MAC Half-N-Half

4.1

134 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Diisostearyl Malate, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Lanolin Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax\Candelilla Cera\Cire De Candelilla, Octyldodecanol, Ozokerite, Silica, Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge, Astrocaryum Murumuru Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Cholesterol, Ceramide 3, Alumina, Linoleic Acid, Vanillin, [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6, Red 7 Lake, Red 28, Red 30, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake]


on 11/2/2010 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My all-time favorite lipstick from MAC - I love the creamy-ness and the staying power of the Amp-ed lipsticks. Perfect Nude shade for me!



on 10/24/2010 9:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried on dozens of nude lipsticks at MAC before I decided on this one. Fresh Brew was too cool, I didn't like the matte nude lip that Velvet Teddy and Honeylove had to offer, and Blankety and Cherish were too light for my tan skin and pigmented lips, and Modesty gave me concealer lips (ew). Half N' Half has just enough pink so that I don't look washed out, and just like the other Amplified Creme lipsticks, it's so pigmented that one swipe is all you need for lots of color. This lipstick looks great under clear gloss with a smokey eye. If you're having a hard time finding a good nude lipstick because everything out there is too light for you, try this one.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2010 11:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am nc25-30 and this compliments my color! It's the kind of nude that does not make your lips disappear or dead pale. Great for everyday makeup with a smokey look. My utmost fave mac lipstick!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2010 12:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a surprise hit for me. It was suggested by a MAC SA and I was rather hesitant at first because I generally don't like "nude" lipsticks. I'm pale and my lips are not heavily pigmented and most nudes give me "concealer lips" that just disappear. She put this one on me and I added my favourite gloss (Buxom "Lola" which turns out to be very similar) and it looked great! I love the texture and finish and it looks great with a smoky eye or with grey/violet colours (which I've shied away from because I couldn't figure out how to balance the lip/rest of my face without making my yellow undertone skin look dead). I also like it when I'm wearing almost no makeup - it makes me look polished and "finished" without really drawing attention to itself. Finally, a neutral/nude shade that flatters me! I really like it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2010 12:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Suggested by a Mac employee. I used this for a polished and neutral look for work. It's more brown than pink but it still looks good on me. Too dark for a nude look on me. I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2010 3:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my ALL TIME FAVOURITE nude color. It is very pigmented, creamy and very natural looking on me (I am NC30). Love Love LUVVVV


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this lipstick on a whim one day. I've always been looking for a decent nude colour that would flatter my skin tone. Most of the ones I tried made me look really ill and washed me out basically. The SA at the MAC store recommended this so I tried it.

I loved it right away. It gave me the nude look I wanted. On my lips it still has a hint of pink but it gives me a really polished look which I love.I think this would work amazingly with smokey eyes. It IS an amplified lipstick though so I think it can get a bit dry. I usually exfoliate my lips with Lush's lip scrub and follow up with a bit of lip balm. Not too much but just enough to create a smooth base for the lipstick. I have also tried this topped with nude gloss and it looked great. I really recommend exfoliating your lips before using this though otherwise your lips might look gross and cracky. I can't really explain the colour but it worked really well on my skin tone.


For reference, I have NC40 skin and that photo uploaded is of me. Lol apologies for the awkward face - I was doing it purely to test my lippie. Check it out though and if your skin matches mine then definitely give this a try :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2010 1:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been on the hunt for a nude lipstick for a long time. Since my lips are naturally very dark, it's been hard to find a natural lip color. When I first picked this up to try it at the store, it looked very dark to me based on the look of it. But when I put it on, it was the perfect shade of nude! It wasn't so neutral that it washed me out, but it was definitely a wearable color. This was my very first MAC lipstick and is still my very favorite. Give it a chance next time you're browsing in MAC.


on 8/19/2010 6:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this but returned it the next day but only because I was looking for a specific shade (which ended up being Hug Me) however, I will say that it really is one of the nicest straight up warm and flattering shades of brown. I wouldn't call it a nude cause I think it's a tad bit too dark for that, nor could I detect any pink in it, however it is extremely wearable and a lovely brown.


on 8/18/2010 1:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been on a hunt for a nude lipstick that matches well with my coloring, and Half n' Half is just that. I tried on so many lipsticks at MAC before I found this one, and I fell in love. I had a particular makeup look that I knew I would be wearing soon, and it demanded a nude lip. My lips have a natural pink/nude tone to them, so this LS gave them just enough color, without overpowering my eyeshadow. HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top