NYX 3 Color Eyeshadow

4.4

163 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 4/6/2009 6:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Reviewing these is difficult ... the packaging is excellent, the pricing is excellent and the colors go together nicely most of the time ... they are very good when judged on their own merits, and they blow away all other drugstore brand eyeshadows ... BUT, they are weak competition for the nyx single eyeshadow pots, and they definitely won't compare to high-end cosmetics. They wont last that long nor look that vibrant without a base, and they typically aren't very soft but still supply you with plenty of fallout upon application. They aren't even particularly cheap for the total product anyway; I sat down and did the math - you get more product of better quality by buying all three single eyeshadow pots than what you would get with the singles, even if you do pay more ... thus the 3 rating for price. The colors in the trios don't always line up with the color of the singles, and sometimes, you will only get. 1.3 grams of total product in the trios, as compared to 3 grams with a single. This doesn't happen with all of them, but I have been dismayed to find that some of my trios contain a lot less product. The fact is worsened once you realize that I payed more for the trio than I did for a single, so make sure to check the bottom of the packaging before you buy, you may be overspending without knowing. I wont tell you to not buy them, but you wont be very happy with them if you have spoiled yourself on the single eyeshadow pots or higher-end eyeshadows.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 1/29/2009 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love the NYX Trio's because theyre such good quality! The colors are gorgeous, the pigmentation is awesome! Best of all they're dirt cheap. You can get the trios on different sites for 4 to 5 bucks. They're pretty large about the same size as the MAC eyeshadows. These NYX trios are perfect for those who are new to makeup and want to get some practice before they purchase more higher end makeup or even for those who want to make their make up collection larger.


on 1/28/2009 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have several NYX trios, and I absolutely love them. I'm on a mission to own all of them. At $5-7, they are pretty cheap. Most colors blend well and last pretty long without a base.

My favorite colors are: dark brown, taupe, walnut bronze, copper, lilac, and black.

I like the packaging, it's just the quote on the bottom "For Sexy-Babe's Eyes Only" makes it sound cheap or weird... If it didn't have that slogan, the compact would be pretty sleek.


on 1/23/2009 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in Copacabana which includes a cotton candy pink, a tan suede color, and a chocolately brown shade. While the colors are basic, pigmentation is great. The texture is by far one of the silkiest I've tried, and goes on smoothly. I almost mistake these for a cream shadow.


on 12/28/2008 12:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this product. With good pigmentation, modest pricing and a huge array of colors there really isn't much to dislike. These trios are an excellant way to add a variety of colors to one's makeup collection without having to spend a ton of money.

Would I buy this product again? Not likely. I have 13 of the trios, and even though the trios are a better buy (average cost: $5 for a trio = $1.67 per shadow), I'd rather spend the money on one of NYX's single (average cost: $4) eyeshadows because there's a HUGE disparity between the color and quality in the trios versus the single eyeshadow. The "Kiwi" in the trio is different from the single one, so is "Brown", "Taupe" and the list goes on.

The quailty of the shadow is different in the trios as well. They tend to more more powdery and less pigmented in the trios versus the single shadows. I'll try to put up comparison swatches in my pictures.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2008 3:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Fantastic product for the price- it is the poor-mans version of MAC. I'm not a big fan of the packaging, because the mirrors in mine have fallen off every. single. time. The sponge applicators are nothing special, but the colours are well-pigmented, last for ages without a primer, and blend well.


on 11/16/2008 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love NYX eyeshadow. I love the packaging. It's perfect to carry n has a little mirror n the little 2 sided brush- but I really don'tuse it but it's good to have. I think the price is perfect foe the product. The colors are highly pigmented n I actually prefer these over mac shadow! I think mac is over priced. Mac is selling their name more than they r selling their products. NYX is a great subtitute especially if u dnt wanna spend too much on awesome eyeshadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2008 1:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this product is good, its inexpensive enough to try new colors and play. I am a MAC girl and I love their colors..they are true. So its a good product for the price. For girls with oily skin be sure to use a primer or mac paints to keep these in place. You get what you pay for.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What can I say about NYX shadows that hasn't already said by previous reviewers.

I LOVE NYX shadows
- Highly Pigmented
- Easily Blendable
- Awesome Color Selection
- Pricing is unbeatable ($4.99 at my local store)

I've gotten more compliments with my shadows and creativity using NYX shadow trios over my MAC applications.

I hiiiiiiiiighly recommend NYX

btw, get some of their NYX loose pigment shadows too, they are sooo bright and easy to work with into the eyeshadow trios and pots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2008 12:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Thank the lord, that I have finally found my HG eyeshadow palette!
I got barely there (a highlighting color thats off white with a golden shimmer), champagne (the PERFECT champagne color... almost pink.... but more of a copper with gold in it), root beer (a taupe brown shade almost mauve).
I've heard great things about these eyeshadows seperatly and have been dying to try NYX to see if it was almost as good as MAC!
Now, we all know that NYX products are nearly impossible to get a hold of... therefore my options with the color choices were not great. BEWARE this palette looks really boring.... but once applied to the skin..... MAC isnt even comparable.
This palette is SHIMMERY not sparkly and together or seperatly they work amazingly as a day look with a little mascara or a night look if paired with a lot of eyeliner!
This palette cost me 9.99 CANADIAN.... and i just cant get over how perfect it is!
BTW.... this is one of those palettes that look perfect on anyones skin tone... I highly recomend it!
Plus it dosent crease, smudge into your eyeliner, and lasts me through the day and night!
BEST BUY OF MY LIFE!
Oh and I completely forgot.... the packaging is wonderful.. you can see all the shades without opening it up and its very simple but stylish!
Oh and those nasty sponge brushes they put into palettes... this one is actually pretty comfortable and useful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top