The Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

3.3

196 reviews

51% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Cyclomethicone (Emollient), Glycerin (Humectant), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (Absorbent/Anticaking Agent), Polysorbate 60 (Surfactant), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Carbomer (Stabiliser/Viscosity Modifier), Tocopheryl Acetate (Antioxidant), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Butylene Glycol (Humectant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Methylparaben (Preservative), Fragrance (Fragrance), Zinc Gluconate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Hydrolyzed Algin (Soothing agent), Zinc Sulphate (Cosmetic Astringent), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack) Extract (Skin Conditioning Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Propylene Glycol Alginate (Binder), Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Sodium Stearate (Surfactant), Propylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Algae Extract (Natural Additive), Acacia Senegal Gum (Film Former), Serine (Skin Conditioning Agent), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Salicylate (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone (Fragrance Ingredient), Tocopherol (Antioxidant).


on 5/8/2013 2:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I read such great reviews about this product and since I had such oily skin, I decided to give it a go, so when I bought it I decided to use it. Once I opened the lid and touched it, it felt very watery and slimy to some extent.
To be honest, it did fulfill its purpose to mattify and remove excess oil HOWEVER it had this icky disgusting feeling on my face and took a while to absorb.
It was a bit over priced- scratch that: It was compeltely over priced. Now that I went to a dermatologist, this product has no use and has been sitting on my shelf for almost a year. I defiantly don't think it's worth it.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was extremely disappointed to realize that this contained no SPF, I also find that although it is moisturizing it leaves my skin feeling an odd texture. I will continue to use what I bought but I will probably not purchase this again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This cream was certainly not mattifying enough for my oily forehead/chin and was not moisturising enough for my dry cheeks. In combination with the Vitamin E cream from the Body Shop, this was manageable in terms of moisture, but definitely a big fail for creating a matte face. The gel-like consistency made applying it very nice and refreshing though, but that's the only good thing.


on 3/29/2013 12:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this product suits combination skin perfectly. it makes my skin becomes non-greasy anymore as i have a combination skin. the price is quite expensive, but totally worth it <3 much love for this one

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2013 8:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the matte effect that the cream gives, I only use it when I'm not wearing any makeup as it leaves my face soft and oil free I don't wear it when im wearing makeup tho as it can can cause dry patches when I'm wearing my powder, but it's a good mattfying cream and I think oily skins would benefit,


on 11/8/2012 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This "day" cream doesn't have sunscreen, so I only use it at night. When I first started using this cream, I'd had continuous acne for over ten years, so if it made me break out, I didn't notice. With the help of other products, my face cleared up completely while using this cream, so it gets top marks in my book. Now I'm afraid to switch to anything else!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 7:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ok, this is not a miracle but it's actually pretty good. I have normal skin most of the time but whenever I'm feeling not so fresh i apply this and I'm feeling newly washed. It's refreshing! Also I think it's unusual to break out with this moisturizer since it's very light and fresh :)


on 10/26/2012 12:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love this product, I have fairly oily skin and use this as my every day moisturiser. Its consistency is more gel like than a cream and I find that my skin doesn't get anywhere near as oily when I use this. The only downside is that sometimes a few minutes after using this my skin will feel a little tight as though it hasn't been moisturised enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2012 7:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not impressed with this moisturiser, its supposed to be suitable for combination/oily skin which is exactly what I have. But it is not moisturising enough for my dry cheeks nor mattifying enough for my oily forehead. The only thing I liked about it is that it is more like a gel that dries in very fast so it feels refreshing to apply it during the summer. But overall, not impressive!


on 9/10/2012 5:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this as my day time moisturizer over an eye treatment and serum.

I bought this for two main reasons:
1) I needed a moisturizer that did not contain SPF (allergies)
2) I liked the idea that it was mattifying

I have combination skin, but my version is that I have an oily chin and sides of my nose, but a dry forehead. The rest of my skin is normal.

The product itself is like a gel cream, not like the standard thicker, more opaque creams. I apply it by patting it on my face, not by rubbing it on.

At first it can look a bit shiny but after about 15 minutes or so, it does mattify and seems to do a good job of normalizing all of my skin.

I would consider this a lighter to light-moderate moisturizer, at least compared to some of the others I have used, and would guess that it works well for those with combination or normal, or slightly dry or slightly oily skin. I do not think it would be good for those with very oily or very dry skin.

I think I will continue to use this, I really like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top