Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3392 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/25/2014 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This product did not help my acne. The drying it did to my skin made me over produce oils in order to compensate, I noticed it took about 2 months to star tworking then after a small time frame it quit working and my acne came back with vengeance, I have better luck with drugstore products while using my Clarisonic. I am sorry Proactive but no amount of celebrity advertising is going to get me. Only my mother who at the time thought it would be better than a dermatologist(who also had no idea how to clear up my acne after 8 years of dealing with it)



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible horrible horrible! I bought this system about 2 years ago & thought it would clear me up but instead it made me worse than I already was!


on 6/23/2014 2:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my first review on MUA. I've been a long time reader of reviews and consider the site the best place to get reliable reviews before trying new products. So, I thought I'd start with a product I've had many years of off and on experience with. I am 44, skin is combo, dry cheeks, oily/dry t-zone (I'm not sure at this point if my t-zone is truly oily anymore.) I've always had mild to moderate acne and still have mild adult acne, enter Pro Activ. I first used this when I was in my 20's and right off the bat it works really well. However, as others have said you must use it exactly as directed twice a day, every day. Well, at this age twice a day is way too drying. I now only use this around my period which is when I am most prone to breakouts and only if I'm feeling really desperate for a quick fix. I wish this product always worked as it says, but it doesn't. It clears my skin, but the turnaround for return acne is quicker now than it used to be with this product. I don't even buy it anymore, my son does and in those desperate moments I steal a bit of his. I do feel that the sulphur mask is a good product on its' own for spot treating and I suppose the benzoyl peroxide as well. Although, both can also be very irritating. I am one with skin that does not respond at all to salacylic acid, but rather benzoyl peroxide. I'm also I believe allergic to tea tree oil as it really irritates my skin. I have tried many,many skin care products from neutrogena, mario badescu, clean & clear, st. ives, murad, acnefree, witch hazel, prescription meds, birth control pills, microdermabrasion, facials to pro activ and on and on and on. I can't say I've found anything that works well with even continued use. In that respect, I'd have to say that Pro Activ is probably the most consistent. If you're not one who responds well to benzoyl peroxide than I definetely wouldn't recommend it.


on 6/23/2014 1:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What they don't tell you is that once you stop using proactive you will break out even worse afterwards. You can't stop
Using it when your skin clears like most acne prescribes topical creams.


on 6/19/2014 2:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was excited to use this product as it had lots of great reviews and the ads we're very good at luring you in. No doubt this products works but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positive.
Here are a few of the problems that I encountered-
-Very high maintenance and very demanding always having to apply it and you had to follow some strict guidelines in order for the product to work.
-My skin broke out into a rash the first time I used it.
-It includes a bleaching agent (to reduce redness) and the product ended up bleaching not only my face but also all my towels.
-My skin became very sensitive to light and during the summer I had to put ice blocks on my face to help the burning sensation.

I was very impressed with the packaging and the information that comes with it about skin and acne in general. They give you a nice roll up bag and headband to use as well. This product does work in time but, please be careful and make sure to trial it or consult your doctor or dermatologist before buying the whole system.


on 6/10/2014 5:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i tried this when i was younger and thought i would never switch to anything else.
but heres the thing. if you have the sort of skin that they recommend you have to use this product, chances are this product isnt for you. if you have bumps that are red and irritated, the scrubbing agents in this make it worse. and then it dries out your skin, so its either bumpy skin or super red dry skin.

it took me a long time to figure this out. if you think you need this, try using something that doesnt hurt your skin instead. cream cleansers with no suds work the best.

but this, no. this hurts, costs a ton, and makes things worse for you.


on 6/9/2014 5:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow, surprised by the negative reviews here. I started using the original proactiv 3 step kit back in 2002 and it made my skin beautiful. I had struggled with moderate acne from age 18 and started using proactiv around age 31. My acne is hormone, stress, and too much touching my face related. Tried benzamycin, cleocin (prescriptions) and retin A, which I totally could NOT tolerate. Nothing worked as well for me as proactiv did. I generally skipped the toner step after a while bc I found the whole cotton swiping bit to be annoying. I stopped using it until 2007 because my face had cleared considerably. After my son was born I needed it again and re-ordered with good results.

Now I'm facing hormonal changes again in my 40s. I wanted to stop using proactiv bc of price and bc I hate that mail order nonsense. I tried many,many other products before coming back to proactiv, now using proactiv +. I am happy with the product as it does my very sensitive skin good. Hate the price and the mail order stuff but it works for me without any crazy reactions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

When I used it it worked very well for me however when I stopped using it my skin was worse than you could imagine, there wasn't a single cubic cm that didn't have at least 2-3 breakouts in it. My face resembles gravel and extremely painful :( your skin becomes dependent and you have to buy it forever

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2014 1:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The product dried my skin out and made it look wrinkled. I would never buy again


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Tried the products before and did not like them. The Acne.org Regimen works much better with more gentle products.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
179 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Unblemish
37 Reviews
Fix+
1272 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
142 Reviews
Back to Top