MAC • Frost - Nocturnelle • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(155 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Crista on 7/7/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by Crista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My #1 favorite MAC eyeshadow. Rich purple w/o being overpowering. Works well as both a shadow and liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brokeassprincess on 6/27/2009 1:31:00 AM more reviews by brokeassprincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Awesome e/s! So versatile! Looks beautiful with pinks and purples.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tantrical on 6/7/2009 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Tantrical

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really want to like this color, I do ... but I can't seem to make it work. I've tried it as a lid color and as a crease color, both in vain. It's such a gorgeous color in the pan, but on my Medium skin (Italian), it looks more pink than purple. I foolishly did not return this because I was determined to find a way to make it work, and now I'm stuck with it because the 30 day return period has passed. I'm still determined to make this color work so if anyone has any suggestions, please PLEASE give me some tips.

I gave this 3 lippies because it really is a pretty color, just not on my coloring. I have since found one use for it ... when I create a smokey eye with carbon and some other colors, I lightly dust this on my lid. It's nothing to write home about, but at least I'm finding some kind of use for it. It's never a good thing when you have to mix a million colors just to get one color to work. ::sigh::

Update: 07/24/09 -- I have to say that I am really starting to love this shadow now that I know how to use it. I decided to leave my original review above just in case anyone else is feeling the same way I did when I first purchased this color. Play with the color -- you will find that it is actually a great shadow to have. I am happy with my purchase now and probably would repurchase (if I ever run out).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fuchsiascarf on 5/9/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by fuchsiascarf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a deep purple color. This eyeshadow is very pigmented and blends very easily. I use this as an eyeliner as well as on the outer v of my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 obsessedovermakeup on 4/12/2009 12:33:00 AM more reviews by obsessedovermakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite favorite favorite purple eyeshadows of all time. I've had mine since 2005 and am still using the same pot. It's the best purple on me...NC 30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelakay016 on 4/9/2009 2:20:00 PM more reviews by angelakay016

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this shadow. My current use for it is to use the 219 to line my top lashline with this rather thickly then go back over it and draw a very thin line with liquid liner. The purple right next to my green eyes really make the color stand out and I get tons of compliments when I wear this. I haven't tried it in the crease yet, but I am sure that this would be awesome as part of a sultry smoky eye. Would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abrial on 3/21/2009 9:23:00 PM more reviews by Abrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love using this in a purple smoky eye look, or even as an all over wash. I am not normally a frost fan since I prefer glitter and shimmer (this tends to appear quite matte)...but this color is just perfect the way it is.

I need to start using this more often again, but it is not a color I would use when in a hurry. This color tends to need to be worked with to figure out how it is best used on your individual skin tone. If you don't like it play with it some more, it is just too pretty to give up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flipper5577 on 3/17/2009 8:32:00 PM more reviews by flipper5577

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Nordstrom to see if they had Pink Fish TLC and some how ended up in the makeover chair during a spring fashion show at the store. It was loads of fun, learned some new makeup tricks, and the MA used Nocturnelle ES to create the most amazing violet smokey eye.


Constructivist PP: all over the lid (Metallic brown w/red pearl )
Nocturnelle ES: outer 1/2 of the lid (Pinked-up chrome purple)
Haux ES: in the crease (Soft muted rosy brown)
Graphology ES: outer v (Blackened purple-grey)
Brule ES: Highlight (Soft creamy-beige)
Graphblack Techkakohl Liner: waterline and lashline (Rich graphic black)


I would never have thought to use a brownish-red paint pot with a violet eyeshadow but it worked beautifully. I bought both Constructivist and Nocturnelle that day and tried recreating the look at home. Love it! My new favorite!


Nocturnelle is a frost. If you want something with less sheen but still a beautiful dark purple/violet try FIG. 1 (matte2)!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akimakeiya on 3/17/2009 7:01:00 PM more reviews by akimakeiya

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Everything about this shadow is fab! The lady at the MAC counter put it on me and I was amazed! The shimmery texture is beautiful, and it's by far one of my favorite shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annak5506 on 3/13/2009 5:53:00 PM more reviews by annak5506

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this paired with parfait amore and satellite dreams. Its such a great purple! I love how you can build it and how it brings out my brown eyes beautifully. A must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products