Aussie • Instant Freeze spray • Styling Products

rated 4.2(99 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* racheroonie on 11/16/2010 5:37:00 PM more reviews by racheroonie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this hair spray!! For the price it does the trick. It's the highest hold you can get, and I tease my hair a lot and it always manages to stay. The smell is incredible too, love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 r330achael on 11/5/2010 1:18:00 PM more reviews by r330achael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I cant believe I have never reviewed this! I have been using this for years and it's the best hairspray I have ever tried! I use it when I scrunch my hair and the curls STAY PUT! love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollyhoo on 11/2/2010 8:54:00 AM more reviews by hollyhoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE Aussie Instant Freeze. I've been using it for several years. My hair is very thick and heavy but this stuff is strong enough to hold my long bangs off my face and hold my style (shoulder length wavy layers). Plus, it washes out easily unlike the Aussie Spruch hairspray.

The only problem I have is that whenever I go to buy a new can of it the shelves empty (I hate Walmart) and I have to go on a wild goose chase to find some.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abrial on 10/23/2010 2:27:00 AM more reviews by Abrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Now there is one thing that this spray is good at, and that is instantly freezing your hairstyle. If you are going for a look that you want some movement, I would say don't even bother. This is was one of my favorite hairsprays for when I want an amazingly styled updo that shouldn't move an inch. For that this hairspray works wonders, but I have to admit if you spray a little too much your hair will most definitely come out crunchy, which I have to admit is attractive on no one.


The problem that I have with this is I feel as if this is the reason behind the breakage in my hair. Before using this no matter how long I went between periods of cutting my hair I never got split ends and pieces breaking off. As soon as I stopped using this hairspray my hair started looking a quite bit better, although it is much needed for the haircut coming up next week.


This is the only thing that could have caused the breakage in such a short period of time because I have faith in my high end shampoos and conditioners that I rotate in quite a while. The spray really does suck the moisture from your hair, and tends to make it look quite dull.


Was this product horrible? No, it was not at the beginning...until I realized how much harm this was actually doing to my hair. I really do think now that maybe the price is cheap for a reason. I am glad that I threw away the rest because now that I'm using my Paul Mitchell hairspray my hair is back to being soft and shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 losangelesvintage on 10/22/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by losangelesvintage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Aussie Instant Freeze Hairspray

Overall Rating: 4.0/5

Product Efficacy: 4/5
Quality: 3/5
Value: 5/5

Review: I have long, wavy hair, which I usually just air-dry and leave loose. However, itís is a little too 1968 for the office, so this past year Iíve been trying to find an easy, chic updo to substitute. I picked up this hairspray to tame flyaways after seeing that Aussie products generally get good reviews on MUA. Overall, itís a decent hairspray at an amazing price.
For buns and updos, Instant Freeze is perfect - a light misting is all I need to make my hair stay all day. I also spray a little on a disposable mascara brush and use it to get the baby hairs off my forehead. It doesnít look white on my brown hair, although I imagine it would quickly become flaky if you used too much. One downside is that the hairspray definitely does not add shine, but since thatís not something it claims to do, itís not a dealbreaker. If your hair is very dull, though, you might want to try another formulation.
Itís also nice for the few occasions I curl my hair, although not perfect. It can get slightly crispy to the touch, and the name is INSTANT Freeze for a reason! Other hairsprays allow you a few seconds of rearranging before they set, but this one just locks the style in place at once. You definitely have to be careful not to overdo it. Staying power is great, and my curls still move naturally. Iíve slept on it and it doesnít make my hair look like a mental patientís in the morning, either.
The price (around $3) is unbeatable for a 7-ounce can. For someone like me who only styles their hair rarely, shelling out big bucks for products is pretty useless. I also appreciate that Aussie (which, ironically, is owned by Proctor & Gamble) takes care that their hairspray formulas contain no CFCís and comply with all state and federal clean air guidelines. Instant Freeze isnít HG status for me, but itís a solid, affordable hairspray that I can depend on for reliable hold.

Would I buy this again? If I donít find something better at a similar price point, yes.
Would I recommend it? Yes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evangie on 7/25/2010 11:23:00 PM more reviews by evangie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok, i can honestly say i bought ALOT of hairspray, very expensive ones before my wedding day, and unfortunately i only discovered this during our wedding photo reshoot. My curls stayed longer and shinier. If you want extra hold, this is definetly the hairspray for you BUT..if you want touchable soft curls, then..THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. Overall, i really like this product because i want my curls to stay on. Im asian, so my hair doesn't cooperate at all.

Here's a tip, spray your wet hair with tresemme heat protection spray and blowdry, then spray tresemme curling boosting spray and curl your hair with your curling iron, and then spray each curl with the Aussie Instant FREEZE Spray. I guarantee it, and i'm glad i did the wedding photos reshoot with my husband :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FayeFleurDeLis on 7/14/2010 4:58:00 AM more reviews by FayeFleurDeLis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Oh my... guess I spoke too soon. I love the smell and hold on this spray but I noticed a lot of my hair falling out in the shower since I started using it... whats the use if I wont have any hair left? hehe... um yeah I'll try something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shamcd on 6/18/2010 10:28:00 AM more reviews by shamcd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Does exactly what it says, it is awesome! The only drawback (and I won't take a lippie off for it) is that it tends to leave a whitish film on your hair if you spray too much, but all the super duper hold sprays do this. You just have to be careful and do quick bursts....and make sure you don't have to run a brush through your hair after you spray it. Then you'll have a rash of white, sticky flakes to deal with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulamwiggins on 6/18/2010 10:13:00 AM more reviews by paulamwiggins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have to add my accolades to this product. It really does exactly as the name implies! I have used it for years and will continue. I don't use a lot of hairspray, so I only have to buy it maybe every six months.
I wash my hair at night, blow dry it straight (it's long), and give it a quick dusting of this spray. It dries instantly (duh). The next morning, all my hair needs is a quick brush out, a 5 minute touch up with a large-barrel curling iron to smooth it out, another quick burst of spray, and I'm out the door.
And as another reviewer mentioned, the spray really causes my volume from the blow dry to last for several days. This stuff is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 6/5/2010 2:29:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Man, this is some serious hairspray! I can't believe I had it and had not really used it before now. Using it with a ponytail does not count because there's no height to contend with. For a structured style like mine it's perfect. Holds strong with my "fountain" hairstyle! Aussie doesn't fool around! Goodbye Pantene Ice Shine! Dries fast so get hair where you want it because you won't have much time after you spray it on! Arrange beforehand, I learned fast,whereas with Pantene you can spray then arrange.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aussie products

More Styling Products products