Dior Poison

3.4

253 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/2/2010 9:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

One thing is certain-you will not find another perfume like it, its incrediably distinctive.
For me the saga started when i was 20. I was already wearing Samsara for couple of years and while it was my HG, i wanted to try something else. i tried Poison and really liked it. It did fit my category of oriental, long lasting fragrances. However, i got bored with it and gave my bottle away.
I revisited it recently, at local Macy's. For old time sake, i sprayed it on and just about gagged. I thought it smelled waay too strong and dated. Fortunately, i sprayed it on the card but none the less, i threw it in my purse and forgot about it. At the end of the day, i opened my purse and was wondering what that warm spicy scent was. Then it hit me-it was Poison i sprayed on the card. Over next 2 days i periodically removed card to sniff it like a junkie in need of a fix. I decided to get a bottle only to realize that online is the only option-noone carries it anymore. I finally found one at Long's, of all places and now a proud owner of this complex fragrance
Notes from Fragrantica: coriander, wildberries, honey, tuberose, oppanax. On first spray, i get coriander which is a bit spicy, i don't really smell berries or honey, but coriander and tuberose. Best way to describe it would be tuberose flower floating in a spiced wine. Lasting power is awesome-small spray lasted nearly 6 hours on me and my clothes smelled of it for several days.I always loved the bottle-its elegant and mysterious. I'm actually surprised that number of young women are able to wear and appreciate this scent but that's great. i wish more companies nowdays made unique fragrances instead of generic clones of each other

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.



on 7/24/2010 1:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When my grandma died we found a box of old stuff - a 3/4 used bottle of this perfume, photos, manky old lipsticks etc etc (she was very glamorous - a dancer, and possibly the root of my interest in such things). It was old, in a glass bottle with a glass stopper. I smelt it on the stopper and it smelt hideous, as is should being 20 years old at least. But the bottle was so pretty and a nice reminder of her, so it has sat on my dressing table for 3 years, untouched. Tonight I missed her and dabbed my wrists with the scent and there the hideous smell was, but it faded fast and then it was just...beautiful. I have no idea if this is what its supposed to smell like or if modern versions of this would age this well, but I want to wear it always. I cant stop smelling my wrists.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this perfume as a gift from a friend who thought because I am a Scorpio, it would be the perfume for me. Although, I like the perfume and appreciate the gesture, the scent is just too tough to wear. It's strong, overbearing, and intense (Scorpio qualities).

It's hard to find the right time to wear it, as even the breeziest night won't sweep this scent around and wearing it on a warm day is a death sentence!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2010 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favourite fragrance ever! The smell is just soo feminine it is a bit hard to describe. I have to admit it is quiet a strong scent and it lasts quiet long. I wore it on and when I entered my car the smell actually stayed in my car, my clothes still smells like it after I wash them. I dont need airfresheners for my car because this does the job, just one spray and your car will smell like that for the rest of the year.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2010 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i can totally understand why some people hate this. it's very chemical/synthetic smelling. to me, it always smelled a bit like grape and crayons.

for some reason though, i find myself missing it. i'm not sure what it would smell like on me now, but it worked well on me in high school. i was also one of the only people who wore this in my school (this and opium both). i'm going to see if i can find one of those mini-bottles, or better yet, someplace with a tester, to try it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2010 3:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Magical fragrance. Just perfect for colder days or nights. It's a fragrance for a strong confident woman. I would say dangerous like poison. It's a really strong scent that stays on for a long time, it might even be overwhelming especially if you put too much on, or this fragrance doesn't match you. It has that rotten smell. One day my friends told me that they smell sour cherries. That's when I finally found out what this fragrance smells like. It's like sour cherries rotting in a deadly potion of power and sex appeal. This fragrance is not for everyone, but if you are lucky and have the right chemistry, this could be the perfume you will fall in love for the rest of your life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2010 8:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

so this is gonna be really long. im just warning you.

first, let me start off saying i am 15 years old so i wasnt there when this perfume was overused in the 80's.
this used to be my mom's staple fragrance though. i remember being very little and burying my head into my mom's clothing because i thought she smelled soooo good. This was the only thing my grandpa would get for my mom on holidays because she loved it so much. currently i think she has like 2 brand new, un-opened bottles just sitting in her room because she gets it so often. haha. but lately she has switched to more fruity scents like those Victoria Secret Garden things.. i havent seen the old poison out for a couple years now...

so me? im obsessed with fragrances and smelling good. ive tried dozens if not hundreds of scents in my 15 years of life. i am particularly fond of "hippie" smells like sandal wood, pachuli, nag champa.. pretty much anthing that can be used as an insence. for some reason i was in the mood for the scent of opium yesterday and i remembered there was a knock off $2 bottle of perfume that was "inspired by opium" at the V.P. about 3 blocks from my house. so i rode my bike in the rain just to get this small bottle of perfume. i come home and put it on thinking to my self that it smelled extremely familar. so i go to ask my mom. we sit for a while trying to think of what it smells like and she looks at me and says "poison" she goes back into her bedroom and brings out a BRAND new bottle of the stuff and just gives it to me. i immediately run into my bedroom to open the darn thing and sprits my self with 1-2 squirts. i ADORED the smell. it brought back memmories of my childhood. i loved it. i run out hugging my mom telling her how much it means to me.

okay so the moral of my rambling is: i love the scent, it doesnt give me a headache like everyone says. i think it smells mysterious. and its been said quite alot but im gonna say it too, you dont wear the perfume, it wears you. it has to do with body chemestry... overall this is an extremely beautiful scented perfume.. you just gotta know how to wear it (and how much too)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2010 12:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is probably my most hated perfume ive ever smelt.
Not only is it immensely overpowering but im really allergic to it...and considering my mum adores it i pretty much die whenever she uses it XD


on 3/26/2010 11:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This one is all about body chemistry.

Some women wear this amazingly while others is just vomit inducing. This should be worn on your stomach. Away from the neck, face, etc...Why because this is especially a naughty yet classy fragrance.

Picture your in the most romantic elegant long gown with a shawl, and underneath your wearing a wicked corset. This is poison. You smell this and you can't help it. like it or not you will be moved. I love it, for special occasions only;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2010 10:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

One of my favourite scents of all time. I remember discovering perfume when I was about 10 years old, and this was the one I first loved.

Its very much a rich, winter scent for the classic types. A little goes a long way and its staying power is phenomenal.

I think it smells quite rich and seductive like the Black Forrest!

Its pretty expensive retail in Australia but you can get it online cheaper. I would recommend the EDP rather than the EDC.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top