Johnson & Johnson • Baby Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(321 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fabulousSHEL on 3/6/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by fabulousSHEL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

BEST MAKE-UP BRUSH CLEANER EVER!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 latina72 on 2/24/2012 2:22:00 AM more reviews by latina72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

love this product!! this is a gentle and effective cleanser for my acne prone skin. In addition with mia clarisonic has made a real difference in my skin for good.
Love this cleanser, it actually removes mascara and make up better than the expensive products and doesnt sting in your eyes!!. Recommend it to everybody.
baby shampoo can be use for multiple purpose, my husband for his hair in the shower, I clean up my face, and my little baby uses as shampoo and shower gel....
great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irvinjon on 2/22/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by irvinjon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ilove it.. It doesn't damage my hair and it really not harsh on hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 2/19/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Product's Claims - True or False?
1) Gentle to eyes: True
2) Does not irritate skin and eyes: Mostly true.
3) Rinses easily: True.
4) Hair smells fresh, looks shiny and healthy: N/A


Packaging:
Comes in a very simple clear plastic bottle, wide and slender. While it fits in the hand with comfort it is a bit too wide. Bottle provides you with the ingredients' list on the back. The cap is a hard plastic with a press-down lid to open the little spout. I find it a bit hard to open as it does seem to take some force and does almost stick a bit. The plastic of the bottle is hard but does not require any significant amount of force to squeeze.


Formula:
The shampoo has a clear, yellow-tinted consistency (it is often advised that clear formulas are the most drying). It's not overly runny which makes it fairly easy to work with. Just a small amount of it creates a nice lather. It does feel a bit slimy on the skin when it's being used but it does rinse off completely without leaving any residue behind (that I can tell of course). It's definitely fragranced and quite strong. I don't dislike the fragrance, I think it actually smells quite nice. But overall it seems like a totally unnecessary feature, especially for something to be used on infants.


Performance:
Although marketed as a shampoo this is not what I used it as - I cannot even begin to imagine how much of an issue it would have been for my hair, and I don't necessarily recommend it as a shampoo. What I did try it as was 1) a brush cleanser for thorough cleaning, 2) a spot cleaning cleanser for brushes, 3) to remove eye makeup. Overall it works great for all of these purposes, and doesn't sting my eyes when used for option 3 unless I used too much. For 2 and 3 I created a 1:4 mix of this to water and placed in a bottle instead of just using the shampoo straight. I will say that it does seem to take longer to rinse out to ensure that there's absolutely no soap left, especially if you've used too much to wash the brushes. I do very much enjoy it for options 1 and 2, but I don't think I'll go back to using it for makeup removal; I was experiencing a dermatitis, dry skin, eczema-like issue for a long time (before using this as well) and this definitely contributed to it lasting. Once I stopped it and the other culprit my eyes began feel and look so much better, no longer crepey (which I noticed to be an issue on a friend recently whom I know just uses soap to wash her face/remove makeup) and the flaking seems to be 99% gone. It's effective, just clearly not ideal for those wanting to keep a VERY simple routine - had I used moisturizer it might have negated the effects, but I prefer not to use any on my water-only skincare regimen.


Bang for your Buck:
I paid around $4CAD for this 444ml bottle. This is very well priced for the amount received because only a small amount of product is needed to get the job done. I'm sure you can even find knock-offs or cheaper locations to purchase this at.


Final Thoughts
While I don't love it for makeup removal, which was the original reason I bought it, I am happy with it for cleansing my makeup brushes. It really does work very well at removing eye makeup though. I will continue using it for washing my brushes.
* Overall Rating: 3.5/5
* Price: 1/5
* Packaging Quality: 3/5
* Repurchase: Yes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 2/4/2012 1:10:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Much better than Philosophy Purity to clean makeup brushes! I can actually see the white bristles again on my Sigma F84 foundation brush but still doesn't seem to completely remove all of it, so I give a final rinse w/ my MAC cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeMeUp14326 on 1/24/2012 11:55:00 PM more reviews by MakeMeUp14326

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know if I used it wrong or what, but I shampooed my hair with this tonight, and good heavens, my hair feels so weird. It feels like there is residue on my hair and somehow it makes my hair feel like weird doll hair. Not gonna use this again on my hair, but I'll use it on my makeup brushes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 earlyonemorning on 1/15/2012 6:57:00 AM more reviews by earlyonemorning

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo! I know some other reviews have said it turns their hair to straw but I've never experienced that. I have thick and coarse asian hair though and I think it could be harsher on those with fine hair.

I first do a quick shampoo with Dove shampoo to 'prime' my hair for this. Unless I do that I tend to leave the baby shampoo in for longer and that will strip my hair (but still not straw-like). Using only the Dove will result in an oily feeling scalp for me after a day of no shampooing. (I do shampoo everyday, despite what my stylist recommends, but as a student there are those days when you just don't have the time....) The baby shampoo is the only one I've found so far that is gentle enough to use everyday and doesn't dry out my scalp to trigger the dandruff I get otherwise, and is cleansing enough to let me skip a day of shampoo if needed. I follow-up with the Dove conditioner on the tips of my hair working up to my roots (long mid-back hair) In all this helps me keep my hair soft, shiny, dandruff-free, and keeps my waves non-frizzy. (Well, Aussie works too, but this is marginally cheaper and easier to find.)

I haven't tried it as a face wash, so I can't attest to that, but using it as a brush cleanser for me is only OK, I think it might be a bit harsh on synthetic hairs, I don't have any natural hair brushes to compare. I prefer swirling my brushes onto a bar of soap, or using softsoap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 razzledooda on 1/9/2012 8:46:00 PM more reviews by razzledooda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice product. Great as a gentle shampoo. Sometimes use it to wash makeup brushes. Can't really fault it. It's a little runny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lizlizo on 12/11/2011 more reviews by Lizlizo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My skin situation over the past 6 months has been unfolding drama.
I got on the organic / natural bandwagon and started using Dr. Hauschka products and experienced the worst breakout along my chin that I have ever had. Now don get me wrong Ive seen people who use the line and have amazing skin, but Dr. H. was not for me.
So after that I moved on to proactive to try and clear up the flare ups, it helped, but similar to my teens experience with proactive it stopped working.
I remember my mom saying to me "why dont you stop with all the products." I mean this had never dawned on me. so I did. The only thing I used to wash my face was j&j baby shampoo and my face was completely clear in 2 weeks. Every morning and evening use it to wash my face and my face has never looked better. Sometimes less is more with sensitive acne-prone skin and a little j&j to cleanse the face, obviously.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sinkin2heart on 9/15/2011 12:10:00 PM more reviews by sinkin2heart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a classic. Who wouldn't recognize the signature scent?

My main use for this is as a brush cleaner, and it works well for that purpose, as it cleans gently (no harsh surfactants in this product).

I would recommend this, since it's easily available (in the U.S., that is), and relatively inexpensive.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Johnson & Johnson products

More Shampoo products