MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

335 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


on 8/3/2011 11:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I really Love Shale even M.A.C is a bit expensive for a schoolgirl like me...
I applied it in the morning and it lasted all day no matter what I was doing!
I think it looks really nice on my skin type all over the lid or just in the crease. The finish i very nice- not to much but nice.
For me it was the perfect colour to start my M.A.C line because you can wear it to so many things and combine it with loads of colours!
And as a clumsy fool as I am.. I dropped it immediatly when I unpacked it but it didn't broke so I really think it's a super thing!
xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/21/2011 3:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Never been into the Purple range of e/s and this was gift that had sat in my collection for ages before I used it. I am so surprised - I used this in the crease & outer lid over a paler matte taupe from the Coastal Scents Neutral palette and it looks very nice. A nice 'day look'. Also used the same on a friend who is paler than I, who has brown eyes - looks fabulous on her - really opened up her eyes. Not too dark (looks darker in pan), slight shimmer (Satin?) & it's buildable. Has less pigment than many of my MAC shadows though, and one of the few in my collection that I like that has actual shimmer. It certainly does not accentuate lines anyway :) Not that I am overly lined, just I am 47 now and steer clear of too much 'sparkle'. 4/5 because the pigment could be better IMO, so you do need to blend it in to get true depth of colour.


on 7/17/2011 5:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think this is a good eyeshadow just for winter. I bought this yesterday and it seems pretty unsuitable for summer. It seems too grey for my fair skin and green/hazel eyes and I think i look a bit bruised. However, I think it is a nice alternative to brown/neutrals for cooler seasons of the year.


on 6/2/2011 10:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love this colour! satiny finish, smooth and easy to blend. surprisingly wearable during the day with some copperplate in crease. creates a sexy, smokey un-done eye. love this with rebel lipstick. will re-purchase.


on 5/18/2011 8:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Shale is my go-to-eyeshadow. You can wear it during the day, in the evening, it goes perfectly with any type of make-up you want to wear.


on 5/15/2011 1:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Shale is my all-time favorite MAC Eyeshadow. I'm NW10, and Shale is beautiful for my skin tone. It's what I hoped Satin Taupe would be (after hearing all the raves for Satin Taupe for years). Don't get me wrong, I like Satin Taupe, but Shale is just so flattering and lovely. It's a purple gray shade, as others have said, but there is something taupish about it on me. I actually think of it as a purplish taupe. That is how it wears on me. It's great shade for work or can be applied more intensely for night. The discontinued Chanel Vega (also a purpley taupe) was one of my favorite shadows, and this kind of reminds me of it. If you are fair and cool toned, please check out Shale. I LOVE it and will definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2011 12:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a purpill/grey eyeshadow. you can use it lightly or build it up for a darker color. I have hazel eyes and on me it looks more purpill than greyish. but i love the color.i wanted something for my crease for daylook and it looks great.i build it on for nights. the packaging is the usual MAC ones

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2011 4:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I feel like I must have gotten a bad pan but this color sucks! it barely shows up- awful color pay off no matter how much i rub my brush in the pan to pick up product! it looked pretty in the pan and I went to buy it after reading the reviews here but it was a huge waste of money! I have other MAC eyeshadows and there is a huge difference in this one's quality compared to all the others I own.
Update- so I scraped the surface of the pan to see if maybe the top had been sealed somehow and interfered with the color pay off- and, it worked! the color definitely shows up now. Even then though, its ok but not great. the color is a gray-lavender-ish type shade but once on it loks kinds dull. I can make it work with shades of gray, blue or purple but I'm not a huge fan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2011 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love Shale. I'm NC15/NW20 with yellow undertones and green eyes, and it really makes my green eyes pop. Not as much as Nocturnelle, but sometimes, I don't like to wear really bright purples, so this color is perfect for me when I want some more neutral colors.

My only compliant is that you really have to pack on the color because it goes on pretty sheer.

But overall, this is becoming one of my favs.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shadow! I actually used to hate it, because I thought it was so unpigmented. It is when swatched, but applied to the eye, it looks like a subtle beautiful purple color. I am always drawn to purple-gray colors when I'm in the MAC store, and I always pick this one up, look at that back, then realize that I already have it! I wear this all the time now, and it does work as an everyday eyelid, or crease color. A more shimmery version of this is the limited edition Hypnotizing eye shadow, which I own as well. Worn together, (with Hypnotizing on the lid and Shale on the crease) it becomes a beautiful purple smokey eye that is also very wearable. I do not think that this is the color of a bruise, but just a pretty, subtle, gray toned purple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top