The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ohgeebus on 6/13/2012 5:06:00 PM more reviews by ohgeebus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: It's a very light moisturizer that is suitable for my oily skin. True to its name, the day cream dries matte. I don't have a problem with the smell; in fact, I really like the smell. It's fresh and clean.

Cons: Basically, this does nothing for my overall oily skin. A couple hours after applying the moisturizer, my skin is back to its usual oil field state. I'm pretty used to products not working to keep my skin matte, but the seaweed mattifying day cream is pretty expensive. For the price I have to pay, I'd rather not have to worry about blotting by 9 am. Also, while the tub packaging is cute, it's very unhygenic to use. i shudder every time I have to dip my fingers (even if they are washed) in because of all the germs that remain festering in the lotion.

So, no. I will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mocksoup on 6/13/2012 6:22:00 AM more reviews by Mocksoup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Moisturizing but not greasy. Perfect for reactive skin:
I have been experimenting with moisturizers over the past year, and this one is the one that I come back to. It's a gel, light...cooling and not greasy at all. My sensitive, reactive, oily t-zone, dry cheeked skin soaks it up. The fragrance isn't overbearing and it leaves my skin prepped for foundation or BB cream. This is a total 5 star product and I won't be buying any other moisturizer. This one is heads above the rest for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekahh101 on 5/13/2012 4:28:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do like this product, however it is not perfect. I have fairly oily skin, and I felt that my skin was becoming dry beneath the oiliness. So I went to the Body Shop in search of an oily-skin friendly moisturiser. As my skin care products all come from the Body Shop's Tea Tree range, I went straight for a tea tree moisturiser. However, the sales assistant advised I try this one instead, as it would have more of a balance between moisturising and oil control, whereas tea tree would be more focused on oil eradication and may become slightly drying. I have found that this product has lived up to the moisturing claim, however I am not totally sold on the oil control side of things. It has not made my skin any oilier, but it could be a bit more mattifying. Having said all that, it is a nice product, a pump bottle would be more convenient than a tub, and as with most Body Shop products, feels a touch overpriced. however I will repurchase.

EDIT: I decided this product was not doing a good enough job of oil control, despite it being a good moisturiser, and changed to the Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Lotion which does a better job of oil control, is more affordable and has better packaging. Original rating of 4 going down to 2, however bear in mind I do have quite oily skin and I still think this would be a good product for those with less oily skin. .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 joannef on 5/8/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by joannef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a really oily T-zone so I mostly use this over this area.
I use this under my makeup, it is very mattifying, however I don't find it long lasting throughout the day.
After a few hours I felt it gets a bit flaky, but I think it depends on how much you apply on a certain area. You really need a very thin layer, for it to not flake.This is what worked for me.
Has an mild smell.
Hate the packaging, as its in a tub and you need to dip your finger in and I find that very unhygienic. Lasts you a long time depending on how much and how frequently you use it.I tend to use this daily in the summer because that is when my T-zone is most oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kimmington on 4/11/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by kimmington

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good moisturizer, and considering how oily my skin is, mattes it pretty well. It's nothing spectacular, but it does keep my skin fairly oil free throughout the day providing it is not too hot or humid. My skin is also quite sensitive and it doesn't have any bad reaction to this moisturizer which is a huge plus. I don't find it incredibly hydrating all the time though (sometimes my skin gets super dry) so I usually have to apply it twice to certain areas. I have bought this a couple times already, and will continue to buy it until I find one that's better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jocelyn90 on 1/31/2012 8:58:00 AM more reviews by Jocelyn90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this entire Seaweed range from The Body Shop from the face wash in a tube, to the toner, to this mattifying day moisturizer and as well as the night moisturizer for about 1.5-2years but I honestly did not see much vast improvements to my skin, considering how much I've spent on these. I live in Singapore where the weather is warm (25c-31c) and humidity is high (70%<) and I have combination skin with oily Tzone but not to the point of having many break outs (just the occasional few pimples). Initially I thought it was because I was using it along with my previous skincare line, which was from Vichy and so I decided to switch to using the entire same line after my old skincare product was used up. Needless to say, I was disappointed with the lack of improvements after investing so much money and hope in this product. The product's claim of mattifying did not work on my skin and after barely 30mins after application, the oil shine on my Tzone emerges.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlewhisspers on 1/26/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by littlewhisspers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer! It's my favorite because of the gel consistency and how well it moisturizes. I think it definitely mattifies my face, which is a plus for me because I have oily skin. The only thing is the price :/ I think I paid about $20 for it, and I know that a lot of people think it's not a lot but I'm a student and I don't have a ton of money to invest on a good moisturizer. I'm currently on the hunt for an affordable moisturizer that is like this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizxphile on 1/19/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by lizxphile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a small sample of this and liked it enough to buy the bigger tub... I liked using this best on days in the summer when it was extremely hot & humid, when normally I wouldn't have even put moisturizer on my face at all because the humidity makes my skin so oily. When it goes on (a little goes a long way), it kind of feels dry and tight after it absorbs in, but after 15-20 mins & going out in the humidity, my face felt fine. Super, super light moisturizer, smells good and didn't break me out. Not really 100% sure I'll buy again but it was very good for me for some days in the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chaneal on 12/22/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by chaneal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product gives my skin moisture but it does not control my oily skin very good. It does not mattify my skin at all either. I probably will not purchase the full size anytime soon (I bought the travel size to test it out.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 staceyxs on 10/27/2011 3:15:00 AM more reviews by staceyxs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This moisturizer is really refreshing, non greasy, dries pretty fast and does the job of keeping the oil away but there are way too many non natural ingredients, and the packaging is not so good because you have to dip your hands inside promoting growth of bactera... If I could find an all natural day cream like this in a squeezable bottle that would be perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products