BeneFit Cosmetics You Rebel

2.9

240 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/5/2011 2:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product! When I apply it, it makes my skin super smooth. It does cover the little redness that I have and it just evens out everything. The scent is quite plesent but you won't notice it that much. I hate the price! I paid like €25 or so, but a little goes a long way so I guess it's okay. The packaging.. Yes it's hygiene but I don't like how after a while it's just all cracked up.
This product gives me a glow and I love it! Definitely Repurchase



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Regardless of the negative reviews, I decided to give this a try. The Tarte Smooth Operator which had high reviews on here, did not work for my at all. I was so excited to try that one because I love Tarte, but the Smooth Operator broke me out like crazy!! (I don't have "extremely" sensitive skin. I've used Covergirl, Clinique, Loreal foundations, as well as Mac's Tinted Moisturizer with no problems.) I decided to give this one a try after the MAU at Sephora showed it to me. My skintone is medium-tan, and this matched perfectly. This very lightweight and moisturizing. My cheeks are super dry, so this doesn't look greasy on me. However, it may on oily skinned chicks. I also liked the Sephora Brand tinted moisturizer that I tried today. It was nice at well, but I liked the consistency of this better. (I think the Sephora Brand one has a little more coverage, and I wouldn't mind trying that one out as well.) I also tried the Korres Watermelon Tinted Moisturizer, and it was way too heavy for my liking and didn't blend well. The You Rebel feels cool on my dry skin and it gives nice moisture. Downside- Very light coverage, especially compared to the Tarte Smooth Operator. (Mac's Studio Moisture Tint gives more coverage as well, but it's not as light weight.) Also, the packaging sucks. It's not practical. Overall, I do like this product as a tinted moisturizer on days when I want light coverage.

*edit 3/22/11: taking a lippie off because as my skin is getting less dry with the weather warming up...i find this to be somewhat greasy on the skin

*edit 7/31/11*: I find that when I apply the MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder over top of this, I get such a beautiful smooth, natural finish. I definitely recommend setting this if you are on the oil side (my t-zone gets oily right now in the summer). When I used both of these products, my skin tone is evened out and my flaws are covered. My skin just has a natural look, without looking too made up.


on 12/22/2010 1:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is marketed as a "one shade fits all" product which totally baffles me (if it really was, why did they later come out with a YouRebel Lite version, huh?)...on my NC15-20 yellow undertoned skin, this appears as a dark orange colour. Makes me look dirty. My bestfriend who is a tanned Dominican, roughly an NC37/40 by my guess, tried this out and although the shade fit her well enough, the undertone was too orange on her also.


The formula is meant to be oil free, which I would never have believed unless I read it on the description. It's so greasy in texture and makes my normal/combo skin oil up pretty quickly, even ontop of primer. The consistency is thick and pasty...like a cream. My skin feels nice and smooth after applying, but there is NO coverage whatsoever. I don't expect TM's to give much coverage (heck, I'm a light-medium coverage kinda gal) but this just takes the biscuit! I have an uneven skintone and this does nothing for it, apart from making me look like a splotchy satsuma. Feels pretty lightweight on my skin despite the thick consistency though.


The smell is very overpowering and not plesant at all. This TM contains a chemical sunscreen, so you must not get this anywhere near your eyes as your eyes are much too sensitive for chemical sunscreens. I got this too close to my eye on one occasion and it burnt like crazy...I've read many reviews that have said they had reactions on their eyes aswell from this. Be careful.



I don't like the packaging either - it looks all cute and retro but the durability sucks. My tube split in half whilst I was (gently!) squeezing some of the product out...it must be a very cheap material if it can break so easily. The £21.50 I paid for this does not seem good value for money at all.


I also get some cystic breakouts from this, I'm supposing it's either my skin being irritated by the chemical sunscreen or the fact that this oils up so easily on me and must clog my pores.


Defiantely not the product for me. Overpriced and doesn't deliver.
I have also tried the YouRebel Lite - the colour is much better, but I still have the coverage/oil/breakout issues with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2010 11:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have oily/acne prone skin and use differin gel nightly. The winter season has caused havoc on my skin. All of my foundations look dry and cakey while accentuating my flaky skin from the differin. I went to my favorite benefit counter for help. The SA recommend I try You Rebel. It is perfect! The shade blends in well with my medium skintone NC30/35 and it looks so natural. It does a good job at evening out my skin and if I need any additional coverage I will use a concealer for blemishes or acne scars. It can look greasy once applied so I wait until I'm finish with all my mu and touch up with a dr. feelgood (another product the SA suggested) where needed. For the first time this season my skin actually looked like skin. This is a great winter foundation for me. Smells lovely too.


on 12/11/2010 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Goes on very smoothly but after a few hours it settled into all the lines on my forehead and i barely have any wrinkles! IT just didnt work well with my dry skin and the color was too dark for my NC 20-25 skin. I also noticed my face becoming more oily throughout the day. I didnt use it long enough to notice any breakout.


on 10/29/2010 7:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I was a fan of Beneit products, and I was surprised when it claimed to suit all skin tones (seems impossible, right?). Well it IS impossible. I am fair-skinned, and this made me look like an Oompa Loompa! All greasy and oily, it looked like war paint! I tried using it as a bronzer but it was still too dark. It's way too expensive for a below-mediocre product as well... however gave 3 marks for the packaging as it's cute and unique! I still have this as it looks cool in my make up bag BUT i never use it anymore. Horrible product!


on 10/11/2010 9:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This made my face look too oily...i appreciated the light coverage especially for when I don't want to wear foundation. This would be perfect for someone with dry skin but not for me.


on 10/7/2010 2:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've heard some good reviews about this product and I just have to buy it. Sadly, it broke me out. This product makes me so oily, I could literally make my own company that sells OIL!!! LOL! Just kidding! I haven't thrown mine yet, because it is wayyyy too expensive to throw and I am still convincing myself that maybe I could use it someday..... Peeps, not for oily-skinned peeps!!!!


on 9/23/2010 4:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Ugh. No. Make that "FUGH". Benefit Cosmetics are just so frustrating at times because I've got stuff that I absolutely love, like the Dandelion powder and the Creasless Eye Shadows etc.... When Benefit gets it right--they get it right. Unfortunately, I honestly feel this is one bad product. I purchased this b/c I had never used a tinted moisterizer and thought it would be a nice use of product for those (few) days in which I don't want to put on a "full" face.
I was wrong..Heavy. (for a moisterizer)..drying. Cakey. OXIDATION!
Orangy..actually after I tried this they came out with a lighter version. There is no way I would waste my money on the lighter version just knowing the original was this bad for me. This is not the first Benefit product to turn orange on me as well. Would not purchase this again at all.


on 8/18/2010 2:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't even know why i bothered to buy this! It's okay for about ten minutes after i've applied it but then it just makes my face so greasy - yuck. I do not like this - too gunky and packaging reminds me of toothpaste lol. Would not even bother unless you have dry skin.




Top Rated BeneFit Cosmetics Products

image

NEW BrowZings

69 reviews
image

Rockateur

82 reviews
image

Dallas

536 reviews
image

Hervana

99 reviews
image

Coralista

652 reviews
Back to Top