Lancome • Le Crayon Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(212 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 happywoman28 on 11/3/2010 5:10:00 PM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This very soft eye pencil goes on just like you want it to, soft and creamy, no tugging or scraping your eyelids. I have it in black as a gift with purchase. It looks awesome, however-----after half an hour it smears and is on my lower lids, and is just so soft that it is everywhere and the line is messy. So sad, because as I said it looks awesome and is nice to apply. But really, the trade off is a mess after a very short while.
I will stick to gel for now. Why can't they make something soft to apply, that dries to a smudgeproof finish?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saga17 on 9/15/2010 5:20:00 AM more reviews by Saga17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It's hard to review this product because as an eyeliner, I really hated it. But as a brow definer, I'm LOVING it! On my eyes this smudged badly, the color didn't stay put at all and the pay-off was bad. But on my eyebrows this stuff is wonderful! It stays really well, it doesn't smudge, it gives just the right amount of soft color and it is so incredibly easy to use. Packaging is nice too :) Plus this one pen lasts forever..(almost).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DG1221 on 9/2/2010 3:10:00 AM more reviews by DG1221

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nice color, does not smear, long lasting!!!
I like it !!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WebbyGale on 9/1/2010 12:42:00 PM more reviews by WebbyGale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this last week. I never tried Lancome's eyeliners but I'm so glad I did. Sooo easy to apply and goes on smoothly, no tugging or pulling. Love the color. Looks great. 24 dollars but worth it b/c pencil is super long, will last you forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sharlene88 on 8/15/2010 9:02:00 AM more reviews by Sharlene88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My friend gave me the sample sized eyeliner in Noir and I really like it. I've had this pencil for about 10 months, i use it a few times a week and it is virtually the same length as when it started! I like how its soft to apply and it is quite pigmented (although i think there are blacker eyeliners out there). It's easy to draw thick or thin lines with this pencil. The biggest con is that doesn't stay put for the whole day - by the end of the day i can't really see it and its leaked down to under my lower lashline (it kinda looks nice actually but thats just me lol). Overall, this eyeliner looks great when you first put it on, it may need a primer to stay put. It's a decent eyeliner but I would not buy it because I'd like something even blacker than this on my dark skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tashidelek on 8/9/2010 12:16:00 AM more reviews by tashidelek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The formula makes it so easy to apply. I got this in Black Lapis, which is a turquoise navy (if that makes any sense). The navy actually looks nice with green eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lyla123 on 8/6/2010 11:32:00 AM more reviews by lyla123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

okay to apply .but smudges after like 2hours of application on the water line....... will never buy again.......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodyroses on 7/28/2010 2:20:00 AM more reviews by bloodyroses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I figured it's much more useful to review 7 different pencil liners at the same time. For reference, I'm Asian, my eyes are not hooded and are very sensitive. I wear contacts and my seasonal allergies go berserk when spring comes, so they get really watery and itchy. I never wear liner alone--always with eyeshadow primer and eyeshadow. The bottoms of my lids are not oily. The objective was to test out how these liners wear on the waterline

LISE WATIER WATERPROOF EYELINER in NOIR INTENSE

This liner definitely STAYS put. Just watch out if you're crying--then it can get a little smudgey. It's very smooth--no skipping or anything. It's also really pigmented, so you only need to draw the line once. It wears really well on the upper waterline, the upper lashline and the lower lashline, but when you put it on the lower waterline, it doesn't stay on. It fades from the lower waterline and also feels sticky--I've figured out that this is part of this particular liner's stay-put quality. The wear on the other parts of the eye are all-day. Lower waterline wear is just a little uncomfortable and lasts only about half an hour (which is good--the sticky feeling won't bother you the whole day, then). 17CAD, found at London Drugs, Shoppers Drug Mart and Sears Canada.

LANCOME LE CRAYON KHOL in BLACK EBONY

Super sotty black. Like, THE blackest black. Super easy to apply because of the high pigmentation. But aside from that, it's no fun to wear. In about half an hour, I no longer have a prettily lined waterline--instead it has migrated three times the thickness of the original line and it DOESN'T come off. Well, not unless I go at it with a q-tip soaked in makeup remover, but really, who carries makeup remover in their purse? 27CAD at The Bay, Sears Canada, Sephora, Shoppers Drug Mart and London Drugs.

MAC EYE KOHL in SMOLDER

For an eye kohl pencil, the staying power is really not that bad. It's about 2 hours of perfection. As the day goes on, it fades away. It does smudge, as well, but minimal. An "eh" pencil. One could do better. But if your eyes aren't very watery or anything, it'd probably be great for you. 17.50CAD at MAC at The Bay, MAC, MAC Pro.

SHU UEMURA DRAWING PENCIL in M BLACK 01

Hard to put on the waterline. It's probably because it's a waterproof pencil trying to draw on a wet waterline. It's very smooth and very black, though. Staying power is NIL. Absolutely nil. It was so bad, I returned it in a flash. After about an hour, it fades away COMPLETELY from the waterline and migrates waaaaaaaaay down below the lower lashline. 25CAD at Holt Refrew.

MAKE UP FOR EVER AQUA EYES in 0L

After the makeup board was recommending me this liner, I decided to try it out. I'm disappointed. It literally is the same story as the Shu drawing pencil. Very black with panda eyes in an hour, flat. Sigh. 19CAD at The Bay, Sephora, Sears Canada and Shoppers Drug Mart.

URBAN DECAY 24/7 GLIDE ON EYE PENCIL in ZERO

Again, another liner that just pissed me off. Everyone I talked to promised that it'd be THE liner and I was particularly excited because when Sephora opened just last summer, I made it part of my first purchase there. And you know what? Exact same story as the Shu drawing pencil and the MUFE liner. Pooey. 21CAD at Sephora.

MAC POWERPOINT in ENGRAVED

This liner has the same consistency as the Lise Watier liner, but this one actually stays much longer on the waterline, without that weird stickiness. Very smooth. You might need to run the liner over twice over the same place to make it darker, though. The fading is very gradual and very neat--it doesn't smudge and leave a mess below the lashline. I believe it only started to fade after 4 hours. So far, this liner wins the contest. 17.50CAD at MAC at The Bay, MAC, MAC Pro.

Phew. That was long. Hope this helps someone!

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ValentinaRUS on 7/26/2010 3:58:00 AM more reviews by ValentinaRUS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's not as soft as you would expect an eye kohl to be. It even hurts when you apply it on your water line (even after I warm it up between my fingers), and it does not stay. Will not repurchase especially after I've found my HG kohl

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kriek on 6/26/2010 3:08:00 AM more reviews by kriek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on sale (like 7 Euro), and I fell in love with the color, ( I bought Teal) , I fell in love with how it gave me the look I wanted.. But the worst thing is it smudges sooo easliy, even with your finger you can remove it, or it crumbles accidentally.. Also the smudger isnt comfortable since it has a sharp cut edge. Dont regret though, still use it but I m more careful than before.. I wont buy it again even its on sale like before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Eyeliner products