Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(686 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 mccfrausto on 3/5/2013 1:18:00 AM more reviews by mccfrausto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think it had an almost powdery flexi-finish. Not shiny, somewhat matte and soft finish. But the texture did my skin no justice. My fine lines from dry winter skin were not noticeable but it made a couple of dents and bumps seem more pronounced. I think it even looked pore clogging. I have combination oily dry skin at the moment, with some kp. I wasn't satisfied with this foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ereee on 3/1/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Ereee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this for a while now and am blown away at the way it makes my skin look: smooth, glowy, natural and fresh. It lasts all day too. I was a foundation junkie, always looking for something better but now I've found it! I gave the packaging only 3 stars though because they make you hand over another $7 for the pump, which is silly. I also gave the price a 2 because if you wait for the Clinique bonus times, it is totally worth the price of the foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 georginamoule on 2/3/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by georginamoule

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG foundation. It was a bit of a splurge at £23ish- before I discovered this I'd never normally spend more than £10 on a foundation but I borrowed Superbalanced from a friend and thought it was amazing. I use the shade Fair.
I'd say it was medium-full coverage. I use it because I have freckles which I really don't like and it gives my skin a really flawless appearance. Even though it gives good coverage, I don't feel like I'm wearing a foundation and it balances my combination skin really well. I feel much less oily in my T-zone with this.
I don't really like the packaging. It looks really nice and classy, but it isn't practical and it's always a pain to get the last bit of product out. It would be much better with a pump- I might see if I can find one that fits the bottle.
I'm on my 4th bottle of this foundation, and I use it everyday. On days when I want less coverage I wouldn't use it but it's a brilliant base for a full face of make up for the day or for flawless make up for a night out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kazza7 on 2/2/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by kazza7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my standard Mac makeup and was considering trying something else. To be honest I only tried Clinique because it was one of only 2 counters that was open at the department store I was in at the time. It turns out it was meant to be. I advised the assistant that i had very dry skin after my pregnancy and needed something that hydrated and gave coverage, but wasn't too heavy. This was the product she recommended. The assistant found my exact colour, vanilla, which seemed funny as I have olive skin. When she showed me the results in the mirror I was so shocked - it looked like I'd had a makeover! She then put some blush on and I was hooked. I wore on my first day back at work after maternity leave and had so many comments on my glowing skin that I attribute to this product. i used the Super City SPF40 as a primer and I think this gave the foundation an extra oomph. I would recommend this foundation to all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tashy88 on 1/30/2013 9:50:00 PM more reviews by tashy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i wear 28 light. great product, makes you look poreless!! last all day, light to med coverage. good price, and no fragrance which is perfect for sensitive skin and dosnt make you break out at all A+

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Brookewannabe on 1/26/2013 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Brookewannabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I always used Clinique when I was about 19 for a few years after buying this whn the mua got me my color I tried it at home and hated it! She'd given me a color so orange I never purchased Clinique again.

I'm now going to be 29 all those years I've tried many many many foundations. Every mac. Every dior 3 Estée Lauder. Lancôme. Mufe many more including cheaper brands.
Yep I spent a lot!!! The most expensive was probably Jane iredale or mufe I paid £30 each

Anyhoo. For some reason and trying every brand in boots and house of Fraser I visited Clinique stand today. I was unsure on what I wanted but I knew I didn't want the super balanced again after last time.
After telling the mua what finish and skin type and coverage I was she tested a few on my hand to see the coverage and finish. She then reached for this! I thought how can I tell her no! Anyhow she matched my color. And tested it on me. I had no makeup on so I figure this is the best way to try a foundation

Guess what. I had a look and purchased it right away!!
Normally i um and ahh about a foundation when I've had it applied by one of the ladies if I purchased it and tried it in at home my way if find I hated it and it made me look orange.

