Queen Helene • Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.5(178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 calanthe on 3/8/2010 1:55:00 PM more reviews by calanthe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a trial-size at the grocery store for a deep conditioning treatment on my hair but only scanned the ingredients beforehand; this has sulfates in it and is not appropriate for those with fine, damaged hair. I am trying to grow my hair out and am not using sulfates. Plus, there is the repulsion factor; it really does look like a bunch of cholesterol and the smell, although incidental, is not appealing.

So I used it as a shaving lotion on my legs and it worked pretty well. Left that waxy sheen on my legs that I like in the summer. Overall, though, they make better conditioners for fine hair, and better shaving creams.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ascopes on 2/28/2010 5:59:00 PM more reviews by ascopes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I do like this product because my hair is bleached and it does soften it. A lot of people don't like it but i think it's because they don't use it properly. I use this once a week...leave it in for 10 minutes with a thin towel over your head and apply heat from your blowdryer for about 2 to 3 minutes...make sure you wash it out completely (and believe me it takes a while to wash out because it's so thick). The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because I can't stand the smell...it's not a horrible smell but it's not exactly the greatest either. That's why when I'm done I always make sure I apply some leave in spray conditioner to mask the scent (any kind will work).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 incoehoots on 2/23/2010 1:11:00 PM more reviews by incoehoots

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The girl at Sally's recommended this to me. UGH! This stuff is horrible! No benefit to it what so ever. My stylist said this is more for conditioning the scalp. Dunno. Would never buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 juicybgreen on 2/23/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by juicybgreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As a fan of Queen Helene products, I really wanted to like this product. However, I really didn't see my hair benefit from it. The product left my hair heavy and scent really stuck (and stunk). I wont be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 2/20/2010 8:40:00 AM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So many people swear by this. I just wanted to swear at it. I purchased this with the intent of using it as a Deep Conditioning treatment when I used to relax my hair (with Affirm). My hair at that time was very fine, very dense, bone straight, and fragile. I used it with heat and it left such a heavy film on my hair, without offering any moisturizing or strengthening properties. My hair looked duller and had less body and movement than before. It would probably be better to use plain mayo than this IMHO. There is the same if not more cholestorol in it, and it is probably easier to rinse out.


After that, I tried to use the rest of the jar to protect my oldest hair ends when I would touch up a relaxer. I would slather this waxy residue conditioner on my relaxed ends of hair, touch up, so that the relaxer that rinsed off my roots didn't re-relax my hair as it slide down the shaft. It worked fine for that purpose. But I would use it for not other. Way too heavy.

Bottom line - While many people love it for providing moisture and a smooth finish, it left my hair feeling coated, waxy, dry and with a very dull finish after styling. I will not repurchase - except to protect hair during a chemical service.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 savayus on 1/30/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by savayus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this is just plain horrible..I tried as instructed and with EVOO as I red here..none of them work, my hair felt dry and with no life...my regular conditioner works much better.....stay away from this crap!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boombutt on 12/16/2009 2:48:00 AM more reviews by boombutt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

stinky and messy. i used up the jar i had and wouldnt buy it again. i prefer Ojon for my deep conditioning needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dlamsw on 12/15/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by dlamsw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Really greasy and heavy...feels like putting mayonnaise on my hair. Smells terrible and is completely useless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cuenquita on 11/10/2009 8:01:00 PM more reviews by Cuenquita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on days I know I'm not going to go out just because the smell is a little gross and it weighs your hair down. I also only use it once a month since my hair is oily and fine but since I blow-dry and curl my hair a couple of times a week, I use it as a precaution, I can safely say however, that it is effective, I wouldn't know if its a miracle product because my hair isn't all that damaged but I haven't had split ends since I last cut my hair, which has been a couple of months now, It's a good product if you want to grow out your hair to protect it from split ends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loverofmineralmakeup on 10/26/2009 12:52:00 AM more reviews by loverofmineralmakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used to swear by this product and it was my go-to conditioner for the majority of my life -- that is till I discovered my beloved Nexxus products, but I digress.


If you are in the market for a really good and inexpensive conditioner, be it for daily use or deep conditioning, I would highly recommend this gem of hair conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Conditioner products