Redken Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray

4.0

126 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/15/2009 8:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was very excited to try this because my hair is pretty limp and flat.
It cost $25.00 CAD. I wouldn't mind paying that much IF it actually did something.
I tried it using a round brush .. it left my hair very sleek, shiny and soft (no crunchiness or hardness), but there was ZERO volume.
So, I tried it with rollers .. and no volume again.
This seemed to weigh down my hair more and it made it greasy very quickly too.



on 3/14/2009 12:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My stylist recommended this to me after she did my hair for family photos. I loved the way my hair looked. After I bought it and tried it myself, I was disappointed with how greasy my hair was. I already have greasy hair and this was like I poured grease directly on my head. I also could never get it to be soft like my stylist had. When I applied it, it always felt crunchy. I tried putting it in my hair at different times and even asked my stylist for help. I do not like having to blow-dry and straighten my hair everyday because it takes so long, I like to make it last. With this stuff it was impossible. Was a waste of money. I returned it to Ulta and would not buy again. I gave it a few lippies because when my stylist did it, it did look good. But unless you are a stylist and can work magic, I would not use it.


on 1/12/2009 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! Volumizes without stickiness and you can use it scalp to ends for added control. The spray nozzle makes it easy to apply at the scalp, too.


on 1/10/2009 7:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i have fine hair that always looks flat, and can easily end up looking greasy. this is the only product that gives volume..and holds it! the people that aren't loving it, i think don't really know how to use it, i was the same way for awhile. you need to lift sections of hair, and spray at the roots, then work it in, and blow dry. and blow drying upside down will give you huge texan like hair! you do need to be careful not to spray too much! i find after doing my hair upside down with this and a round brush, and running a straightening iron through th e ends i have hair that looks like it was done by a stylist, and normally i am someone who can't even properly operate a curling iron! i'm not sure if i would buy it again, the only reason being because it was so damn expensive, one bottle is $21!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2008 4:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a large, tall and rather heavy bottle with a small spray nozzle, and it gives an impression of a high quality product. The spray nozzle is hard to depress though, as it seems rather stiff, plus the fact that the bottle is heavy. However, those minor annoyances aside, I'm really pleased with the overall volume it gives my hair! I have fine hair, and I don't have a lot of it. And I'm usually very lazy as well - I'm more of a wash and go kinda gal - I don't even bother to blowdry my hair. When the time comes for me to do my hair, I just mist it over with water, part and lift chunks of my hair and spray directly at the roots. Application is reasonably easy. After a string of foam is dispensed, I just rub it around, lift another chunk, and spray. Rinse and repeat around the places I need volume and after that, blow dry upside down. INSTANT VOLUME! It is so good, I had to brush my hair down, otherwise I would look like a lioness. My hair isn't very stiff either - I rather surprised actually - it felt nothing like how old fashioned mousses used to feel like. The next morning the volume's still there, albeit my scalp is starting to itch. This is worth it, I'm very pleased and will definitely buy again. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2008 5:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is amazing. I couldn't live without it. My hair is naturally flat and has no volume what so ever. When I use this my hair looks thick and healthy.I Love it and will continue to use it as long as possible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2008 2:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I consider this product a "must" have for my hair regime. I have short layered hair and it's quite fine in areas with a mean cowlick at the crown. I apply this to the roots only (all over) and then blow dry. For the first time ever, I don't need to use a curling iron, just a medium round brush, and my hair is good to go in less than 10 mins! It has body and shine and I basically don't have to think about my hair all day. I love this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2008 10:09:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I Love this! It gives me volume but leaves my hair soft and touchable. I spray into my hand then just work it through my wet hair, comb it through, and blow dry.


on 1/10/2008 7:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you use this product correctly you should not end up with greasy hair. This is only for the Roots!!!!! Use a comb and separate the layers of your hair and lightly spray your roots only. My hair dresser turned me on to this product and showed me how to use it correctly. You should not over use, just in the root areas that need some left. I have very fine hair that easily can get matted and this product makes my hair "lift" and looks 5x fuller on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2007 2:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very blah. I don't know if it's because of the humidity of my climate or just the way I use it, but this does absolutely nothing for my hair. And I gave it many chances! Used it with dry hair- nothing. Damp hair after a shower- nada. Spraying at different angles didn't work either. Waste of money and dresser space. Smell is okay, but performance is extremely poor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews
Back to Top