Ponds • Deep Cleanser Cold Cream • Cleansers

rated 4.1(1211 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkinthecity on 4/21/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I now use Queen Helene Almond Scented Cream. It has a really nice fragrance, cruelty free, and made in the USA! If you have issues with the fragrance of Pond's, you gotta try the Queen Helene brand! They have a cucumber and another one that smells like jasmine. At Sally Beauty it is $5.49 for 15 oz - much better value too:)

Tried this cult classic for the first time the other day. It really kept my skin moist and plump looking, but the scent made my eyes itchy and watery. If you don't have an allergy to fragrances, this is a great product and available everywhere:)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 4/17/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

WOW!! After reading some reviews on this product (& also how to use it properly!), I took the plunge & decided to get this, & I am so impressed! It made my Sephora 24H waterproof liquid eyeliner & Rimmel 25H foundation literally dissolve w/o major scrubbing like I do w makeup wipes (all brand except Ole Henriksen). I've only used it today, but I am going to keep using this most definitely & I will update if this breaks me out or gives me sties in my eyes. (I have oily skin, don't break out real often, been using Clinique 3 Step w #3/DDM Gel 2x a day & Clinique liquid oil free soap A.M., but I never really could figure out a good way to remove the makeup in the P.M. other than makeup wipes!). I rubbed a small amount of the cream around my face and eyelid areas & then I used a cheap washcloth dipped in very hot water & steamed my face for about a minute, rinsed the washcloth w more hot water, rubbed the cold cream off & all the makeup, then used Clinique #3 & the DDMG so *keeping fingers crossed* here's to hoping I have found a good thing! PS: I also love the scent of this & also that it's a classic that so many women have trusted this product for so many years is reassuring too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicoleligia on 4/9/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by nicoleligia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry skin, nothing too bad, just good skin. It's always been very clear and soft. I very rarely get acne, so that's a good thing. This product was awesome for gently taking off my mascara and eye makeup without breakage, which I constantly fear on my short, straight lashes. I was contemplating on buying another Mary Kay eye makeup remover, but decided to grab this on a trip to Ulta. That product is lovely. For removing face makeup I hate this product. It doesn't really work at all. And considering I only wear concealer and blush on most days, it doesn't take it off. Wipe your face with a white towel after using this to remove your makeup and you may see what I mean. It also leaves a gross film over my face, and I have to rinse two more times to get it completely off. Maybe I got a lousy tub?
I'm not sure. It's unfortunate because I really wanted to like this product. Oh well..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MOUNTAINGIRL on 4/5/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by MOUNTAINGIRL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I recently switched to MAC prolong lasting foundation, and the cleanser I had been using just wouldn't get it all off. So I jumped on MakeupAlley to see what was reccomended. Picked up a travel size jar of Ponds, and started my testing. My skin is very sensetive (major), and gets those horrible little whiteheads you can't get rid of very easily. I'm 68 and I don't need anything extra happening to my face at this late date. So I started using the Ponds, wiping off with a warm washcloth, followed by Ponds evening soothe towlettes. My face felt great, and I knew it was clean. After about 2 or 3 weeks I noticed some of those blackheads I had were gone. But the most amazing thing , it cleaned out a huge pore ( result of a Dr's attempt to get out a cyst) that never ever been this clean. You really can't even tell it's there. Believe me, I have tried everything to get that clean, and nothing did the trick. I was so pleased with the results, I deceided to try Ponds Dark spot correcting cream. If it works as well as the cleansing cream, I will be delighted. Let you know in about 3 weeks, if it works. UPDATE: I am now on my third jar, no need to say I love it! It gets off all my makeup, except I don't use it for my eye makeup (makes my eyes itch).

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wooedwiththistles on 3/28/2014 5:02:00 AM more reviews by wooedwiththistles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this better then your average liquid remover. However on me it was making me really oily. I mean when I woke up or just through out the day. I stopped using this and started using coconut oil and oiliness was gone, so I know it was this stuff. I love the smell too ( roses kinda old lady ish but I love those kinds of smells) but it just doesn't work for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ViMaquillage on 3/27/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by ViMaquillage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Just some background...
I have oily combination, acne prone skin. I've gotten my acne under control with this skin regimen: Ponds CC, warm wash cloth, Neutrogena Salicylic Acid cream cleanser, Boots Gentle Toner and depending on the day I apply Retin-A(which has been GOD SEND for my acne scars and as a spot treatment) or some serum. This is what has gotten my acne under control and doesn't STRIP my skin of moisture. I am also VERY gentle with the wash cloth and cleanser/scrub.

