Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 backhome22 on 2/9/2011 12:46:00 PM more reviews by backhome22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't have anything good to say about this, it just didn't work for me. Instantly after using it for the first time, my face stung and burned. It turned tight, bright red, and broke out in bumps and pimples and "burnt" dry patches of skin that seem to layers deep. It's been 4 days and my skin has not seemed to heal very much. I've been chugging water and moisturizing , but my skin still looks and feels terrible. The pump also didn't work which annoyed me right away. I have combo/sensitive skin that gets breakouts on my chin normally. This just didn't work on my skin. First and last time using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whosthegirl on 1/18/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by whosthegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this cleanser. I have very sensitive skin and it does the trick. Leaves my face without acne. Lathers nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tuffins on 12/11/2010 3:38:00 PM more reviews by tuffins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think this cleanser is fantastic! I have been using this for just over 2 months now with great results. My skin looks clearer and I have less break-outs. My skin is dry-normal and my fiance has oily skin, and this cleanser works for both of us! Major points as I don't have to fit two bottles in my shower! It smells amazing, you only need the tiniest bit and you get amazing foam, removes all my make-up and washes away very clean with no residue. With two people using this daily, after 2 months we haven't even hit the halfway mark. It is a bit drying, but I find most cleansers a bit drying - just use a moisturizer. I will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristymcn92 on 12/1/2010 8:13:00 PM more reviews by kristymcn92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm going to have to give this a bad rating. As much as I wanted to like it, it just did not work out for me. First of all, I found it to be very drying after I used it, and my skin felt really tight before I put on moisturizer. Another thing, a strange thing for me, is my skin had a bad reaction to this. I don't have sensitive skin and have actually NEVER had a skin reaction to any products until now. I found when I used this my skin started to burn horribly and my face would turn a bright cherry red, which took like an hour to go away completely. Sorry, but I have to give this a thumbs down.
EDIT: So, I'm going to change this to four lippies because something very strange happened. I experienced the redness and tightness, but about two weeks later it completely stopped, and I didn't change anything in my skin regime. But now it leaves my skin glowing and cleans very well and doesn't dry it out. I'm guessing it has something to do with me but I don't know what. I'm still only giving four because of what I did experience the first couple of weeks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyAmelia on 11/11/2010 4:28:00 PM more reviews by LadyAmelia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an incredible product....I have been waiting to review it because I wanted to make sure about the results first. In the very beginning, I had a couple of breakouts....I decided to hang in there and I'm so glad I did. Since that time (two months ago), I have not had ONE breakout. Every person's skin is different, but I have combination skin (oily in the T-Zone) and my skin thrives on this. I used one reviewer's advice on combining a small amount of organic sugar with it every other day or so, and it's wonderful. I follow up with my favorite moisturizer, Jason 5000 Vitamin E, both morning and night. Also, as others have said, the scent of the Avalon is amAzing. Between these two products, I feel like I have new skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IAmNoElizabethArden on 9/13/2010 8:33:00 PM more reviews by IAmNoElizabethArden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this because I wanted to switch from sulfates. Rather than paying $10 for it at Whole Foods, I got it for $8 at Wal*Mart. It's a bit more than common cleansers but cheaper than the high end companies.
Within the first couple of days using it my face broke out. But I continued to use it & eventually the blemishes went away. IDK what the deal was.
I love the scent. It's a wake up to use it. I love how it cleans. It's not drying.
I like that the pump bottle distributes a decent amount each time. I don't think it's too much. I just hope the straw goes all the way to the bottom & gets the last drop unlike most other pumps. That's such a product & money waster.
I'll probably buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rararawr on 8/25/2010 3:35:00 PM more reviews by rararawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ugh I wanted to love this product SO bad. I bought this after reading the reviews on here and used it for about a week - maybe a week and a half. I loved the pump top and the bright coloured bottle. The smell is absolutely HEAVENLY and it is packed with all kinds of good things. I loved the way it felt on my skin, lathered quickly, rinsed clean and left a healthy glow. But, after a day or two I started to notice a few pimples on my face and as I continued to use it, more appeared. I reluctantly switched back to my old cleanser and my pimples cleared up. The odd thing is that the parts of my face that weren't broken out were healthy and soft. It's been sitting on my counter looking at me like a sad puppy ever since because I can't bring myself to throw it out. I gave the product a 4 because I think it's a great product, it just didn't agree with me for some reason, therefore I would not repurchase.

EDIT - I recently found out that essential oils can be irritating to some people's skin which I didn't know before. The reason this smells so good is because it has essential oils in it which may be why I broke out. I don't have particularly sensitive but I've never used anything with essential oils in it before. Just a heads up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erinmaui9 on 8/16/2010 12:01:00 AM more reviews by erinmaui9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

In my quest for organic and biodegradable facial care, i found this cleanser during one of my rare visit to Healthy Options. At that time, i was truly disappointed and depressed of my large swelling pimples on my forehead, chin, nose and cheeks. I never broke out this much until I used Etude House's Sleeping Pack, AC Sunscreen and BB Magic Pact.

I've only been using the product for about a week now. But honestly, my large swelling bumps dried out a bit and the redness just disappears. I like how the gel gently forms into a lather, which is just enough to cleanse my oily pimple prone skin. The orange burst scent is also refreshing and invigorating to the senses. And after, I towel my face dry all I see on the mirror is a refreshed and clean skin. I also did not feel any tightness, itchiness or sting.

I am happy that I found a cheap organic vitamin-packed cleanser like this that's why I will recommend this to my friends who are looking for a cheap yet organic alternative to the expensive stuffs their using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BBock on 6/17/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by BBock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on my 2nd bottle of this. I know everyone's skin is different so I understand this may not work for everyone, but it works very well for me. I have oily skin but I use gentle, natural products so my skin won't be stripped and create even more oil. This face wash is gentle, lathers amazingly with just the tiniest bit, smells amazing, and lasts forever. And it's cheap. What more could you ask for? Oh yes, it also doesn't contain any harmful chemical ingredients! Needless to say I really love this face wash.
The only time this is slightly drying is in the dead of winter, and then i switch it out for something a little more moisturizing. I start using it again as soon as the weather becomes warm. I also use it as a body wash for my back and chest after working out. For those of you whose skin it is drying out, try using a little less. I seriously use less then a pea size and it creates incredible lather. That's saying a lot since it's sulfate free! I also use toner afterwards and my skin still isn't dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweettmaidenn on 5/14/2010 10:55:00 PM more reviews by sweettmaidenn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for a few days, and am very happy! I have super sensitive skin, and this doesn't irritate or dry me out. I was looking for something natural and simple to balance with my Obagi Clenziderm line which is really harsh on my skin. Good product! I use it with the toner! I thought Vit C would be good bc I have the microdelivery peel from Philosophy that has Vit C and that did wonders for my skin. Try it!


EDIT: I ended up tossing it because it did nothing for my skin. It did not irritate, but it did not help my oily skin either. I changed it for something more specific for me. I also got rid of the Obagi products because they were too harsh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products