonderful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2009 1:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: It is Feb 2013, still the only thing I use. If you want a softer hold version try AG Beach Bomb, many seem to love that. But I love the hold this provides. After applying it as indicated below, I comb it through with a wide tooth comb and then use something like Paul Mitchell Wild Ginger HydroWhip rubbed between my hands to scrunch it back up. This softens the feel of my hair and gives more hold/frizz control. You could use any of your favorite hold products to do this step or even MoroccanOil to really soften your hair in this step if you don't need the strong hold my fine locks need. HTH

-When buying this be sure you grab the curl ACTIVATOR, not the curl cream, both are under Recoil. My review is for the curl activator and it rocks!


ORIGNIAL REVIEW: Fine hair wavy/curlies...don't shy away from this gem. It is your friend as long as you don't coat your head in it. My salon recently started carrying this and I was so excited to try it when my stylist put it on after my last hair cut. WOW! My hippy chic wavy hair had volume at the crown and nice defined curls. It was the perfect balance of just enough product to tame, but not gunk up my hair. (My hair has to have product in it to weigh it down or it is uber fluffy and flyaway...it is very, very fine). I thought I would never get duplicate results at home. But applying it like she did (rubbing product between my hands and kind of pinch/pulling/picking at mid-shaft down w/just a slight pull up at my crown) it is my fave thing to use. I use it with something like PM Super Sculpt to help tame frizz/hold. I just hope my salon keeps carrying it.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2009 12:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yay! I'm liking this cream a lot! And it's free of silicones! I have fine, curly hair, and this product does not weigh it down or make it limp, and it defines all the different curl types on my head and makes them shiny and soft. I only use about a bean-sized amount, on wet hair, then after working it in I scrunch it very gently with a T-shirt. It takes a while to dry (I don't do hair dryers, because I make a big mess if I try), and when it is wet is SEEMS like it is going to dry all crunchy. But nope--once dry, the curls are soft and stay nice and defined all day long, with minimal frizz (there is *always* a bit of frizz, of course). The past few days I have used only a bit of leave-in conditioner and this stuff, and the results are truly impressive. Note: it does not yield a very controlled look, so if that is your goal, you would probably also have to use a gel or spray of some kind. I like Bumble&Bumble's curling foam for days when I want hold, but I prefer this A/G stuff far more because it leaves hair soft and touchable.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this to see if it would give my wavy hair more curl. It didn't. I think it might work for others. It left my hair crunchy too. I returned it and got AG Details instead. So far I like it, but I've only used it once.


on 12/9/2008 1:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had to immediately take 1 lippie off. The packaging of the AG Re:coil I bought was not recyclable.

The product though was great! I've only used it a few times, but each time it worked beautifully. I got thick, voluminous curls. I have wavy hair that can sometimes be coaxed into loose corkscrew curls, which is what I got with AG Re:coil. I only used a small dime size of this and it was enough. It also smells really good. Some parts of my hair did get crunchy and stiff, more than Jessicurl Rockin Ringlets. I'm really torn; for me, the obvious superior product is Re:coil my hair looks fabulous! But the non-recyclable plastic squeeze bottle and higher price (it's retail value is I think $20) are obvious downsides. I want to buy this again badly but I don't think I can in good faith. Please change the bottles AG!


on 10/8/2008 8:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG, this really gave my hair a lot of definition for being a cream. My hair is medium textured and highlighted around the frames of my face and its hard to get the proper balance of softness and control. I can see that this could build up, so I really need to use a clarifier. It smells really good and dries a bit crunchy in some areas of my hair, but once I scrunch it out, it's not too much of a problem. Another good thing is that it doesn't take the natural shine from my hair. Not recommended for those with finer hair.


on 9/22/2008 8:13:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Fabulous product and I am in love after only one use ----- totally transforms my wavy/curly hair. I have been wanting to try this product for such a long time, and today finally went out and purchased Recoil and very glad that I did! On my damp hair, I put on some shine serum mixed with shine cream, then added a quarter size of Recoil and scrunched my hair and let it air dry ...... when my hair was fully dried, it looked a bit flat and I was thinking hmmmmm, however, I rubbed in some Pureology Dry Shine (a HG item for me) and my waves/curls came alive ...... beautiful ......... I have used many curl cremes in the past (a past favorite being BB's Curl Conscious cream) however, Recoil is the best I have tried, since my beloved Fudge Shaper disappeared from stores ........ well worth the 19 bucks I paid for this item.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Styling Products


Surf Spray
296 Reviews
Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
49 Reviews


Top Rated AG Hair Cosmetics Products

Back to Top