Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 onewildhoss on 5/5/2011 11:18:00 AM more reviews by onewildhoss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I just bought this cleanser last weekend. I have been using ot for 4 days now. I LOVE LOVE the smell. And I REALLY want to love the product...but I don't.
I do not have sensitive skin. In fact I am sure I have done some horrible things to my face in the name of beauty. And not once have I ever had a reaction. But on day 2 using this product my face strted to itch in a couple of places. I dint think much of it. Day 3-horrible itching and a small rash like patch on my forhead. Last night I woke up scratching my face. Today I have small rash like bumps all over my face. I have not experienced and redness, or burning. Is this temporary, and will get better as my face gets used to it? I don't know. So I emailed the company and asked for their thoughts. I will update in a few days as to their response, and any improvements I see. Im not going to quit using the product yet ( unless my face gets worse, of course).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittanymarkle on 4/20/2011 8:18:00 PM more reviews by brittanymarkle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best cleanser I have ever used!! I've used it at night for about a month and I find myself looking forward to the process every evening.

Pros:
Natural ingredients (many of which are organic)
It smells AMAZING (like fresh oranges)
It has a light lather - nothing too bubbly
Non-drying
Completely removes makeup - even eye make up - with minimal scrubbing!
Does not irritate the eyes at all (as long as you keep them lightly closed, of course)

Cons:
The pump is a little shoddy (leaks a little)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lpp23 on 4/19/2011 11:25:00 AM more reviews by lpp23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Great cleanser! I have very oliy skin and acne- this product has helped clear my skin up! I love that it doesn't have a lot of chemicals that are in many other soaps/cleaners...plus its smells delish! This hasn't caused any problems with my sensitive skin either- no itchness, dryness, or redness after using this for over 6 months. And the price is uh-mazing (found it on sale at target!). Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 contrariwhys on 4/2/2011 10:30:00 PM more reviews by contrariwhys

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far, so good. I've been using this for about a month now and I'm pleased. I have slightly dry skin and previously had been using Basis cleansing gel for the past 5 years.
I think this edges out the Basis for a few reasons. First, Avalon is more natural and doesn't have silicone in it like Basis. Second I find this cleanser is slightly less drying..probably because it doesn't have tea tree oil in it, which I don't need as my face is more dry than oily. And I think I've actually noticed less blackheads while using this cleanser. The ingredients sound lovely and natural.
Removes makeup in one go and smells great.
Only con is that this occasionally stings my eyes after using.
I may have to try some more out of this line.
Bought much cheaper online compared to in stores.
EDIT: This is too drying to my skin. Will not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 backhome22 on 2/9/2011 12:46:00 PM more reviews by backhome22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't have anything good to say about this, it just didn't work for me. Instantly after using it for the first time, my face stung and burned. It turned tight, bright red, and broke out in bumps and pimples and "burnt" dry patches of skin that seem to layers deep. It's been 4 days and my skin has not seemed to heal very much. I've been chugging water and moisturizing , but my skin still looks and feels terrible. The pump also didn't work which annoyed me right away. I have combo/sensitive skin that gets breakouts on my chin normally. This just didn't work on my skin. First and last time using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whosthegirl on 1/18/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by whosthegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this cleanser. I have very sensitive skin and it does the trick. Leaves my face without acne. Lathers nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tuffins on 12/11/2010 3:38:00 PM more reviews by tuffins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think this cleanser is fantastic! I have been using this for just over 2 months now with great results. My skin looks clearer and I have less break-outs. My skin is dry-normal and my fiance has oily skin, and this cleanser works for both of us! Major points as I don't have to fit two bottles in my shower! It smells amazing, you only need the tiniest bit and you get amazing foam, removes all my make-up and washes away very clean with no residue. With two people using this daily, after 2 months we haven't even hit the halfway mark. It is a bit drying, but I find most cleansers a bit drying - just use a moisturizer. I will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristymcn92 on 12/1/2010 8:13:00 PM more reviews by kristymcn92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm going to have to give this a bad rating. As much as I wanted to like it, it just did not work out for me. First of all, I found it to be very drying after I used it, and my skin felt really tight before I put on moisturizer. Another thing, a strange thing for me, is my skin had a bad reaction to this. I don't have sensitive skin and have actually NEVER had a skin reaction to any products until now. I found when I used this my skin started to burn horribly and my face would turn a bright cherry red, which took like an hour to go away completely. Sorry, but I have to give this a thumbs down.
EDIT: So, I'm going to change this to four lippies because something very strange happened. I experienced the redness and tightness, but about two weeks later it completely stopped, and I didn't change anything in my skin regime. But now it leaves my skin glowing and cleans very well and doesn't dry it out. I'm guessing it has something to do with me but I don't know what. I'm still only giving four because of what I did experience the first couple of weeks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyAmelia on 11/11/2010 4:28:00 PM more reviews by LadyAmelia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an incredible product....I have been waiting to review it because I wanted to make sure about the results first. In the very beginning, I had a couple of breakouts....I decided to hang in there and I'm so glad I did. Since that time (two months ago), I have not had ONE breakout. Every person's skin is different, but I have combination skin (oily in the T-Zone) and my skin thrives on this. I used one reviewer's advice on combining a small amount of organic sugar with it every other day or so, and it's wonderful. I follow up with my favorite moisturizer, Jason 5000 Vitamin E, both morning and night. Also, as others have said, the scent of the Avalon is amAzing. Between these two products, I feel like I have new skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IAmNoElizabethArden on 9/13/2010 8:33:00 PM more reviews by IAmNoElizabethArden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this because I wanted to switch from sulfates. Rather than paying $10 for it at Whole Foods, I got it for $8 at Wal*Mart. It's a bit more than common cleansers but cheaper than the high end companies.
Within the first couple of days using it my face broke out. But I continued to use it & eventually the blemishes went away. IDK what the deal was.
I love the scent. It's a wake up to use it. I love how it cleans. It's not drying.
I like that the pump bottle distributes a decent amount each time. I don't think it's too much. I just hope the straw goes all the way to the bottom & gets the last drop unlike most other pumps. That's such a product & money waster.
I'll probably buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products