MAC • Satin - Smut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(134 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amynicolaox on 4/11/2010 5:00:00 PM more reviews by amynicolaox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing colour - I've worn it everyday since I'vegotten it. It's a blackened brown with the faintest red shimmer that doesn't really show up when I use it. It can be worn sheer or built up - and makes the perfect outer corner colour for any netural smokey look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SadAng3l on 3/22/2010 1:12:00 PM more reviews by SadAng3l

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A great eyeshadow, great for a smokey eye. Also looks good with Patina eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaquillageGirl on 1/17/2010 3:22:00 AM more reviews by MaquillageGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smut-- a few years ago when the lady at Mac said the name I was like what?? What is this color...? She had shown me how to use a smokey eye using this that I still do it to this day but it's evolved and become my own as I've learned more about applying makeup.... thanks YouTube!! :o)

I use smut all the time and despite the nasty name, it's a BEAUTIFUL color. I can see below from other reviews it's hard to put your finger on exactly what color this is-- I say light black/dark gray/with hints of brown/purple?? Yikes. In any case it serves really well as an Outer V enhancer, use it to smoke out any look and add a tiny bit of drama but... soft nice drama, but enough OOMPH that it's ... smutty drama I guess?? haha.

LOVE this color and will purchase again and again!!!!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kara888 on 1/7/2010 7:44:00 AM more reviews by kara888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to use this eyeshadow to darken up my eyes but it seems to be a little bit boring for my taste. I am not sure whether I prefer this one over Knight Divine since it has no shimmer and looks rather harsh and flat looking when applied on the crease and outer corners. I will try to experiment with it more, but I don't think I'll repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifulscorpio83 on 12/19/2009 7:16:00 PM more reviews by beautifulscorpio83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This color looks boring in the pot but it's really beautiful on the eyes. It really is the pefect blend of black,brown, charcoal, and purple. It looks really pretty with a wide range of eyeshadow, with my favorite e/s with it being satin taupe. I love it!! i can be an outer v shade if you want something dark,yet soft, and it can also be smoked out on the lid for something dark and sultry.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 11/29/2009 1:50:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

one of my Smuts is in my dark 15 pan palette and the other I have in a foursome palette.

this is one of those colors which make you look and wonder what in the world makes it special... what makes it special is the combination of black/brown/burgundy perfectly blended into this spectacular color which works with any eye color. I have applied this on brown, green, hazel, and blue eyes and it is the perfect chameleon since it can work with cream, greys, pinks and other shades of violet or purple.

this ES is a must have for anyone who love smokey eyes and doesn't like the contour to be black but does want some depth.

I always have a back up of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flowermistdew on 11/29/2009 12:43:00 PM more reviews by flowermistdew

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful, gorgeous brownish purple e/s. This gives you an instant smokey eye and can be worn during day or night. Very blendable as well. Perfect for brown eyes. LOVE it. Go buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soozface on 11/25/2009 9:19:00 AM more reviews by soozface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Ordered a pro pan of this online and was a bit unsure judging by the unreliable MAC colour representations on the website and reviews here, received it and it's better than I ever dared to expect!!
To me, it looks to be a nice cool toned dark brown with hints of purple shimmer in the pan, I teamed it with vex and the lightest shade from the graphic garden palette and it looked STUNNING, really really classy.
The texture is lovely and blended so easily. Can't wait to try out some more looks with this bad boy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coquette89 on 11/13/2009 6:18:00 PM more reviews by coquette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nice blend of charcoal, brown, and red. It's a nice alternative to Carbon for a smokey eye. It's easier to blend and isn't as harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piratecaptain on 11/9/2009 11:39:00 PM more reviews by piratecaptain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

ahhh, another eyeshadow that seemed like it was potentially a great color for everyone....only for me to find out that somehow it looked horrible on me. why cant MAC not make a single deep dark brown??? mac is always going for these theoretically magical "complex" deep colors, but they all end up being sheer dirty dingy dark greys....smut, beauty marked, nocturnelle, etc.
This color turned out especially "meh" on me, with a weird greenish cast (nothing like a muddy grey green to really bring out the pink in ones eyes).

I guess I'll just stick to mulch for my brown with a heaping of black liner to deepen it, and if i want an e/s that's really deep dark and rich, I'll have to go over to the teals like plumage, the deep blues like contrast, or to the purples like mystical mist.

or, oh wait, here's an idea, maybe I could just stop relying on MAC for EVERYTHING, and branch out in search of my deep dark rich brown....

PS- NW20, brunette, hazel.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products