The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 vintagy on 7/13/2012 5:04:00 AM more reviews by vintagy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product everyday for a week and so far, I love how cool and refreshing it feels on the skin, I love the scent, and I love how it dries (relatively) matte. However, I have a very oily t-zone with normal skin otherwise, and I was looking for a replacement for my Marcelle AC-Solution moisturizer (I use that one to spot treat only; its very drying for normal skin- and its being discontinued). With this one, I can't use it to spot treat my t-zone cause it's not nearly as mattifying, however it is suitable and moisturizing enough for the entire face. I'm using it as a night cream for the summertime, its nice and light and absorbs quickly. I also wish it came in a pump bottle instead of a tub for hygienic reasons.

As for the winter, I would not use it as a night cream as I require a heavier night cream during colder seasons. If I can't find anything better I would repurchase this and use it as a day cream, but I don't like how it has no SPF in it. I know there is a SPF 15 version of this but it is not very mattifying.

All in all, I do like this moisturizer, especially for the summer, and if I do not repurchase in the winter, I will definitely repurchase again next summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 7/11/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this stuff is decent, though the pot is not all that hygienic. however, it doesn't matter much since I apply it right after washing my face (which washes my hands in the process). I like how it feels somewhat cooling on my skin and doesn't dry it out like the night treatment does, but at the same time I don't find it to be particularly mattifying. my Clean & Clear Finishes Mattify moisturizer (sadly discontinued) does a better job of this, even though it leaves a bit of a white cast. I'd say that this day cream reminds me of my Clean & Clear Dual Action moisturizer, which is a lot cheaper and comes in a hygienic pump bottle, so I guess I won't be buying this stuff again. good thing I just got it in the starter kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dblou on 6/28/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dblou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very light but moisturizes still vell. I have a combination skin and a bit oily as well so i don't need anything heavy. Smell is quite nice too. But there's nothing extraordinary about this. I've been using many as good gel-style creams as this. I don't know what i'm expecting but this is something that is just okay. I could still buy it again cause it did its work. Nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breatheformusic on 6/28/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by breatheformusic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used this once now but it seems to work really well so far! Obviously I cant comment on daily use yet, but so far it has done what it advertises and doesn't appear to have broken me out at all. It's not greasy at all and dries matte. It feels refreshing on the skin and actually has a nice smell to it in my opinion.
I was in search of a mattifying cream or moisturizer that I could put on before my makeup to help control some of my oil and I saw this and got it on a whim. I put it on tonight before my primer and foundation and all of that and went out for a few hours. When I got home, I looked in the mirror and my makeup looked just as good as when I put it on. I use an oil control primer and Hourglass Immaculate foundation, which is awesome at helping me stay matte for a long time, but I ALWAYS will still have some shine on my nose and a bit on my forehead for whatever reason. After using this though, I only had a very small amount of shine on my nose. Not even enough to blot. And this was after being out for 5 hours or so (my skin is always shiny by then.) So I was pleasantly surprised. Ill be using this a lot more!

EDIT (8/6/12): Still using this and still liking it. Hasn't broken me out still and is still doing its job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ohgeebus on 6/13/2012 5:06:00 PM more reviews by ohgeebus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: It's a very light moisturizer that is suitable for my oily skin. True to its name, the day cream dries matte. I don't have a problem with the smell; in fact, I really like the smell. It's fresh and clean.

Cons: Basically, this does nothing for my overall oily skin. A couple hours after applying the moisturizer, my skin is back to its usual oil field state. I'm pretty used to products not working to keep my skin matte, but the seaweed mattifying day cream is pretty expensive. For the price I have to pay, I'd rather not have to worry about blotting by 9 am. Also, while the tub packaging is cute, it's very unhygenic to use. i shudder every time I have to dip my fingers (even if they are washed) in because of all the germs that remain festering in the lotion.

So, no. I will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mocksoup on 6/13/2012 6:22:00 AM more reviews by Mocksoup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Moisturizing but not greasy. Perfect for reactive skin:
I have been experimenting with moisturizers over the past year, and this one is the one that I come back to. It's a gel, light...cooling and not greasy at all. My sensitive, reactive, oily t-zone, dry cheeked skin soaks it up. The fragrance isn't overbearing and it leaves my skin prepped for foundation or BB cream. This is a total 5 star product and I won't be buying any other moisturizer. This one is heads above the rest for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekahh101 on 5/13/2012 4:28:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do like this product, however it is not perfect. I have fairly oily skin, and I felt that my skin was becoming dry beneath the oiliness. So I went to the Body Shop in search of an oily-skin friendly moisturiser. As my skin care products all come from the Body Shop's Tea Tree range, I went straight for a tea tree moisturiser. However, the sales assistant advised I try this one instead, as it would have more of a balance between moisturising and oil control, whereas tea tree would be more focused on oil eradication and may become slightly drying. I have found that this product has lived up to the moisturing claim, however I am not totally sold on the oil control side of things. It has not made my skin any oilier, but it could be a bit more mattifying. Having said all that, it is a nice product, a pump bottle would be more convenient than a tub, and as with most Body Shop products, feels a touch overpriced. however I will repurchase.

EDIT: I decided this product was not doing a good enough job of oil control, despite it being a good moisturiser, and changed to the Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Lotion which does a better job of oil control, is more affordable and has better packaging. Original rating of 4 going down to 2, however bear in mind I do have quite oily skin and I still think this would be a good product for those with less oily skin. .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 joannef on 5/8/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by joannef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a really oily T-zone so I mostly use this over this area.
I use this under my makeup, it is very mattifying, however I don't find it long lasting throughout the day.
After a few hours I felt it gets a bit flaky, but I think it depends on how much you apply on a certain area. You really need a very thin layer, for it to not flake.This is what worked for me.
Has an mild smell.
Hate the packaging, as its in a tub and you need to dip your finger in and I find that very unhygienic. Lasts you a long time depending on how much and how frequently you use it.I tend to use this daily in the summer because that is when my T-zone is most oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kimmington on 4/11/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by kimmington

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good moisturizer, and considering how oily my skin is, mattes it pretty well. It's nothing spectacular, but it does keep my skin fairly oil free throughout the day providing it is not too hot or humid. My skin is also quite sensitive and it doesn't have any bad reaction to this moisturizer which is a huge plus. I don't find it incredibly hydrating all the time though (sometimes my skin gets super dry) so I usually have to apply it twice to certain areas. I have bought this a couple times already, and will continue to buy it until I find one that's better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jocelyn90 on 1/31/2012 8:58:00 AM more reviews by Jocelyn90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this entire Seaweed range from The Body Shop from the face wash in a tube, to the toner, to this mattifying day moisturizer and as well as the night moisturizer for about 1.5-2years but I honestly did not see much vast improvements to my skin, considering how much I've spent on these. I live in Singapore where the weather is warm (25c-31c) and humidity is high (70%<) and I have combination skin with oily Tzone but not to the point of having many break outs (just the occasional few pimples). Initially I thought it was because I was using it along with my previous skincare line, which was from Vichy and so I decided to switch to using the entire same line after my old skincare product was used up. Needless to say, I was disappointed with the lack of improvements after investing so much money and hope in this product. The product's claim of mattifying did not work on my skin and after barely 30mins after application, the oil shine on my Tzone emerges.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products