DHC Velvet Skin Coat

3.8

239 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, HDI / trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, silica, propylparaben


on 4/21/2010 10:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product since it did smooth out my face and made it photo-ready for foundation but unfortunately it caused 3 cystic zits. I have sensitive, acne prone, and very oily skin. Bummer!.... The perfect primer hunt continues....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/17/2010 4:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'll give this a 5 but the tube could be bigger. It is a great product overall. I thought it was kind of a weird texture at first, but it really does make your skin feel velvety. I tend to save it for more special occasions now because I don't want to have to buy it all the time, but it does help my makeup go on smoother and stay smoother longer. I feel like it gives me a nicer texture to my skin as well. I don't know how women can use just this and be good to go, I'd love to have skin like that, but it is a nice base for the rest of your make up. A little does go a long way.


on 3/7/2010 5:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I received a free sample of this in a DHC catalog and I wanted to love it, honestly, but it was just "OK".


Now first of all I do have slightly dry skin with a few fine lines and wrinkles. (I put this product to task on my forehead and neck, and a bit around the "crows feet" area.)


The consistency is weird - kinda thick - and it does (at first) make a smooth, (Literally) velvety base for foundation, but then - it can get flakey.


You must NOT over apply it - or DISASTER - use a wee bit. Also, as another wise MUA reviwer said below, be sure to try before you buy. While I liked this enough as a freebie, there's no way I will by a full bottle. It's back to Smashbox Photo-finish Primer for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2010 11:17:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Loved this product. It actually changed the way I looked so much that people were oooohing! Wish it were cheaper, but, then again, you don't have to use much at all. I really like this product.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2010 8:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'll keep this short and sweet: I've been using this product for over 2 years now and I simply cannot fathom living without it. You should see my forehead with and without it on, huge difference.


on 12/28/2009 7:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried many other primers (Chanel, MAC, among others), but this one is the best. I have combination sensitive skin, and definitely imperfect skin. People compliment me every time I use this under my foundation how nice my skin looks, and ask what I have been using. Foundation lasts much longer, and doesn't fade. Since my skin is very sensitive, I use for special occasions only, just in case, and it goes on rather slick, so I use very sparingly. No breakouts or other issues, so far. The tube itself is a pain, as the nozzle opening is really tiny and gets clogged, so if you squeeze hard the product shoots out all over the place.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2009 1:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I tried this as a sample I received from DHC and I have to admit that I was pretty impressed at first. I have mildly combination skin with larger pores on my t-zone. I just wanted to write a review to warn others to TRY first, don't buy because this product definitely caused my skin to become very red and inflamed. I used about half the sample pack, which was actually meant for 3 uses, which in retrospect was a lot, but I have never had such a bad reaction to a skin product before. I did try this in the summer, so maybe the humidity caused my pores to be more open? I don't know. I just think people should be careful with this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2009 12:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product after doing a little research online on face primers. I had never heard of DHC before, but after trying their Velvet Skin Coat, I was hooked. This primer is so smooth and creamy. It applies well and I don't have any problems with it being too oily as other users have discussed. I can notice the difference when I don't apply the Velvet Skin Coat and when I do. My makeup is applied more smoothly and evenly. Plus, my face makeup lasts almost all day with only little fading (nothing's perfect). I've even been in situations where I sweat and the Velvet Skin Coat will help keep my face makeup in place with little to no smudging or discoloration.


I've only tried a handful of face primers including Makeup Forever and Cover FX and this is by far the best. This product is half the price of Cover FX and it does a way better job. And it will last you a long time. A little goes a long way. Mine last me 3-4 months.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Cheaper than Smashbox and in my opinion makes my makeup last longer and skin smoother and less shiny. I own both but I am constantly reaching for velvet skin coat instead :)


on 8/1/2009 8:39:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent performer. Agree with all the positive comments here and after I finish applying this primer, I rub my hands together and run them through my hair! A great non-greasy frizzy-tamer!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top