Aussie • Instant Freeze spray • Styling Products

rated 4.2(95 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 losangelesvintage on 10/22/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by losangelesvintage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Aussie Instant Freeze Hairspray

Overall Rating: 4.0/5

Product Efficacy: 4/5
Quality: 3/5
Value: 5/5

Review: I have long, wavy hair, which I usually just air-dry and leave loose. However, itís is a little too 1968 for the office, so this past year Iíve been trying to find an easy, chic updo to substitute. I picked up this hairspray to tame flyaways after seeing that Aussie products generally get good reviews on MUA. Overall, itís a decent hairspray at an amazing price.
For buns and updos, Instant Freeze is perfect - a light misting is all I need to make my hair stay all day. I also spray a little on a disposable mascara brush and use it to get the baby hairs off my forehead. It doesnít look white on my brown hair, although I imagine it would quickly become flaky if you used too much. One downside is that the hairspray definitely does not add shine, but since thatís not something it claims to do, itís not a dealbreaker. If your hair is very dull, though, you might want to try another formulation.
Itís also nice for the few occasions I curl my hair, although not perfect. It can get slightly crispy to the touch, and the name is INSTANT Freeze for a reason! Other hairsprays allow you a few seconds of rearranging before they set, but this one just locks the style in place at once. You definitely have to be careful not to overdo it. Staying power is great, and my curls still move naturally. Iíve slept on it and it doesnít make my hair look like a mental patientís in the morning, either.
The price (around $3) is unbeatable for a 7-ounce can. For someone like me who only styles their hair rarely, shelling out big bucks for products is pretty useless. I also appreciate that Aussie (which, ironically, is owned by Proctor & Gamble) takes care that their hairspray formulas contain no CFCís and comply with all state and federal clean air guidelines. Instant Freeze isnít HG status for me, but itís a solid, affordable hairspray that I can depend on for reliable hold.

Would I buy this again? If I donít find something better at a similar price point, yes.
Would I recommend it? Yes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evangie on 7/25/2010 11:23:00 PM more reviews by evangie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok, i can honestly say i bought ALOT of hairspray, very expensive ones before my wedding day, and unfortunately i only discovered this during our wedding photo reshoot. My curls stayed longer and shinier. If you want extra hold, this is definetly the hairspray for you BUT..if you want touchable soft curls, then..THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. Overall, i really like this product because i want my curls to stay on. Im asian, so my hair doesn't cooperate at all.

Here's a tip, spray your wet hair with tresemme heat protection spray and blowdry, then spray tresemme curling boosting spray and curl your hair with your curling iron, and then spray each curl with the Aussie Instant FREEZE Spray. I guarantee it, and i'm glad i did the wedding photos reshoot with my husband :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FayeFleurDeLis on 7/14/2010 4:58:00 AM more reviews by FayeFleurDeLis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Oh my... guess I spoke too soon. I love the smell and hold on this spray but I noticed a lot of my hair falling out in the shower since I started using it... whats the use if I wont have any hair left? hehe... um yeah I'll try something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shamcd on 6/18/2010 10:28:00 AM more reviews by shamcd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Does exactly what it says, it is awesome! The only drawback (and I won't take a lippie off for it) is that it tends to leave a whitish film on your hair if you spray too much, but all the super duper hold sprays do this. You just have to be careful and do quick bursts....and make sure you don't have to run a brush through your hair after you spray it. Then you'll have a rash of white, sticky flakes to deal with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulamwiggins on 6/18/2010 10:13:00 AM more reviews by paulamwiggins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have to add my accolades to this product. It really does exactly as the name implies! I have used it for years and will continue. I don't use a lot of hairspray, so I only have to buy it maybe every six months.
I wash my hair at night, blow dry it straight (it's long), and give it a quick dusting of this spray. It dries instantly (duh). The next morning, all my hair needs is a quick brush out, a 5 minute touch up with a large-barrel curling iron to smooth it out, another quick burst of spray, and I'm out the door.
And as another reviewer mentioned, the spray really causes my volume from the blow dry to last for several days. This stuff is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 6/5/2010 2:29:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Man, this is some serious hairspray! I can't believe I had it and had not really used it before now. Using it with a ponytail does not count because there's no height to contend with. For a structured style like mine it's perfect. Holds strong with my "fountain" hairstyle! Aussie doesn't fool around! Goodbye Pantene Ice Shine! Dries fast so get hair where you want it because you won't have much time after you spray it on! Arrange beforehand, I learned fast,whereas with Pantene you can spray then arrange.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 6/2/2010 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Best hairspray I have used in years hands down. It does exactly what the name says: it instantly freezes my hair style and holds it ALL day and ALL night! I can go a few days between washing my hair because it locks in the volume and waves. However, it locks hair solid. If you object to your style being frozen solid, this spray is not for you. It's the ultimate helmet-hair spray. The fact that it locks in my hair style requires less fussing with my hair. We all know, the less we touch our hair, the longer it stays clean. :) I have both pump and aerosol. I find pump works better for up-dos and the aerosol works great for all styles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Unico on 5/19/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by Unico

