Chanel • Bronze Universel De Chanel Sun Illuminator • Bronzers

rated 4.4(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bagpuss21 on 5/24/2011 6:55:00 AM more reviews by bagpuss21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this product so much, i have oily skin that shines after 2 hours and requires powder throughout the day...although i get dry cheeks and at the side of my eyes. I have pigmentation marks on my forehead and basically have uneven and not so great skin but i can actually skip my foundation (estee lauder double wear) with chanel bronze universal...just moisturize, apply the bronze universal using a large face brush and then add a little concealer under my eyes and on my red bits...then dust over with chanel loose powder and my skin looks amazing, nateral, sunkissed and radiant...but not masked with foundation...it just evens out my skin tone perfectly and doesn't make me oily at all, its great for oily skin, and hasn't broke me out either.....i am normally a mac nw20/EL fresco....i love, a foundation made exactly like this would be amazing..holy grail product for sure.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Isanore on 4/24/2011 5:01:00 AM more reviews by Isanore

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had this product collecting dust in the back of my makeup drawer for a while. But after reading the positive reviews on this site, I decided to give it another try. I applied this with the Chanel #8 kabuki brush. Although the color is barely noticeable on my skin (Chanel B30/40), it does lend the most flattering healthy glow. On me, this works more like a highlighter/luminizer with a very subtle color payoff, than a bronzer. But on fairer complexions I think it would be a beautiful bronzer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sabzter on 4/23/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by sabzter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this stuff. This is what an actual tan looks like---not that dirt brown that everyone wears that looks like poop. Eww. I tried like every bronzer in Sephora (b/c of the price) before I decided on Chanel. How stupid---I should have known after everything else broke me out that Chanel's high quality never falters.


I love everything about this bronzer---the color, the texture, the lack of shine/shimmer, the mattifying finish, the staying power, you name it! It is so beautiful. I apply this with my MAC 130 brush and it blends wonderfully. Definitely best bronzer on the market---I didn't believe that until I actually tried it.


My thoughts on the "orangey" color that everyone complains about: I think that if you're too light-skinned, stray far away from this b/c it will look very unnatural. However, if you have a wee bit brown in your skin, this bronzer just makes you look amazingly sunkissed. You can control how tan you want to look with this, which is what I really like about it.


I also want to comment on the amount----because it is so pigmented, I feel the $50 is actually worth it since it looks like it would take more than a year to go through all of it. I hope Chanel never discontinues this product otherwise I will go insane!

**EDIT** Broke me out. Since I've stopped wearing it, my skin's gotten wayyyy better. If you're acne-prone with sensitive skin, better to stay away from this. I took off one lippie because other than the breaking out, it's the most amazing bronzer I've ever owned. If your skin can tolerate this, I'd never let it go!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Scarlet1 on 4/1/2011 3:45:00 AM more reviews by Scarlet1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this with high expectations....as with anything I buy but because it's Chanel and it's expensive I expect...well.....everything. Now the texture is great, packageing great, concept great but.....on me it just isn't amazing. I think it is a great idea though. I do use it daily but for things like my ears, neck and chest. I use a kabuki brush with this so I can blend large areas quickly. I use the same brush to blend my Two Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer and cheek blush and it adds a creamy density to these products and I like that. I will miss it when it's gone but will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juillet4paris on 3/27/2011 6:54:00 AM more reviews by juillet4paris

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had stopped wearing any sort of foundation a few years ago as it just seemed too fake too heavy. Recently during a recent visit to Sephora I decided to check out the Chanel stand, I stumbled upon one of the better make up artist that I've seen recently and she suggested this product to me. It's light, it gives just the right amount of coverage and fits my skin color perfectly. I now use this AS my foundation coupled with the Chanel - Soleil Tan Fluide(Sheer Illuminating Fluid)"Sunkissed" the result is that glowing perfect skin that you see on magazines.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 3/18/2011 12:09:00 PM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and within a week had it on my swap list. I just could not make it look good. I'm all about cream products, but this did not work for me at all. I love the concept, the color in the container and the super creamy moussy texture. On me it looked muddy and orange. I did not take away any tokens for my bad application though. I think if I had given it more time and found a better brush I def could have loved this bronzer. Maybe I'll repurchase someday :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 3/18/2011 11:40:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic product. I was very hesitant to try this at first because I didn't think i would be able to use it properly and effectively. BUT on the contrary this is a so easy to use. Not to mention there's no orangey tint nor any streaks. The result is a more of a glow from within. I simply dab a little on my finger and blend and blend and blend. You only need a tiny bit of product otherwise it will look like you're dirty. I use it mianly on my temples and higher plains of my cheeks and tip of the nose to give me that sunkissed look. Its perfect! Very very very easy to use and quick to apply. The jar will last me forever so its well worth the $50 Cdn (before taxes). Love this bronzer! Did i mention that the bronzer looks soooo delicious in the jar (of course, not to be eaten).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Evanthia on 3/14/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Evanthia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this bronzer! I was very reluctant at first to buy this because of the price but the sales lady said it would last a long time so I went for it. I love it even though I like using my hoola bronzer I tend to get blotchy around my cheekbones when contouring after around six hours even when I use my primer. This product can be layered on as much as you want and is transfer & water resistant. Expensive but worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissDior5011 on 3/14/2011 1:05:00 AM more reviews by MissDior5011

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After years of using high end powder bronzers I decided to give this a try. I am so pleased that I did. It blows the other bronzers I have used right out of the water.
This bronzer is fantastic. I love it. Gives a nice natural but heathly glow to the skin. You can build the colour up and a little goes along way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninac on 3/3/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by ninac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this bronzer. It looks natural on my skin and has never broken me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Bronzers products