Avalon Organics Botanicals Vitamin C Facial Cleanser

3.6

124 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Aloe barbadensis leaf juice(1), aqua (water), decyl glucoside sorbito, coco-glucoside, xanthan gum, citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot) fruit oil, citrus aurantiumdulcis (orange) peel oil, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, arnica montana flower extract(1), camellia sinensis leaf extract(1), chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract(1), citrus limon (lemon) peel extract*, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) flower/leaf/stem extract(1), olea eruopaea (olive) leaf extract(1), ascorbyl glucosied, bisabolol, citric acid, glycerin, glyceryl oleate, hydrolyzed wheat protein, tocopheryl acetate, alcohol(1), benzyl alcohol, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, limonene. (1)Certified Organic Ingredient *Also known as lemon bioflavonoids.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The cleanser felt nice the first few days. But a week later I noticed my pores got larger. They were clogged. I stopped using it immediately after realizing it was the cleanser that's clogging my pores.

Now, my pores are going down in size, thank God. The only good thing about this cleasnser is that it smells good. I use it as a handsoap now.



on 6/28/2011 5:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this in conjunction with the serum. I use the serum everyday, but I've found that my combo/oily skin can't always tolerate this daily. If it feels a little tight/dry I use a gentler one for the next wash or so. However, I have found that I think my skin is slowly building up a tolerance, as I can use it more and more regularly.
Not sure if it was the serum or wash or both together, but in the beginning I had the driest/flakiest skin between my nose and lips. I figured this might just be some exfoliation, and used vaseline at night and it went away after 2/3 nights. I feel that this has really helped to brighten my overall skin tone and I would buy this again. The pump part of the bottle leaks, which is a bit of a pain as I move around a lot.
I could imagine drier skin types might need to use this less often. Funny, I originally tried the lavender range from Avalon and that destroyed my skin, and I swore never again. But thanks to the great reviews I decided to try this range, fully expecting it to break me out. Not a problem at all and I will definitely re-buy.


on 6/11/2011 10:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleanser! I only paid $0.29 for mine using ExtraCare bucks at CVS and a 20% off coupon, and it was marked down to $7.99 so I guess I got lucky, but I would pay much more for this cleanser. I find it's comparable to Boscia's purifying cleansing gel in that it's gentle and doesn't strip my skin. Love the uplifting citrus scent, which is nice in the mornings when I'm getting ready for work. It won't remove makeup completely (particularly gel eyeliner or waterproof mascara), so I remove my makeup with a separate remover beforehand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2011 11:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just bought this cleanser last weekend. I have been using ot for 4 days now. I LOVE LOVE the smell. And I REALLY want to love the product...but I don't.
I do not have sensitive skin. In fact I am sure I have done some horrible things to my face in the name of beauty. And not once have I ever had a reaction. But on day 2 using this product my face strted to itch in a couple of places. I dint think much of it. Day 3-horrible itching and a small rash like patch on my forhead. Last night I woke up scratching my face. Today I have small rash like bumps all over my face. I have not experienced and redness, or burning. Is this temporary, and will get better as my face gets used to it? I don't know. So I emailed the company and asked for their thoughts. I will update in a few days as to their response, and any improvements I see. Im not going to quit using the product yet ( unless my face gets worse, of course).


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best cleanser I have ever used!! I've used it at night for about a month and I find myself looking forward to the process every evening.

Pros:
Natural ingredients (many of which are organic)
It smells AMAZING (like fresh oranges)
It has a light lather - nothing too bubbly
Non-drying
Completely removes makeup - even eye make up - with minimal scrubbing!
Does not irritate the eyes at all (as long as you keep them lightly closed, of course)

Cons:
The pump is a little shoddy (leaks a little)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2011 11:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great cleanser! I have very oliy skin and acne- this product has helped clear my skin up! I love that it doesn't have a lot of chemicals that are in many other soaps/cleaners...plus its smells delish! This hasn't caused any problems with my sensitive skin either- no itchness, dryness, or redness after using this for over 6 months. And the price is uh-mazing (found it on sale at target!). Love it!


on 4/2/2011 10:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So far, so good. I've been using this for about a month now and I'm pleased. I have slightly dry skin and previously had been using Basis cleansing gel for the past 5 years.
I think this edges out the Basis for a few reasons. First, Avalon is more natural and doesn't have silicone in it like Basis. Second I find this cleanser is slightly less drying..probably because it doesn't have tea tree oil in it, which I don't need as my face is more dry than oily. And I think I've actually noticed less blackheads while using this cleanser. The ingredients sound lovely and natural.
Removes makeup in one go and smells great.
Only con is that this occasionally stings my eyes after using.
I may have to try some more out of this line.
Bought much cheaper online compared to in stores.
EDIT: This is too drying to my skin. Will not re-purchase.


on 2/9/2011 12:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I don't have anything good to say about this, it just didn't work for me. Instantly after using it for the first time, my face stung and burned. It turned tight, bright red, and broke out in bumps and pimples and "burnt" dry patches of skin that seem to layers deep. It's been 4 days and my skin has not seemed to heal very much. I've been chugging water and moisturizing , but my skin still looks and feels terrible. The pump also didn't work which annoyed me right away. I have combo/sensitive skin that gets breakouts on my chin normally. This just didn't work on my skin. First and last time using this.


on 1/18/2011 4:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this cleanser. I have very sensitive skin and it does the trick. Leaves my face without acne. Lathers nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2010 3:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I think this cleanser is fantastic! I have been using this for just over 2 months now with great results. My skin looks clearer and I have less break-outs. My skin is dry-normal and my fiance has oily skin, and this cleanser works for both of us! Major points as I don't have to fit two bottles in my shower! It smells amazing, you only need the tiniest bit and you get amazing foam, removes all my make-up and washes away very clean with no residue. With two people using this daily, after 2 months we haven't even hit the halfway mark. It is a bit drying, but I find most cleansers a bit drying - just use a moisturizer. I will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top