Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment SPF 15

3.5

567 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

oxtinoxate 7.49% * oxybenzone 2% * beeswax * castor seed oil * jojoba seed oil * hydrogenated decyl olive esters * grapeseed oil * fragrance (parfum) * carnauba wax * wheat germ oil * sucrose tetrastearate triacetate * blackcurrant seed oil * meadowfoam seed oil * apricol kernel oil * avocado oil * macadamia ternifolia seed oil * safflower seed oil * sunflower seed oil * retinyl palmitate * tocopherol * ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate * citral * benzyl alcohol * benzyl benzoate * geraniol * limonene * linalool * BHT


on 1/25/2014 7:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was given this for christmas and I don't love it. It's nice on the lips, it's smooth, and soothes my lips and it smells like sugared lemons. But it's far too soft. It broke off the first time I opened the tube. I ended up depotting it and putting it into a different tin to make it easier to put on. It gave temporary moisture but once the balm wore off the moisture was gone. Not a fan!



on 1/12/2014 12:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a double mini set of these from Sephora for my birthday last year, and I was excited to try them. So many people had raved about them before, that not only were the tinted ones beautiful they were very hydrating and moisturizing for the lips. The only one I've used so far is the regular, untinted lip treatment, and the first thing I noticed was the smell. Kind of a sickly sweet balmy smell, which filled me with dread - Nivea's essential lip balm (the dark blue one) has the exact same smell, and that one is super thick and greasy and slippery on the lips, which I am not a fan of.
Since I heard these were super hydrating, I brought them on a winter camping trip with me, sure that my lips would definitely need the hydration. Turns out, I didn't need it as much as I had thought, but I still used it and it ended up having the exact same texture as the Nivea one. It's a slightly thinner consistency, but for something that retails for almost thirty dollars (in Canada) for a full size? I didn't see it. One thing I liked that it didn't do was make my lips feel weird and numb and puffy after I wore it to bed, and it didn't leave a ring around my inner lip line. The packaging is awesome, I've dropped so many lip balms and the cap has just cracked and flown off, whereas this is definitely going to stay put, with the metal and the twist top.
Another thing I found was that this was so soft, it started to break in the tube. I used about half of it, then it just started moving in the tube then broke off! It was still useable, but annoying. I personally would not recommend this lip balm...if you want a similar one, get the Nivea. They're three bucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2014 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this. My lips are addicted to this. I got this as a bday present from sephora and thought I'd never buy this overpriced lip balm but now I can't live without it. It is the only balm that I feel hydrates and soothes my lips, it has the most amazing buttery consistency. My lips looks amazing after I use this. I love to use it under lipsticks, specially dry matte ones it looks perfect under any lipsticks, it makes my lips look perfect and never dry. Because of this I am able to use any lipstick. I wish it wasn't so expensive but until I find something exactly like this I will continue to use it, $22 may not seem like a lot but since I use it often I find I use it up quite fast. Another con is it melts easily if it's not in a cool place.


on 1/4/2014 4:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really love this. I bought it for the harsh winters where I live and it's fantastically moisturizing. I always put it on right before bed. I have the non-tinted one.

That said, it does melt really easily (like if it's in a pocket close to your body). And it is really expensive. I worry about it in summer, but I use it so much I don't even know if I'll have this tube come summer! I think this May end up being the first Chapstick I ever finish.


on 12/27/2013 4:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

without a doubt these are my favorite and best lip balms ever!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Even though this product is so expensive I would most likely purchase it again if I lost it. This leaves my lips super hydrated and glossy. 2 layers of this and I'm good to go. I agree it does have a lemony smell to it which I don't mind and it swivels into a cap securely so it won't open in my bag. I've of it melting I hope that isn't the case case with mine


on 12/2/2013 6:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't get what the hype is about when it comes to these lip balms. At all. Their price is ridiculous. They're no more effective at moisturizing my lips than inexpensive drugstore balms. They taste nasty. The writing on the packaging wears off quickly (at least on the mini sizes I've used). The only time I've reached for this balm is if I'm spending a day in the sun and need broad spectrum UV protection. Otherwise, I avoid them because the SPF comes from oxybenzone and octinoxate, neither of which is particularly reassuring, safety wise. I like the color the rose tint imparts, but that's pretty much it.


on 11/14/2013 2:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Last year, I missed my chance of grabbing my birthday gift from Sephora, and being a lip junkie, I was totally bummed. (And, as someone who isn't nearly as enthusiastic about eye products or highlighters, I was even more bummed about this year's gift.) Fortunately, there were some boxes of the Fresh set left over for nearly a good half of the year, and I was able to obtain mine with an online order.

For what they are, the Fresh Sugar Lip Treatments are mighty expensive. It's easy to find products with similar attributes just by going through the wide array of lip treatments at a drugstore. Aside from this, I can't deny how much I like these.

A little goes a long way because these lip balms are so emollient. Before I was using some lip balms from Nivea and when I switched back, I realized how waxy they felt and how much more product I would need to get the same level of moisture as with Fresh. I adore the sugared lemon scent, and I'm a sucker for yummy-scented lip products! Over the short term and long term, the Fresh lip balms definitely made my lips feel soft and supple.

But because the product is so soft, it's prone to melting and becoming lopsided inside the tube. This is with the mini sizes; I'm not sure how much better the situation is with the full sizes. I think it would have worked better in tubes similar to those of Lip Smackers (where the entire stick of product is tightly encased... I hope that makes sense!). Still, the metallic finish of the tubes and the bold colours are nice, and the minis feel dainty and nice to hold.

Another qualm I have about these products are the pigmentation. I've seen some heavy swatches of the different colours, but the fact is if you layer a Fresh lip balm three times it starts to border on feeling greasy. With one layer, there's barely anything--my lips are average in pigmentation level and when I apply Rose the difference is just too subtle--it's like I applied a lip balm without any colour at all. If the Fresh balms were much more pigmented I'd think differently about the price tag. On a more positive note, certain shades from the line do look a little more pigmented--maybe I should try those?

I would buy this again, but as a rare treat and not at full price, so that I can whiff that yummy, sugar-lemon scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2013 10:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love that picture of it all melted out because that's exactly what happened to me.

I got these as my birthday gift from sephora I guess 2 years ago? I looked it up and was shocked to see how expensive these lip balms are. And though they felt very nice I would never spend 22 dollars on something I would lose in 3 seconds. Like come on it's chapstick. They gave me the plain one and a tinted rosey one which I enjoyed.

I left it in my purse and let me be clear that my birthday's in January and these couldn't last in some of the coldest months of the year. I tried opening it and it was all melted away. The bottom also unscrewed and came off. Fail fail fail fail fail so glad I didn't pay money for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2013 2:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Sugar Lip Treatment in Rose and Coral after I saw one of my favorite Youtubers wear them. I LOVE the Coral color. It's red, but not like a harsh red lipstick. (I hate lipsticks, but this feels like a chapstick.) The Rose color just gives a slight flush of pink to your lips, which is lovely. Also, the packaging is sleek and really pretty~

However, the price is ridiculous. $20+ for one lip product was crazy. If the color wasn't so pretty, I would never have bought it. I also don't care for the smell of the lip product. It's sort of floral/vanilla-ish? I don't really know what it is, but I don't like it. I tend to put an EOS balm over it to try to mask the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top