MAC Satin - Smut

4.5

137 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/2/2010 10:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

At first I was pretty hesitant to use this shadow. I normally steer away from darker colors, and the description on the website said it has "red frost." Grey with red frost? It's actually not red or frosty at all. It's just a warmed up grey. Also, it applies pretty sheer so I'm not afraid to use it the outer corner of my eye and the crease. It does a great job of darkening whatever other color I'm wearing. It's less pigmented than other MAC shadows, but in my mind that's a bonus because I can keep it toned down more easily. Also, you can use a heavier hand if you want it to show up more. It blends well and stays put without creasing. I have it as part of the Trip II palette for bronze eye and cheek, and it goes well with the other colors.



on 6/17/2010 8:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my most favorite MAC eyeshadow, I use it almost everyday when I do a smokey eye. I have so many darker e/s's to choose from, yet somehow everyday I'm drawn to this one. I don't think this one is dupeable, it's really unique. It's almost a dark gray/black with a tinge of purple, and a little bit of shimmer (but not too much). Love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2010 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this color for the crease. It's definitely one of my most-used crease colors.


on 4/11/2010 5:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing colour - I've worn it everyday since I'vegotten it. It's a blackened brown with the faintest red shimmer that doesn't really show up when I use it. It can be worn sheer or built up - and makes the perfect outer corner colour for any netural smokey look!


on 3/22/2010 1:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A great eyeshadow, great for a smokey eye. Also looks good with Patina eyeshadow.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Smut-- a few years ago when the lady at Mac said the name I was like what?? What is this color...? She had shown me how to use a smokey eye using this that I still do it to this day but it's evolved and become my own as I've learned more about applying makeup.... thanks YouTube!! :o)

I use smut all the time and despite the nasty name, it's a BEAUTIFUL color. I can see below from other reviews it's hard to put your finger on exactly what color this is-- I say light black/dark gray/with hints of brown/purple?? Yikes. In any case it serves really well as an Outer V enhancer, use it to smoke out any look and add a tiny bit of drama but... soft nice drama, but enough OOMPH that it's ... smutty drama I guess?? haha.

LOVE this color and will purchase again and again!!!!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2010 7:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I wanted to use this eyeshadow to darken up my eyes but it seems to be a little bit boring for my taste. I am not sure whether I prefer this one over Knight Divine since it has no shimmer and looks rather harsh and flat looking when applied on the crease and outer corners. I will try to experiment with it more, but I don't think I'll repurchase.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This color looks boring in the pot but it's really beautiful on the eyes. It really is the pefect blend of black,brown, charcoal, and purple. It looks really pretty with a wide range of eyeshadow, with my favorite e/s with it being satin taupe. I love it!! i can be an outer v shade if you want something dark,yet soft, and it can also be smoked out on the lid for something dark and sultry.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2009 1:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

one of my Smuts is in my dark 15 pan palette and the other I have in a foursome palette.

this is one of those colors which make you look and wonder what in the world makes it special... what makes it special is the combination of black/brown/burgundy perfectly blended into this spectacular color which works with any eye color. I have applied this on brown, green, hazel, and blue eyes and it is the perfect chameleon since it can work with cream, greys, pinks and other shades of violet or purple.

this ES is a must have for anyone who love smokey eyes and doesn't like the contour to be black but does want some depth.

I always have a back up of this.


on 11/29/2009 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful, gorgeous brownish purple e/s. This gives you an instant smokey eye and can be worn during day or night. Very blendable as well. Perfect for brown eyes. LOVE it. Go buy it.




Back to Top