I got home and tried this. I loved it!!!
For me and a foundation I like. A decent coverage but I have no acne or scarring my face does have a little redness and a have very faint freckles probably from the sunbeds. I wanted something to hide these things. But I don't want sheer an I don't want full. Full just looks cakey obvious I'm wearing makeup. Basically I want my face to be natural, covered but look as if I don't wear anything haha. I want that perfect airbrush magazine cover face! And this actually gave me it!!!

It was only 21.50! To me that's cheap considering what if normally pay.

It gave me coverage without that thickness ESP round my eyes. My foundation always dries there and looks cakey.
This gave me a even coverage. Left me dewy but semi matte. Like natural skin is. It covers good! But lets your skin show through while covering what you want to hide
It blended beautiful. Easiest to apply I've ever used!!!

I'd definately reccomend this to anyone just give stuff a second chance. I'm so glad I did. I think I may actually finish this bottle and purchase another!!

Last time I repurchased the same foundation was about 2 years ago so that's an idea of how many different foundations I've tried out and yes they are all still full stored away. :)

The only reason I hadn't given 5 stars is because I haven't seen its staying power. And the glass bottle can be annoying ESP with no pump. But for a decent foundation I don't care what container it comes in!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Stationary on 1/23/2013 5:11:00 AM more reviews by Stationary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had this awhile ago in the colour Petal which matched my skin tone almost perfectly at the time, it's great if you're looking for a liquid foundation with medium coverage. It definitely does not cover that well, and the formula is quite watery

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PISALISA on 1/22/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by PISALISA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a mediocre foundation. I like that it seems to melt into my skin without leaving a heavy or caked look. It blends like a dream and covers most imperfections. It does, however, become an oil-slick by mid-day. Also, as the day wears on, this foundation starts to settle into my skin and make my pores look huge. The finish is satiny and never tacky feeling. I will not be repurchasing this foundation because I feel like it's drug-store quality at a higher price. Not worth the money.

***Beware...you will want to definitely purchase a pump to go with this foundation. The hole at the top of the bottle is ridiculously small and it's near impossible to pour out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 c00kiezryummy on 1/17/2013 12:56:00 AM more reviews by c00kiezryummy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Age: 23-24
Skin type: combo oily. minimal blemishes and slight redness on cheeks and around nose. light-medium
Shade: 34 nude beige and natural 2.5 in powder

This is a good everyday foundation for someone that does not need too much coverage. It states medium coverage and feels true to that. Very buildable. Gives a natural everyday look.

Alot of people complain about the packaging.
BUT, you can purchase a pump for 6 bucks at the counter or online

I was battling between this and the acne foundation. They both looked very nice and similar on the skin. But the acne one doesnt blend as well because of the formulation. You have to be quick and I dont like being rushed when applying. Superbalanced goes on so smooth and you actually use less than you think you would need. It covers my slight redness on my cheeks really well and does not look flaky on my skin at all when building the coverage. It actually looks just as great in the evening as it did shortly after applying in the morning :) I apply with a regular foundation brush or a stipple brush and on occasion a foundation sponge. I set it with superbalanced powder and it gives a natural matte finish to my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cheliocheerio on 12/27/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by cheliocheerio

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am pretty impressed with this foundation. Because my skin is oily, liquid foundation was never the best thing for me. Anyway, I decided to give this a shot and it worked really well. I like to go for the natural look and this really evens out my skin tone. Unlike many foundations, it doesn't make my face all shiny and oily after a few hours of wearing. I will have to dab with oil blotting sheets after 4 or 5 hours but it works for me.

The one I bought, Linen tone, was a little too dark for my skin. I didnt really want to send $28 to waste so i mixed a small amount with a little bit of my concealer, Maybelline's 24 Hour Super Stay, and VOILA it turned out perfect.

I don't use primer just because I'm living off a paycheck of a student so I decided why not use something that won't need a primer? the less products, the cheaper.

Anyway, biggest con for me, besides MY horrible choice of shade, is the packaging. it takes too much effort from my early mornings to have to tilt the cute little bottle and wait for a decent amount of foundation to come out without over pouring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products