Revlon Super Lustrous Creme - Cherries In The Snow 440

4.0

122 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/20/2012 4:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have a soft spot for Revlon lipsticks. Let me get out of the way the reason for deducting two lippies. Compared to Julie Hewett, Revlon's lipsticks don't have the same moistness over an extended amount of time, due to the fact JH lipsticks having a bit of camellia oil unlike Revlon. In terms of color choice and leaving an even stain as it wears away, I find Lipstick Queen outperforms Revlon. But, when you think about it, it speaks well of Revlon that it does as well as it does compared to brands costing over twice as much.
I do get what people mean about it sometimes "pulling fuschia". With me, I've found Cherries in the Snow is borderline on me: with certain outfits, it looks redder and with others pinker. But, I'm not actually faulting it for being like that; if you eat as many ripe cherries as I do, you realize that ripe cherries are a shade of red that has a tinge of pink or purple. But, when it does pull pink on me, it's still very wearable. The main reason I'm reviewing this product is to offer a tip to people who have found Cherries in the Snow too bright pink or fuschia when they try it. My favorite way to wear this lipstick is to put a dot of it in my palm, then get a dab of clear balm (I do Smith's or Perfumeria Gal, but even plain Vaseline would work), and mix the balm into the dot of lipstick. Then, I apply the mixture to my lips with my finger. Doing it this way sheers it out enough that the shade is rendered a juicy, more natural shade--like cherry stained lips or a girl who has just eaten a popsicle, while at the same time, offering a little more pigment than a lipgloss would. So, if you've applied this lipstick straight to your lips and not liked the results, try my method. For that matter, people who like to apply it straight should consider experimenting with my method--it's nice to know a product's versatility. Anyway, I have a definite affection for this lipstick and understand why it has such diehard fans. I like that it's the kind of color you can wear in warm and cold weather. Yes, I will buy this product again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 4/4/2012 10:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Other

This is the only red lipstick I can wear: most reds clash with my strawberry blonde hair and/or wash out what little color my skin has. Cherries in the Snow is a sharp blue-red on me - no pink, and certainly not fuchsia.
I often get compliments on it although one BF objected, saying it was "too cartoon-y." I wore it anyway. I love cartoons. :p
This stuff lasts all day and night, and turns itself into a lovely stain after several hours. Application must be done V carefully since errors are not easily rectified!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2012 12:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this! It's the perfect red for me. I wore it to church and received several compliments. It gives a classic flare that I absolutely love...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2012 5:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I adore this color since it comes out to be a cherry red, not a straight up red. I saw ppl here mentioning it turned fushiaish on them. I don't like true reds..I have olive tone skin and red doesnt go with what I wear anyway. So, It's expected that it be "cherry" red and once that fades off, it will of course turn to pink. It's less serious than a red but still is serious color that's not too pink. I only wish Revlon's lipsticks would have better caps that stay on over time..but overall Love the color. Love that they have the np to match too. update 9/32/12: This color is actually beautiful on yellow /olive skinned girls. Despite what was mentioned by other raters.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2012 7:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Color: On me, Cherries in the Snow is fuchsia with no trace of red. My lips tend to turn lipsticks pinker than they look in the tube, so your mileage may vary. But I'd describe the color as a slightly darker version of Revlon Colorburst in Fuchsia: a bold (and, in my opinion, very pretty) magenta. I have pale, cool-toned skin and dark hair and I find the color flattering.


Formula: I've tried a few Super Lustrous lipsticks that felt greasy and faded very quickly, but Cherries in the Snow is a nice exception. The formula isn't terribly moisturizing, and applying lip balm before the lipstick isn't a bad idea.
But it lasted me several hours and faded evenly; I drank a cup of coffee and a glass of wine and was pleasantly surprised that most of the color stayed on my lips. I suspect you'd have to reapply after a meal, but that's not a drawback for me.


Overall: Definitely recommend. I can see why this lipstick is still popular after 60 years!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2012 1:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I thought I'd totally rock this lipstick, but I was wrong. I have very cool toned fair skin, with dark hair and eyes -- the type of coloring that should be perfect for this lipstick! Plus I like bold pinks and reds. But this lipstick... bold doesn't even describe it. It's a mix of in-your-face fuchsia and hot pink. The hot pink, I can handle. But the fuchsia... I can't. I just can't! But I can see some folks really rocking this for a night out clubbing or fun ladies night.


I do think that it does make a really pretty stain, though. So I'll probably use it for that.


PS: Revlon's Love That Red is everything I wanted Cherries in the Snow to be. It's a beautiful hot pink with a touch of red. No fuchsia.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2012 3:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I Love Love Love this color this is the best Red that I have ever put on my lips. I am so in Love with this color. I have a backup and will get a backup of my backup. I cant wait to get another one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2012 2:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Didn't look right on me, but gave it 4 lippies because you can't roll a color like this under the bus. I loved the texture, just bright in an odd way on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2011 3:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

On me (a light cool-toned complexion with a mix of pink and yellow undertones), Cherries in the Snow rides along the undercurrents of being a rose and/or a berry while actually remaining a cool pink-based -if fuchsia were a red- red.


That sounded less complicated in my head. What I mean to say is that depending on the lighting and what colors I'm wearing, Cherries in the Snow sometimes verges on being more of a rose or more of a berry (both on the cool side, which on my winter complexion are both very flattering), although it's actually a fuchsia pinkish red. It seems important to say though that on me, Cherries in the Snow is still a red, I don't find it ACTUALLY pink as some other reviewers have.


I find this lipstick to be extremely versatile; not only for the sometimes-rose, sometimes-berry, always red variations in color it provides but because depending on how you apply, it can create a lovely and subtle stain, a standout dramatic lip, and even a very pretty "oh I'm just a little flushed here coming in from the cold" cream blush. The texture is creamy and not drying, the finish is matte (no sparkles or shimmer here), and the level of pigmentation is excellent so color lasts all day barring meals. And it's cheap. There really aren't many negatives that I can think of unless you better suit warmer reds or prefer more nude colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2011 9:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

With a name like Cherries In The Snow, I was expecting a true, blue toned red, but,instead, Cherries In The Snow is a bold fuchsia/magenta lipstick. Surprisingly, I have no problem with the lipstick. I tend to thick fuchsia/magenta is my version of a "red lip". I do think the name is misleading though. Others may expect a blue toned red so, in that aspect, I deduct a lippie for that. But, as far as formula, nice, creamy and smooth lipstick with no funky lipstick taste or smell.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top