Paul Mitchell • Super Skinny Daily Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 2.8(154 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 stefuhknee on 7/19/2009 9:30:00 PM more reviews by stefuhknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this line after my hairstylist used it on me, I love the smell and packaging of this product. I like that the conditioner is just the right consistency. The shampoo lathers pretty well for me and really does help smooth down my thick wavy/curly hair. I didn't really notice a difference in drying time. It did however leave my scalp pretty dry. I will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BeautyChic on 7/4/2009 3:46:00 PM more reviews by BeautyChic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo left my hair dry and with a dandruff buildup. It didn't help when I blow-dry my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iheartalize on 4/15/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by iheartalize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Smells nice, moisturizes and leaves hair feeling soft and manageable. I love how Paul Mitchell has different colored tops with each line lol!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pearbeary18 on 4/14/2009 2:44:00 AM more reviews by pearbeary18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this shampoo. I have thick hair, and it seems to smooth it down. It doesn't strip my hair of everything. It smells great too. Everyone should know that those drugstore shampoos typically use sodium laureth sulfate, which is drying to hair but lathers really well. However, salon brand shampoos do not use that ingredient hence there are less bubbles and lather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MXL on 2/22/2009 7:39:00 PM more reviews by MXL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have wavy hair.
This product, together with the condicioner, is AMAZING!!
Smells nice, the texture is great, you will only need a few ammount of it and it lasts forever!
Also, it is not that expensive , and yes yes yeees, I would buy this product again (with the condicioner!)!
Buy it! It will give you a glow and beautiful hair!! As it gets soft, moisturized and great movement! . Well, i may be over reacting but... i really love this product line!! Currently my favourite, for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMisfitMary on 1/21/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by MissMisfitMary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I do not know what these people are talking about. If used as directed and you massage into scalp, you will get bubbles. It smells okay and returned my hair from a dryness that I've never had before. I can get this for a lower price so its great. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TinkPink808 on 1/11/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by TinkPink808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got the set as a Bday gift. I don't really care for both shampoo & conditioner. Made no difference in my hair. My hair is naturally wavy. Kinda on the dry/frizzy side. This line did not do anything for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rebchandler on 12/23/2008 9:52:00 AM more reviews by rebchandler

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Obtained: Bought this shampoo at Ulta this last weekend. It was in a package that came with a small bottle of Super Skinny shampoo, a small bottle of Super Skinny Treatment (conditioner), and the Super Skinny Serum. Got all three for $10.00. I will review all three products since I've only used them all in combination.


My Hair: It is has permanant color in it (dark brown). It is a little past my shoulders. Damaged, dry hair, but very oily scalp. Hair is coarse and straight, but has a tendency towards frizz.


Product: Clear, thin feeling shampoo. Packaging is fine. Smells good. Does not lather at all!


Performance: On the first use...I thought I may actually like these products. No, the shampoo did not lather, but my hair did feel clean afterwards. The conditioner did leave my hair with some slip. And, after applying the serum, my comb slid through my hair without a problem. Now, these products say that your hair will dry quicker. I did not experience that. It still took me about 15-20 minutes to get my hair completely dry, as usual. After drying, my hair was indeed straight & sleek. It had a little different feel to it...but not in a bad way. Just very straight, sleek & shiny. Fast forward 3 days: Okay, this is the 3rd day in a row I've used all three products. I noticed a slight decrease in performance on the 2nd day...but didn't think to much about it. But, today, wow...disgusting...that's all I can say. The shampoo did not feel like it cleaned my hair of all this buildup at all. The conditioner just added to the build up. Yes, my hair is straight today...but not in a good way. Feels like I combed some lard through my hair & it is greasy & flat to my head. No bounce or movement. I can't wait to get home and wash it again tonight with something clarifying!


Overall: Obviously, not too happy with this combo. Now, if I were to use a clarifying shampoo tonight & then use the products again tomorrow...I suspect I may get the great results I had on the first day. So, I may try that. But this is definitely not something you want to use everyday. Also, there are great reviews on here for the serum...so I may try to use that with a different shampoo and conditioner next time.


Oh, well, on I go on my continued search to find the best shampoo & conditioner for my hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleIsTheNewTan on 12/17/2008 8:59:00 PM more reviews by PaleIsTheNewTan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fine, coloured/single-processed hair. While it's not the worst, I did find it made the hairs along the nape of the neck prone to tangling.

I did end up using it with the Colour Protect Daily Conditioner and did NOT have a problem, after that. Using it with the Super Skinny Daily Treatment made the knot problem that much worse.

If I had thick hair [grrr!] I'd probably be all over this. But as is, no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 barbaroxoxo on 11/20/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by barbaroxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is very thick and naturally wavy. It is not very poofy anymore since I started using this shampoo and conditioner. I was using drug store shampoos before I got this. I washed my hair and when I used the shampoo I already noticed my hair was smoother. I applied the conditioner, let it soak in for a few minutes and washed it out. It isn't the easiest conditioner to wash out, but when you wash it the results stay, they aren't washed away also. My hair was way softer and the shine had gone up. I am still looking for the perfect shampoo, but I will always continue to use this until I find 'the one'.

Oh, and don't use alot of conditioner because it makes your really oily and causes build-up. You have to be careful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Shampoo products