Fresh • Sugar Lip Treatment SPF 15 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.5(553 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 9/17/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A well deserved 5 lippy. This is great stuff. It smells wonderful, lasts for a good few hours, and my lips are super moist and soft. I will say that $22 for a lip balm is a tad ridiculous, regardless of its 5 lip rating. But it's seemed to have last me quite awhile, so maybe not so harsh considering how many of the "cheaper" lip balms I have known and loved I go through before this guy runs out. I repurchased a full sized one after receiving two travel sized ones as the "bday gift" at Sephora. I love the packaging too - it holds up well. I definitely feel a difference with my lips after wearing this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nreid on 9/12/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by nreid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

PROS
-ultra-moisturizing
-long-lasting
-smoothing effect on lips
-soothing
-light, pleasant scent (like a sugar lemon crepe, not lemonade)
-beautiful variety of tints (or untinted, if that's your thing)
-moisturizing effects last long after the balm wears off
-applies smoothly; no tugging of skin
-product lasts a decent amount of time, even if used every day
-secure packaging
-classy-looking packaging design

CONS
-price $$$
-formula is just a bit soft (but not enough to make it a turn-off)

By now I've read HUNDREDS of reviews on this lip balm, and it seems to be a love-hate thing for majority of people. I found this out after I got a deluxe mini sample from Sephora, and I loved it so much I wanted to know more about it.

Despite having very dry skin that, at times, has even cracked around my nose and at the corners of my mouth, I've never been one to wear much lip balm. Outside of the coldest winter months in Canada, I can get away with not wearing a thing on my lips and most of the time they're fine aside from a little chapping. Alas, I am getting a wee bit older and signs of aging are showing, so the need for more moisture all over my face is greater than ever.

Frankly, I'm very surprised at the claims that this lip balm dries out some people's lips. For me, it's been pretty much the best thing ever to accidentally happen to my lips. I've worn it alone, under lipstick/glosses, and at night. I wake up with it still on my lips in the morning, and they feel fantastic and oh so smooth. I find it moisturizes my lips so well that I can go an entire day without applying it and my lips are still smooth and hydrated, and I can still feel its effects long after it's worn off. It is so far from unhydrating I'm not sure I'm even talking about the same product as some of the other reviewers.

I also find this lip balm long-lasting. As a test, after applying it I ate a hard boiled egg, drank two cups of tea, and brushed my teeth. It was still there even after brushing my teeth! Of course, some of it had worn off, but I've noticed a slight film on my lips as long as four hours after applying it. And that's with drinking, talking and eating.

The scent is just that - a scent. The balm itself isn't flavoured, which is nice. And the scent is light and fresh enough that I find myself putting it on just for the happy perkiness of the scent, which, by the way, is nothing near as overwhelming as the scents/flavours put into a lot of lip glosses and shines.

The formula itself seems to be a bit fragile - I notice that there are marks around the side of the lip balm stick from its casing. So it might be best not to wind the stick up too much to avoid weakening its base. That said, while I have seen some testers in stores that look a bit mushy, my tube has been nothing but the perfect texture - not too soft and not at all hard (unlike Burt's Bees original lip balm, which is rock-hard). Also, while I'm generous with how much I apply to my lips, I don't find that the product is wearing down that fast. I've used it every day for two weeks, and though it is a mini-version I've used barely 1/4 of a centimeter of it.

For me, the sole serious drawback is the price. While I've tried many lip balms over the years and never found anything like this one, the price tag is a bit of a deterrent. If you're someone who likes to constantly apply lip balm, then maybe you might want to have a cheaper version on hand in addition to this one, and reserve this one a bit. But because it works so well for me, I will most definitely be stocking up on a few tubes as soon as I can find a better price than the CAD$26 I see all around town.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Productaddict911 on 8/8/2013 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Productaddict911

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the original fresh balm that inspired all the color versions. The formula is really good but I would not purchase again now that there are color versions with the same texture and SPF benefits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 8/6/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This lip balm doesn't moisturize as well as less expensive alternatives such as Jack Black or Kiehls. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genarod on 8/5/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by genarod

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gah I have such a love/hate relationship with this lip balm.

It's over $22, which is absurd.. it's completely ridiculous. And looking at the ingredients list, it is really only marginally different than any other lip balm. I don't logistically *know* what it is about Fresh Sugar lip balm that justifies the cost.

Moreover it melts in hot weather!! You have to be ridiculously careful carrying this around in your purse every day. Leave your bag in the car without the AC for too long, and the product is mush and breaking. That was a total bummer.

That being said I really am addicted to this lip balm. This is the only lip balm that I feel actually stays on my lips.

Most balms have a very waxy feel when applied to the mouth. I am constantly rubbing my lips together trying to get the residue feeling to go away.. and then its like 20 mins later there is nothing left on my lips. I feel like most lip balms sit on the lips, but nothing actually gets absorbed.

This is why I am addicted to Fresh Sugar. Fresh Sugar doesn't leave a waxy feel to my lips. When I put it on I can feel the product absorbed and my lips feel moist.

I always try to find another supplement for fresh sugar, but this product just feels sooo good. Gah- I hate the price tag though.

22.50 really is insane for lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shopaholica82 on 8/1/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by Shopaholica82

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great product! Got it for free as a birthday gift from Sephora.

Pros: super moisturizing, best lip balm I have ever tried HANDS DOWN.
Cons: slightly expensive for a lip balm

Would definitely purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 7/25/2013 1:24:00 PM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample tube of this and the rose balm from Sephora for my birthday gift. First off: they're good sizes! I feel like they'll last a lone time. They're about the size of other lip balms I use, so in that respect good deal since they were free. They're 22.50 for the full size, which is super pricey for a lip balm imo. I've paid more for lipsticks, but for a clear balm I would never pay that much, although I can see why people do. I use this each morning and night, and my lips do feel moisturized, but it kinda just sits on top of my lips, so if I'm going to apply lipstick on top of the balm, it just clumps up, if that makes sense. It does a good job at nighttime though and for wear on its own. The packaging is super cute and purse friendly with the corkscrew style tube that twists shut. I love that. I also love the scent! It's so lemony and delicious. So, overall, I like this lipbalm to wear alone, under lipgloss, not lipstick, and for nighttime. I prefer it to the rose one, but won't repurchase. I'll likely just keep choosing it as my birthday gift until I find a lipbalm I like more. For me, the scent is why it's become my current fave balm. Without it, I probably wouldn't give it a second glance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tazz222003 on 7/25/2013 12:15:00 AM more reviews by tazz222003

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so, so picky with my lip balm/treatment products. I can see why some wouldn't like this product (strong lemon scent, delicate formula, high price) but let me just say... I LOVE this product! For me it is worth the higher price tag, although I admit it hurts to repurchase this, I actually love the smell and the formula is soft and smooth and nourishing. My dry lips are spoiled to this stuff now! I also have the tinted versions and like them as well for daytime. I think I'll be repurchasing this lip treatment for a long, long time. Lip junkies give it a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lilil95 on 7/11/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Lilil95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Its sooo moisturizing but its sensitive to breaking and it reeks of lemon and I can't stand it. Also, it's way to pricey for a lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 7/10/2013 12:08:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My favorite for years and years. I rarely wear the non-tinted version in the daytime because I love the Rose and Coral versions, but I always keep this one on hand for overnight. I wake up with soft, smooth lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fresh products

More Lip Treatments products