Now on to my review:
LOVE this stuff. I've tried this once before as a wee one and hated it, but that was because I didn't know how to remove it. You have to use a warm towel! This is great for removing long wear foundations and waterproof mascara. I love that I now only need ONE product to remove everything! I do highly recommend following this up with some kind of cleanser, if not--it will clog up your pores.

If you dislike the viscosity of this particular product, I recommend the Pond's Cucumber Cleanser as an alternative. It's lighter in consistency, smells fresh but also requires the use of a warm towel and more massage time. It does the same job in terms of make up removal but just takes a little longer to really grab on to the make up.

Takeaway:
-Use a warm wash cloth
-DO NOT CALL IT A DAY AFTER the wash cloth, follow it up with a cleanser of your choice.
-Too greasy? Try Ponds' Cucumber Cleanser!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 3/23/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Uniquewabbit has an great detailed review - do check it out! I can vouch from experience that my grandma had great skin for her age & only used this stuff and the dry skin cream and since this stuff is inexpensive so I decided to try it. I have to say it's a great product and my aging skin is loving it however I can't get this product to work around my eyes. They seem irritated from the product after I use it like I have some residual product around the eye area no matter how much I try to wipe or use a warm washcloth. I much prefer using my Philosophy Purity on my eyes as it gets rid of all my eye make-up easily & rinses off cleanly so no irritation afterwards. This will definitely be in my rotation going forward but not ready to ditch my HG Purity just yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Anne184 on 3/19/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Anne184

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my gosh, I had a party to go to for my husbands company in the evening.... and I used this cold cream a couple hours before we had to be there. It gave me a horrible allergic reaction! Made my cheeks bright red, painful. I was hoping and praying the rash would go away for the party, however I had to slather on foundation to cover it and I still looked ridiculous! The red painful welts on my face lasted all night. Anyway, if you have sensitive skin or your're on retin-a (like I am), stay away from this stuff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uniquewabbit on 3/16/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by uniquewabbit

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My Grandmother used this and had beautiful skin until she died just before her 93rd birthday. I have sensitive skin and seem to be allergic to almost everything, especially perfumes. Because of this, I automatically avoided it because it smelled perfumy. I like the scent, it's just that usually something that smells 'pretty' breaks me out and makes me sick.

But, one day I just decided to live dangerously. A neighbor had been telling me about it and she had really nice skin so I figured what the hay. I got a tiny jar and was really surprised at the effects and results. No allergic reaction whatsoever; in fact, my skin calmed down.

This was about 3 years ago. I used it for a year and then, I became super nature-conscious; organic raw food life, etc. I started using other products that were organic and natural but nothing seemed to agree with my skin or clean off my make up. I figured if something couldn't clean off make-up it also couldn't clean my face when I didn't wear make-up and that thought bothered me. I started to remember a lot of herbs and oils and essesences could be exactly the reason for the original creation of things like white bread and synthetic perfumes: namely that some of us are allergic to so many things that natural substances many times make us look and feel worse than the synthetic and chemical. I remembered that poison ivy is also 'natural' and even though there are some people who aren't allergic to it, most people are and break out and get sick if exposed to it and a lot of the beautiful smelling natural plants of the world are seen by our weird bodies as poisons to start fighting off and ... the results are just the opposite of what we're going for both asthetically and healthwise.

So I went back to Pond's. I use both the cold cream and dry skin cream. Nothing like it for people like me who react to so many things negatively and thank God for stripped down wheat, altered milk, etc., because to us they are the only way our bodies won't react violently.

My husband says my skin looks a lot healthier already and this is only my third day using it.

The trick to it is a washcloth. Many 'exfoliating' products would not be needed if one used a good old fashioned scratchy (you know those 18 for $4) washcloths like the women did in my Grandmother's day. The best and old fashioned way to use Pond's cold cream is to wet one of those washcloths with hot (not burning, just really really warm) water and lay it on your face for a few seconds, keep the water hot, running (plug up the sink or not, whichever suits) while you apply the cream. I do my eyes last and this is the only product I've tried (and I've broken the bank trying out products, and non-products too, for that matter) that removes every speck of eye make-up in seconds. And the 24hr types of lip colors. Then wring out the very warm, almost hot washcloth and once again, lay it on your face a few seconds and then wipe off the cold cream. Thus you are exfoliating your skin, plus removing the cold cream. The make-up, sweat, etc. goes down the drain with the cold cream and it is so creamy, the washcloth removal doesn't strip your skin dry.

The feeling I get afterward is dewy, not oily or greasy. Then I apply the dry skin cream to my face and throat and even upper chest and elbows for good measure since I'm closer to 60 than 50 ;-) Younger women probably wouldn't need this last step.

Great, great stuff. Miraculous, when you consider the price.

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurenjill05 on 3/16/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The only thing I'll ever use to take off my eye make up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products