MAC • Half-N-Half • Lipstick

rated 4.1(131 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 9/29/2010 12:56:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a surprise hit for me. It was suggested by a MAC SA and I was rather hesitant at first because I generally don't like "nude" lipsticks. I'm pale and my lips are not heavily pigmented and most nudes give me "concealer lips" that just disappear. She put this one on me and I added my favourite gloss (Buxom "Lola" which turns out to be very similar) and it looked great! I love the texture and finish and it looks great with a smoky eye or with grey/violet colours (which I've shied away from because I couldn't figure out how to balance the lip/rest of my face without making my yellow undertone skin look dead). I also like it when I'm wearing almost no makeup - it makes me look polished and "finished" without really drawing attention to itself. Finally, a neutral/nude shade that flatters me! I really like it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PepperTam on 9/17/2010 12:25:00 PM more reviews by PepperTam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Suggested by a Mac employee. I used this for a polished and neutral look for work. It's more brown than pink but it still looks good on me. Too dark for a nude look on me. I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/17/2010 3:20:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my ALL TIME FAVOURITE nude color. It is very pigmented, creamy and very natural looking on me (I am NC30). Love Love LUVVVV

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ladyinsane25 on 9/2/2010 1:20:00 PM more reviews by ladyinsane25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lipstick on a whim one day. I've always been looking for a decent nude colour that would flatter my skin tone. Most of the ones I tried made me look really ill and washed me out basically. The SA at the MAC store recommended this so I tried it.

I loved it right away. It gave me the nude look I wanted. On my lips it still has a hint of pink but it gives me a really polished look which I love.I think this would work amazingly with smokey eyes. It IS an amplified lipstick though so I think it can get a bit dry. I usually exfoliate my lips with Lush's lip scrub and follow up with a bit of lip balm. Not too much but just enough to create a smooth base for the lipstick. I have also tried this topped with nude gloss and it looked great. I really recommend exfoliating your lips before using this though otherwise your lips might look gross and cracky. I can't really explain the colour but it worked really well on my skin tone.


For reference, I have NC40 skin and that photo uploaded is of me. Lol apologies for the awkward face - I was doing it purely to test my lippie. Check it out though and if your skin matches mine then definitely give this a try :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xotsmoke on 8/26/2010 1:58:00 PM more reviews by xotsmoke

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on the hunt for a nude lipstick for a long time. Since my lips are naturally very dark, it's been hard to find a natural lip color. When I first picked this up to try it at the store, it looked very dark to me based on the look of it. But when I put it on, it was the perfect shade of nude! It wasn't so neutral that it washed me out, but it was definitely a wearable color. This was my very first MAC lipstick and is still my very favorite. Give it a chance next time you're browsing in MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinaGreece on 8/19/2010 6:04:00 AM more reviews by TinaGreece

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this but returned it the next day but only because I was looking for a specific shade (which ended up being Hug Me) however, I will say that it really is one of the nicest straight up warm and flattering shades of brown. I wouldn't call it a nude cause I think it's a tad bit too dark for that, nor could I detect any pink in it, however it is extremely wearable and a lovely brown.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adlrmns on 8/18/2010 1:36:00 PM more reviews by adlrmns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on a hunt for a nude lipstick that matches well with my coloring, and Half n' Half is just that. I tried on so many lipsticks at MAC before I found this one, and I fell in love. I had a particular makeup look that I knew I would be wearing soon, and it demanded a nude lip. My lips have a natural pink/nude tone to them, so this LS gave them just enough color, without overpowering my eyeshadow. HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LAgirl333 on 7/17/2010 1:58:00 PM more reviews by LAgirl333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have this lipstick now for a while, and its the least one I use.
Not that its not a good color, but if I have to wear a nude lip, its definitely not going to be this one.

Its a brownish creamy color, and may look dark on the lips, however I recommend using this with bronzer, its a nice summer-fall shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bttrflyrose on 6/10/2010 11:45:00 PM more reviews by bttrflyrose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this from the mac website hoping it would be a good for a nude lip. The shade is REALLY pigmented...it makes me look like a corpse. I can't find a way to wear this. I suppose it could look good with the right lipliner and lipgloss, but I can't find a way to make it work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shyred05 on 6/10/2010 8:13:00 PM more reviews by shyred05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Just bought this earlier b/c I wanted to change my look for the day since I always wear red. Usually, nudes make me look like a corpse especially the matte ones. This one is different. Just 1 or 2 swipes of the amplified formula is enough for the colour of the tube to stay true even on the most pigmented lips. and it doesn't feel nor look dry on me. However, I asked my brother if it looks good when I got home but he said he likes the other lipstick I bought better (which was maybelline's rum raisin). Oh well...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products