Clinique • Almost Makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 3.6(317 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 jadeylou15 on 1/28/2010 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jadeylou15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I went to the Clinique counter to find something a little lighter and longlasting than foundation for the summer and was recommended this and I'm a little on the fence. It gives good coverage but halfway through the day I'd look in the mirror and have patches everywhere even when I used primer! Also I found it quite hard to blend, not sure if this is just me and I need to try other techniques?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mxk2 on 1/26/2010 12:42:00 PM more reviews by mxk2

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm undecided whether to pick up a tube after sampling and comparing to Px Traceless (which I have quite a few tubes of, since Px announced it's going out of business), so this review is mainly a comparison between the Almost Makeup and Px Traceless, LM Tinted Moisturizer...

The Almost Makeup in shade Light looks good on me, better than the lighter shades they have. It's a good shade for me, but not the perfection that Px Traceless #2 is . It blends easily and dries to a nice finish fairly quickly. Definitely need powder with this one (which I normally use anyway). It gives more coverage than Traceless, which is neither good nor bad, just different - the Almost Makeup is more of a lightweight foundation as compared to a sheer TM-type product. It wears fairly well - needs touch up/blotting to get rid of the oily break-through after a couple hours, but so does everything else on me (even Px Virtual Matte requires me to blot by noon ). I put it on at 6:00 a.m. and washed my face before bed at midnight (yea, long day...) and I noticed my face still looked pretty decent 18 hours later - not fresh as a daisy, but not bad at all after all that time, so the foundation does stick around (I blotted and powdered later in the day again, though). It does feel a bit heavy - it is not weightless like Traceless.

To me, this feels *exactly* like LM Tinted Moisturizer on my skin in terms of coverage, blending ability, and how it feels on the skin. I think it's better than the LM, though, because the color match is better, and it didn't rub off on a tissue when I blew my nose - when I wore the LM, I found it wore off very easily on collars, tissues, etc. - and it's a lot less expensive than the LM.

Another advantage of the Almost Makeup over the LM or Px is the sunscreen is broad-spectrum, and the last time I checked it was all-physical blocker (might have changed, not sure, and I just have a sample jar with no ingredient list right now).

The Almost Makeup would be too heavy for me to wear in the summer, though (just like the LM was). Yesterday I wore it with no moisturizer underneath and it's January and it felt heavy and got oily, no way will this work for me in the summer. If any of you have dry skin, though, the Almost Makeup might be a good choice.

Update 6/8/10: Bumping to 5 lippies. I'm really liking this a lot and am using it regularly. Yes, it does feel a bit heavy on my oiler skin, but it offers a bit more coverage than Traceless (but is still on the sheer), which I find I am needing lately, and it lasts well on me (no wearing off like the Traceless or the LM). I will definitely purchase again, this is quickly on its way to replacing Traceless as my HG product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelovesyou on 1/19/2010 12:43:00 AM more reviews by shelovesyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this after a sephora ma recommended it as a good tm with spf. I have it 'neutral fair' and it is a perfect shade for my skin. I can never find a sunscreen that i like so this is a great alternative with spf. It leaves your skin looking dewy and natural. You can't really tell that you're wearing anything, which is a huge plus for me. It diminishes minor flaws, evens out tone, and leaves your skin looking polished. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 satanlovesemo on 1/18/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by satanlovesemo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, I am loving this! It feels light and fresh. It gives sheer coverage, which is exactly what I was going for. I have clear skin with some uneven pigmentation and this helps even everything out without looking or feeling like foundation. Other oil-free tinted moisturizers I've tried feel slightly heavy due to the lack of oils (I have acne-prone skin, so I have to do oil-free!). Or they don't feel heavy but are water-based and dissolve immediately upon contact with water ... this is water resistant! Yes! I also love the SPF. The smell is a bit herbal-y. I would prefer no scent at all, but I can deal with it. At least it doesn't have that funky latex-y smell that some other TMs have. I set this with the Clnique loose powder in Transparency 3 and I'm good to go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greenbuggirl on 1/15/2010 3:44:00 PM more reviews by greenbuggirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Gives a little coverage for people with little flaws. Sheer coverage makes it blend. It really looks like ...No makeup...almost makeup

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dafyophi on 1/12/2010 4:09:00 PM more reviews by dafyophi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have other foundations that I use, but I keep coming back to this. It's not perfect, but it does what I want it to do, which is even out some slight ruddiness around my nose and cheeks without making me look like I'm wearing a kabuki mask. It's not meant to cover major spots or discoloration, but it works great if you want more coverage than a tinted moisturizer but less than a regular liquid foundation. I apply concealer to my undereye area and around my nose and then apply this with my fingers or a brush. A lot of people get an oily t-zone by midday with this stuff, but with a light powder application, I have no problem. I use a light dusting of MAC blot powder on my t-zone and then set everything with Neutrogena Healthy Skin loose powder. I get a nice semi-matte finish that looks natural and works really well with blush, bronzer, whatever.

This stuff is oil-free and will hang around all day if you set it properly, but it's not great for going out dancing or whatever. I also probably wouldn't recommend it to someone with super oily skin. My skin is pretty normal and doesn't break out very often, so if you fall into that category, this is a really good option for light coverage that won't cost you an arm and a leg.

As far as the packaging, it's sanitary and closes tightly. The product tends to separate in the bottle, but just shake it. It's really not a big deal. For half the price of NARS, I'll shake it as much as I have to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HRubin on 11/24/2009 2:10:00 AM more reviews by HRubin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I put this on when my face feels very dry, but I still need a little makeup. It is very sheer (i wish it was just a LITTLE more opaque) and a good moisturizer. The SPF is great. And, true to clinique, i have never had a singe breakout thanks to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 leah1980 on 11/15/2009 4:09:00 PM more reviews by leah1980

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received this product as a GWP and do not like it at all! I like a little coverage and it doesnt even give that! Not sure what the price is, but I would not purchase this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu5icbtch on 11/8/2009 10:34:00 AM more reviews by mu5icbtch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this last year and remember discarding it after afew weeks. I used the darkest shade available and it was too light for my NC40 skintone. It was very sheer and looked like I was wearing nothing, but not in a good way. Got oily on my t zone area even after powdering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tgallop on 11/8/2009 10:17:00 AM more reviews by Tgallop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Been using this product for years! Tried other drug store brands before but because my skin is so fair (just went for a MAC consult and found out I'm a NC15) everything was too dark or too yellow... because this is so sheer, I don't have a problem with blending or anything. For those that found this too oily, I just started using a primer and have found that helps with not having to blot during the day and also with putting on the foundation with a brush. Love this product - why change something that works!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products