MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(331 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 5/15/2011 1:07:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Shale is my all-time favorite MAC Eyeshadow. I'm NW10, and Shale is beautiful for my skin tone. It's what I hoped Satin Taupe would be (after hearing all the raves for Satin Taupe for years). Don't get me wrong, I like Satin Taupe, but Shale is just so flattering and lovely. It's a purple gray shade, as others have said, but there is something taupish about it on me. I actually think of it as a purplish taupe. That is how it wears on me. It's great shade for work or can be applied more intensely for night. The discontinued Chanel Vega (also a purpley taupe) was one of my favorite shadows, and this kind of reminds me of it. If you are fair and cool toned, please check out Shale. I LOVE it and will definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haidehh on 5/15/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by haidehh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a purpill/grey eyeshadow. you can use it lightly or build it up for a darker color. I have hazel eyes and on me it looks more purpill than greyish. but i love the color.i wanted something for my crease for daylook and it looks great.i build it on for nights. the packaging is the usual MAC ones

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupphd on 5/14/2011 4:49:00 PM more reviews by makeupphd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like I must have gotten a bad pan but this color sucks! it barely shows up- awful color pay off no matter how much i rub my brush in the pan to pick up product! it looked pretty in the pan and I went to buy it after reading the reviews here but it was a huge waste of money! I have other MAC eyeshadows and there is a huge difference in this one's quality compared to all the others I own.
Update- so I scraped the surface of the pan to see if maybe the top had been sealed somehow and interfered with the color pay off- and, it worked! the color definitely shows up now. Even then though, its ok but not great. the color is a gray-lavender-ish type shade but once on it loks kinds dull. I can make it work with shades of gray, blue or purple but I'm not a huge fan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* citygirl123 on 5/13/2011 10:14:00 PM more reviews by citygirl123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love Shale. I'm NC15/NW20 with yellow undertones and green eyes, and it really makes my green eyes pop. Not as much as Nocturnelle, but sometimes, I don't like to wear really bright purples, so this color is perfect for me when I want some more neutral colors.

My only compliant is that you really have to pack on the color because it goes on pretty sheer.

But overall, this is becoming one of my favs.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ceruleanblue95 on 3/27/2011 12:59:00 PM more reviews by ceruleanblue95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shadow! I actually used to hate it, because I thought it was so unpigmented. It is when swatched, but applied to the eye, it looks like a subtle beautiful purple color. I am always drawn to purple-gray colors when I'm in the MAC store, and I always pick this one up, look at that back, then realize that I already have it! I wear this all the time now, and it does work as an everyday eyelid, or crease color. A more shimmery version of this is the limited edition Hypnotizing eye shadow, which I own as well. Worn together, (with Hypnotizing on the lid and Shale on the crease) it becomes a beautiful purple smokey eye that is also very wearable. I do not think that this is the color of a bruise, but just a pretty, subtle, gray toned purple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redchinamarker on 3/27/2011 10:33:00 AM more reviews by redchinamarker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love makeup but don't enjoy looking heavily made-up. For me this is a perfect product. Although it's purple, it's a very natural looking purple that looks nice with brown or taupe. I like using it all over my lids with Cork (medium, slightly reddish brown) in the crease and outer V. Perfect daytime smoky eye.

If your eyeshadow collection is ridiculously neutral because you're hesitant to start using color, this is a perfect baby step.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 3/23/2011 7:26:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Shale (Satin finish) looked so pretty in the pan but, like the previous poster pointed out, I was having a hard time getting it to show up well or to show up in a flattering way. I knew it was highly rated here at MUA so came to look at some of the glowing reviews to see if I could get some pointers. And did I ever.....I found that a lot of people paired this with Vex eyeshadow, which I also have (and was a bit disappointed with). I gave it a try and - BAM - both shadows worked so well together and each one looked so much better all of a sudden. It has become my favourite way to wear Shale and something about the Vex keeps the Shale from looking so much like a bruised or black eye, which I notice a few reviewers have complained about when they've tried to use this shadow. In fact, the tip was so good that I also tried it with MAC's Memorabilia (a matte purple shadow) and Vex works great with that too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashleyx56 on 3/23/2011 6:09:00 AM more reviews by Ashleyx56

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this color! for those of you who cant get any color out of this or its chalky for... get the end of a makeup brush, one with a sharp ridge and scrape the top of the shadow a tiny bit til it starts flaking off. i used the "shavings" off that to put shadow on my lid and for some reason ever since ive scraped off the top layer in that one spot the shadow comes out smooth and pigmented. No idea why, its the only MAC shadow I've ever had a problem with pigmentation or chalkiness but thats the trick. I was SO dissapoitned when I got it because honestly it was way worse than cheapo CG or Maybelline shadows and I hate those brands because they are so chalky. I could seriously get no color on the brush or my lid it was awful but after this I love the shadow just as much as i thought i would. perfect with jest. makes my blue eyes POP with jest and black liner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piinkcheeks27 on 3/4/2011 11:23:00 PM more reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice like mauvy purplish color that doesn't pack on color as much. Meaning, it's not as pigmented in my opinion. I will admit that it goes great when doing a smokey eye and blends well. I just bought Wet n Wild trio in "Silent Treatment" and the purplish taupe color reminded me of Shale, but 100 times bettter!!! Sooo if you are thinking of buying shale, I really recommend you get the Silent Treatment trio. The color is more pigmented and I feel it's the shade that shale should be =x I love you MAC, but there was a dupe for this shadow that's better!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimwhittkeli on 2/22/2011 5:10:00 PM more reviews by kimwhittkeli

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this a gorgeous color but doesn't show up on it's own, i am going to be buying blackboard paintpot and i am sure this will show just how i like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products