Aussie • Sprunch Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.5(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 and111 on 7/26/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by and111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I find this stuff hilarious. We don't even get Aussie scrunch spray in Australia!? I was in America 5 years ago and all my American friends were using it (i'm Australian). It was summer and their hair looked so good! It was the whole "i've been outdoors in the ocean and look amazing" look. It is a tad sticky and crunchy but with my flat ass hair i need as much hold as possible. 5 years on and i still use the same bottle (been using sparingly)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 6/8/2010 11:50:00 AM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this product on and off through high school, to define my wavy hair. I recently rediscovered it in aerosol, and love that it is still just $3. I use it on my slightly-damp-nearly-dry hair to scrunch my natural waves for a little definition without the crunchiness of some sprays. It makes slightly frizzy areas look more smooth, and I get compliments on my hair every time I use Sprunch spray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xtiannaxgnarx on 3/17/2010 7:14:00 PM more reviews by xtiannaxgnarx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay..so in general, my hair is very retarded and doesn't really scrunch at all. Whenever I do, It just gets some weird bends in some places and looks like messy bed hair. (not the kewl scrunched messy look) So I was in target and figured that I needed a scrunching product. So, I got this one first of all because I know that Aussie is a very good brand for drugstore products. Second, for the price! I only got it for $2.89! What could be better?? So I went home and was so excited to use it. I know that my hair doesn't scrunch good, but when I use this product, it makes pretty waves. So, I always make two french braids at night then I take it out in the morning. It refreshes it up nicely and makes beautiful curls. Plus, it smells good. I got the non-aerosol container. I would totally buy this again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pachanguera on 2/22/2010 6:00:00 PM more reviews by pachanguera

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have the aerosol version of this product. I am absolutely in love with the grape-y fragrance. Itís a nice, light hairspray Ė it holds very well until you comb through it, which is what I like. Soft hold, nothing sticky, nothing tacky, nothing crunchy. Itís the fragrance that makes it wonderful Ė I have thrown away hairsprays that I didnít use because I didnít care for the scent. Iíll keep this one, Iíll *use* this one, and Iíll probably repurchase.

However, from reading the reviews, I'll be sure to look for the same aerosol formula that I have now. Maybe I'll keep an eye out and stock up, if it's been changed. I hate when I "discover" something that's been discontinued. Stupid beauty industry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arlentx on 1/14/2010 3:19:00 PM more reviews by arlentx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use Aussie Sprunch Spray every day and I really like it. Though my hair is curly, it is also oily so I wash it every morning, never fail. When I get out of the shower, I use a little Infusium leave-in conditioner, use a detangling comb to arrange my curls in a reasonably neat fashion, then spritz away with the Sprunch. I prefer the pump to the aerosol can because I have better control over where the product ends up. While I put my makeup on, my hair dries a little bit and by the time I finish getting dressed, it's almost dry. I run my fingers through it just a bit and then I'm out the door.

As for the over the top negative remarks about the smell, I think they are a bit exaggerated. While scent is subjective, "I nearly puked" seems a tad dramatic. Few hairsprays smell "fabulous" and I certainly won't be replacing my perfume in favor of a scented hairspray, but this scent is not as bad as some make it sound. It's just hairspray ... and I dare say it smells a hundred times better than that super-stiff-will-hold-your-do-in-a-tornado-smells-like-bug-killer hairspray my granny used.

I had to take away one lippie because Aussie has recently reduced the size of the bottle yet kept the price the same. Overall, I'm pleased and I like the way it holds my curls without being overly sticky or crunchy. I will be buying this again, though I'm still a little irked about the size downgrade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 feelinblushed on 12/21/2009 2:04:00 AM more reviews by feelinblushed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for years(15+years)! When paired with mousse this does wonders for my thick curly hair. I also LOVE the grape scent. The grape smell was the main reason why I continued to buy this product, it was my 'signature' hair scent. .

I recently picked up a bottle and discovered that they have changed the scent. I really HATE when companies change something that has been a customer favourtie for years. The scent now resembles Salon Selectives or Finesse.

I managed to find 3 bottles of the original scent and I will continue to use them until I run out. I do like how this product works but I am VERY DISAPPOINTED with the new scent. I do hope they go back to the original grape scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 10/30/2009 10:44:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this stuff religiously since high school. So, ya, that's a loooooong time! I have really wavy thick hair. This paired with gel and I am good to go. Sadly they changed the scent. so I had to take a lippy off for that. The grape scent was a signature for me. But I will continue to use it because it works. Always has and probably always will.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flipthecoin888 on 9/21/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by flipthecoin888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Im surprised to be seeing quite a lot of negative reviews for this Spray (even outside of Makeup Alley) because I LOVE this spray. Unlike most of the reviewers here, I use this before curling my hair with a curling iron and my curls last for HOURS. As for the "crunchiness", I find that quite normal as this is a "Strong Hold" formulation. I have to say I've seen "crunchier" hairsprays out there! This is below five dollars too! You can't beat that!

I dont think I have very low standards for fragrance either, so trust me when I say that the smell is bearable. Although of course it's all a matter of personal preference anyway! It can be a little strong if youre used to very light fragrances but the smell isn't very bad!

I like to use the small bottle; I dont buy the big ones because my wrists get tired with a bottle in one hand and a large curling iron in the other!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 princesspeachx on 8/24/2009 11:24:00 AM more reviews by princesspeachx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

oh my god. the smell of this stuff is straight up FUNKY. i heard they changed the smell since i last bought some, though, so maybe the new stuff smells better. in my opinion (and in the opinion of basically ever person that's been around me when i sprayed some of this) the smell is a combination of sour grapes and soiled bedsheets. by sour i mean rancid, rotten, expired, gone bad. and by soiled bedsheets i mean that smell that hits you them moment you enter a retirement home. yep. it makes your hair smell like rotten grapes and PEE. i tried to pinpoint the smell for so long-- i knew it smelled like rotten grapes, but it took me a while to realize that the other underlying smell was urine. due to the smell, i haven't gotten too many chances to actually use this product- i've used it twice. although i almost puked from the grape/pee smell, i did like its performance. What i wanted was a spray that would hold my curls but not be rock solid- i wanted them to still be bouncy and natural. this spray did do that. but at the expense of smelling like grapes/pee? its just not worth it. i would not recommend this product to anyone, ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TookumsGirl on 8/18/2009 10:28:00 PM more reviews by TookumsGirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

They changed the scent! I miss the grape scent...that is the main reason why I bought it. Now I notice that they changed the packaging, and the scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aussie products

More Styling Products products