MAC Half-N-Half

4.1

132 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Diisostearyl Malate, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Lanolin Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax\Candelilla Cera\Cire De Candelilla, Octyldodecanol, Ozokerite, Silica, Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge, Astrocaryum Murumuru Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Cholesterol, Ceramide 3, Alumina, Linoleic Acid, Vanillin, [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6, Red 7 Lake, Red 28, Red 30, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake]


on 10/5/2010 11:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am nc25-30 and this compliments my color! It's the kind of nude that does not make your lips disappear or dead pale. Great for everyday makeup with a smokey look. My utmost fave mac lipstick!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 9/29/2010 12:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a surprise hit for me. It was suggested by a MAC SA and I was rather hesitant at first because I generally don't like "nude" lipsticks. I'm pale and my lips are not heavily pigmented and most nudes give me "concealer lips" that just disappear. She put this one on me and I added my favourite gloss (Buxom "Lola" which turns out to be very similar) and it looked great! I love the texture and finish and it looks great with a smoky eye or with grey/violet colours (which I've shied away from because I couldn't figure out how to balance the lip/rest of my face without making my yellow undertone skin look dead). I also like it when I'm wearing almost no makeup - it makes me look polished and "finished" without really drawing attention to itself. Finally, a neutral/nude shade that flatters me! I really like it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2010 12:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Suggested by a Mac employee. I used this for a polished and neutral look for work. It's more brown than pink but it still looks good on me. Too dark for a nude look on me. I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2010 3:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my ALL TIME FAVOURITE nude color. It is very pigmented, creamy and very natural looking on me (I am NC30). Love Love LUVVVV


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this lipstick on a whim one day. I've always been looking for a decent nude colour that would flatter my skin tone. Most of the ones I tried made me look really ill and washed me out basically. The SA at the MAC store recommended this so I tried it.

I loved it right away. It gave me the nude look I wanted. On my lips it still has a hint of pink but it gives me a really polished look which I love.I think this would work amazingly with smokey eyes. It IS an amplified lipstick though so I think it can get a bit dry. I usually exfoliate my lips with Lush's lip scrub and follow up with a bit of lip balm. Not too much but just enough to create a smooth base for the lipstick. I have also tried this topped with nude gloss and it looked great. I really recommend exfoliating your lips before using this though otherwise your lips might look gross and cracky. I can't really explain the colour but it worked really well on my skin tone.


For reference, I have NC40 skin and that photo uploaded is of me. Lol apologies for the awkward face - I was doing it purely to test my lippie. Check it out though and if your skin matches mine then definitely give this a try :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2010 1:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been on the hunt for a nude lipstick for a long time. Since my lips are naturally very dark, it's been hard to find a natural lip color. When I first picked this up to try it at the store, it looked very dark to me based on the look of it. But when I put it on, it was the perfect shade of nude! It wasn't so neutral that it washed me out, but it was definitely a wearable color. This was my very first MAC lipstick and is still my very favorite. Give it a chance next time you're browsing in MAC.


on 8/19/2010 6:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this but returned it the next day but only because I was looking for a specific shade (which ended up being Hug Me) however, I will say that it really is one of the nicest straight up warm and flattering shades of brown. I wouldn't call it a nude cause I think it's a tad bit too dark for that, nor could I detect any pink in it, however it is extremely wearable and a lovely brown.


on 8/18/2010 1:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been on a hunt for a nude lipstick that matches well with my coloring, and Half n' Half is just that. I tried on so many lipsticks at MAC before I found this one, and I fell in love. I had a particular makeup look that I knew I would be wearing soon, and it demanded a nude lip. My lips have a natural pink/nude tone to them, so this LS gave them just enough color, without overpowering my eyeshadow. HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2010 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this lipstick now for a while, and its the least one I use.
Not that its not a good color, but if I have to wear a nude lip, its definitely not going to be this one.

Its a brownish creamy color, and may look dark on the lips, however I recommend using this with bronzer, its a nice summer-fall shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2010 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this from the mac website hoping it would be a good for a nude lip. The shade is REALLY pigmented...it makes me look like a corpse. I can't find a way to wear this. I suppose it could look good with the right lipliner and lipgloss, but I can't find a way to make it work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
184 Reviews
provocalips
56 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top