Fresh • Sugar Lip Treatment SPF 15 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.5(543 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Rebecca34 on 6/29/2013 12:34:00 PM more reviews by Rebecca34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my least favorite of the Sugar lip treatments but only because I have other colorless balms that I prefer that cost a lot less.

Overall though, this is a decent product. It moisturizes, has a pleasant smell / taste, and contains SPF without making my lips look white like some balms with SPF can do.

The downsides are the cost and the fact that the product gets too soft slippery when it gets even slightly warm. I can keep a tube of most other lip balms in my pocket without it affecting the texture but this one gets kind of soft and can then break easliy. I also don't mind paying more for something with a tint / color but for basic lip balm this is pretty expensive. I will say I've actually never paid for this. I've received free tubes as Sephora birthday or other freebies (always mini-sized).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 6/29/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've had mine for a year now and had received it as the birthday gift set from Sephora. I still have the tiny little tubes with about 1/3 left in each (the tinted and the plain). Since they are so small that should tell you how little I use them or like this particular set.
I'm not a fan of lip balms at all. I've never liked the feel or texture of them. Fresh Sugar goes on smoothly but I still feel a slight balmy texture to it but it does seem to melt into my lips. I'm not able to put it on top of any lipsticks I use, but then again, my lipsticks don't require any additional moisture. Nor do my lips. I've used them in the winter mostly when I don't need anything at all and I'm just outside without any makeup. I have other brands that are far less in cost that work just as well, taste better and do not have that waxy feel to them, such as Ole Henricksen's African Red Tea lip salvation.
Mine haven't melted as others have complained, but I also haven't left mine in the car or in the sun so they haven't had the opportunity. I think this is an extremely overpriced product and more of a gimmick as a birthday gift push from Sephora than anything. But then again, if it works for you and you have the bucks to spend, who am I to say anything? We're all guilty in spending a little something on ourselves somewhere. Maybe this is your guilty pleasure, who knows. It's just not mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kimberlyj33110 on 6/29/2013 10:21:00 AM more reviews by Kimberlyj33110

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this, it smells and tastes pretty good. Most of all it does what it says it will do, and is great for dry craked lips. HOWEVER, my biggest complaint is that it dosen't just melt into your lips, it will melt in your purse /pocket/car ect. And for $20 a pop, there are many other things out there that can give the same effect. Minus the amazing famous brown sugar smell/taste of corse. The company may want to consider making this so it won't melt in the slightest bit of heat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellie179 on 6/29/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by ellie179

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a Fresh lip treatment convert! My lips are very prone to dryness but I usually hate the feel of lip balm and most just seemed to dry my lips out. Vaseline is great to treat the dryness but I hated the waxy feel. I stumbled upon Clarins HydraQuench Moisture Replenishing lip balm which I regarded as my savior because it ticked all the boxes in terms of what I was looking for. Moisturizing, comforting, no funny taste (not that I like tasting my lip balms, but it's inevitable that once in a while you might accidentally taste it on your lips). Then I was given a sample of Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment and ended up falling in love with it. It performed as well as Clarins but I found that I could apply lipstick almost immediately after which was not something I could do with Clarins. And SPF is a bonus right? Admittedly I live in a very humid climate and not had a chance to test its efficiency in colder weather but for now it's my number 1 go to balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crmelody on 6/27/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by crmelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoyed the scent and the light moisture with SPF. The reason I won't repurchase is because Fresh is a really expensive brand (without stellar results like Caudalie) and because I found Jane Iradale's lip drink and Pangea's lip balms. They are better than this in terms of moisture. Still, I miss that lemon scent. If the ingredients were organic or better, maybe I could justify spending $23 on one balm. It does last over a year.

Pros: fresh scent, light moisture, SPF
Cons: expensive, not eco

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 6/19/2013 12:05:00 PM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Received this as a free sample. It's a decent lip gloss and I appreciate that it has an SPF. It's great for running or when I'm exercising outdoors and don't want to wear lip color. I definitely wouldn't have paid for this product though as I don't find it necessary and it isn't worth the ridiculous $22.50 at Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dutchesse on 6/7/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by dutchesse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this SO MUCH! It smells, tastes (on accident, I licked my lips...), feels, and most importantly--looks good! I'm in love with the color and how it feels that I plan on experimenting with the other colors too! I love the sugar petal tinted one, it's just so lovely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vsmini on 6/5/2013 10:23:00 PM more reviews by vsmini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Ummmm are we being serious here? This waxy lip balm is so overpriced I can't believe it sells as much as it does. Is this one of those gigs where people buy it because it's expensive and that's the appeal?

It makes my lips peel and dry out, if I somehow make the mistake of licking my lips and taste this it makes my tongue go numb and the taste is awful, though this usually doesn't happen because I find that this balm simply 'sits' on top of your lips, like a waxy residue and then comes off the first second you bite into anything or take a sip of coffee. Also - it's easy to use up a tube of this stuff so fast. It does smell good and if you apply it to your lips and make sure to not eat, drink or talk too much it does give your lips a nice sheen. So there - I'll give it two lippies but that's all it'll get from me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Thena on 6/5/2013 2:48:00 PM more reviews by Thena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a lip product junkie so I have tried my fair share of lip balms. I bought my original duo before they were a Sephora Bday gift. It was cheaper than buying a full balm, but still pricey. It's one thing for the product to be slightly overpriced, but this lip balm is truly no better than any of the $5 or less ones I have tried such as EOS, Burt's Bees, etc. It's a fine balm, but it does not stay on very much. I like the smell. The packaging is lovely. However, the metal packaging means it is more conducive to heat. My biggest gripe with these balms was they melted very easily and as a result, bent out of shape. One of the balms split in the tube and I had to forcibly stick it back on. In the end, I threw it out. I gave my Sephora gift duo to a friend who admits to not being knowledgeable about beauty products and she even found it worse than Chapstick in terms staying on the lips. All in all, I regret buying this product and there are far better lip balms for far less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hautemommy on 6/5/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by Hautemommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Packaging is nice - love the screw on/off top, which makes it hard to lose. It smells great as well. But that's pretty much it. My lips do get a quick shine but then it rubs off on anything my lips touch. I prefer something that actually soothes my lips, is long lasting - which this is not.

I got received this as part of the duo gift from Sephora but I would not actually go out and spend money on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fresh products

More Lip Treatments products