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

It says what it says in the name. It definitely freezes in spot. Totally great for those who tease there hair. ♥

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user24678 on 5/13/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by user24678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Note: This review is for the aerosol version, though I also bought the non-aerosol pump version which seems promising as well but I haven't tried it on my whole head yet.
Oh, thank heavens, my search is over! I've finally found my new HG hairspray! My old favourite, Fructis XXL Volume (the non-aerosol version) was recently discontinued and I've gone through many hair days from hell during my search to find a good replacement. I love this stuff! It's a very fine aerosol mist with just enough pressure to help "poof" and add volume to the hair if wanted, it doesn't leave my black dyed hair with a white cast or dried hairspray droplets, doesn't make my hair look wet, and it has amazing buildable hold! With just a fine misting of this or even if I spray a lot but then brush it out, the hair holds its shape but still remains touchable, and with a couple layers, it absolutely doesn't move! Perfect! And it's cheap! I only paid $5.49 CAD regular price for this at Shoppers Drug Mart. I would highly recommend this if you need something that holds a lot of volume, just want strong hold for an up-do, curls or anything else, or even just want a good quality medium hold spray (in which case you'd just use less of it and a bottle will just go further). And as a note, I too have tried the Got 2 Be Glued with poor results (I think that's really more of a spray gel as it's heavy and gritty and only holds as long as it's clumped together, seeing as it loses all hold and feels disgusting as soon as you brush or finger-comb through it). I MUCH prefer this stuff, hands down!
Update 08/02/2010: Sooo, this product was recently changed. I just started a bottle that I bought a few weeks ago and I noticed right away that it's now in a different bottle with a different nozzle and I think the formula has even changed. It now sprays too heavily and unevenly, takes forever to dry, leaves my hair sticky and unstyleable, and doesn't seem to hold as well. Not only that, but I went through the entire bottle in 4 days (due to the poor hold and messy styling, requiring lots of fixes and touch-ups), which is absolutely ridiculous. Why, WHY, WHY?!?!?! Why must companies "fix" things that aren't broke??? I'm bumping my rating down from a 5 to a 2. That's just how displeased I am with the changes. I do have a bottle of the non-aerosol Instant Freeze that I haven't tried yet, so maybe I'll give that a shot. Otherwise my search for a decently prized, super strong hairspray continues. I really wish I could find Aqua Net products in Canada, because I imagine that might fit my needs. If anyone knows if/where I can find Aqua Net hairspray in Canada (locally, not to buy online, because I go through a lot of hairspray and it'd be a huge hassle to order as many or as often as I need to), please message me!!! I've already tried London Drugs, Wal-Mart, Zellers and Superstore as the company suggested (and we don't have a Loblaws here), but none of those places carry it.
Edit: 08/04/2010: I did a bit of reading and it appears that one ingredient they added to the new Aussie Instant Freeze formula is tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E). This in itself could be causing all the problems with the new formulation. Vitamin E is a thick, heavy oil and has no absolutely place in a firm holding hairspray. It should be reserved for serums or moisturizing or conditioning products or in small amounts in shampoos, but never in a styling product expected to give any hold. I do not approve!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jenni4Design on 5/1/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by Jenni4Design

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this stuff. I recently got a mohawk and have been searching for products to keep it up all day, and this stuff with a little Beyond the Zone Spike It Cement can keep me looking good for days!

I love this WAY better than Got2B Glued Freeze Spray. That stuff just gunks up my hair and does NOT hold all day. Plus the nozzle keeps stopping up, ugh, and for more money than the Aussie Freeze spray, joy.

Aussies Freeze Spray is cheap and works great, dries quickly like a freeze hair spray should and holds all day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aussie products

More Styling Products products